Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_fox_rox View Post
    Anyone that doesn't have a 9900K yet should think twice about flashing this new BIOS. It has new micro-code and an updated Intel ME that is messing things up for my 8700K. I've already RMA'd the motherboard. ASUS said nothing is wrong with it and sent it back the same way they got it.

    I can no longer run all four sticks of my Corsair LPX DDR4-4000. It's not stable (boots OK), has CRC errors when trying to install drivers or extract compressive archives, gives me a random error at post (A07) ME FW - Downgrade - Request MeSpiLock Failed, Windows randomly will not load with errors about Boot Manager corrupted or missing. If I run two sticks the problems go away and it works flawlessly. Fill all four slots and the problems return. After getting it back from them and finding nothing was fixed, I contacted Corsair and they replaced the memory under warranty. Same issue... 2 sticks is perfect, 4 produces problems.

    Using BIOS flashback downgrades the BIOS, but not the Intel ME. All previously stable BIOS versions are unstable in the same way, so I believe it is the ME firmware update causing an issue.

    Before flashing BIOS 1602 everything was fine. Ran the same RAM kit for almost 3 months with no problems. The memory is on the QVL list as well, which is why I purchased it specifically. Yesterday they said the board needed to be replaced, and now today they are recommending I buy another $500 memory kit that is slower or a different brand for testing. I guess I might have to think twice about buying another ASUS product if this kind of run-around can be expected after a BIOS update. Hopefully, they're not going to leave me holding the bag.

    Runs like a top with only two sticks. Doesn't matter which slots I use on each channel... rock solid. As soon as I fill all four DIMM slots, everything goes haywire. Nothing changed except flashing BIOS 1602.

    I didn't mention this earlier in the thread because I was optimistic they were going to take care of my situation. After the suggestion today that I experiment with $500 of my own money to see if buying slower RAM fixes the problem, I'm no longer optimistic they are going to resolve it.
    If its the ME you can fix it yourself by using UBU (at your own risk)
    https://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Too...-quot-UBU.html

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array raider89 PC Specs
    raider89 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi Z370
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR16GX4M2D3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorU3277PWQU AOC 32" 4k
    Storage #1500GB Samsung Evo 850 m.2
    Storage #21TB WD Sata HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Razer
    Mouse EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG
    Headset/Speakers Corsair Void Wireless
    OS Windows 10 64
    Network RouterVerizon Wireless Tether
    raider89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_fox_rox View Post
    Anyone that doesn't have a 9900K yet should think twice about flashing this new BIOS. It has new micro-code and an updated Intel ME that is messing things up for my 8700K. I've already RMA'd the motherboard. ASUS said nothing is wrong with it and sent it back the same way they got it.

    I can no longer run all four sticks of my Corsair LPX DDR4-4000. It's not stable (boots OK), has CRC errors when trying to install drivers or extract compressive archives, gives me a random error at post (A07) ME FW - Downgrade - Request MeSpiLock Failed, Windows randomly will not load with errors about Boot Manager corrupted or missing. If I run two sticks the problems go away and it works flawlessly. Fill all four slots and the problems return. After getting it back from them and finding nothing was fixed, I contacted Corsair and they replaced the memory under warranty. Same issue... 2 sticks is perfect, 4 produces problems.

    Using BIOS flashback downgrades the BIOS, but not the Intel ME. All previously stable BIOS versions are unstable in the same way, so I believe it is the ME firmware update causing an issue.

    Before flashing BIOS 1602 everything was fine. Ran the same RAM kit for almost 3 months with no problems. The memory is on the QVL list as well, which is why I purchased it specifically. Yesterday they said the board needed to be replaced, and now today they are recommending I buy another $500 memory kit that is slower or a different brand for testing. I guess I might have to think twice about buying another ASUS product if this kind of run-around can be expected after a BIOS update. Hopefully, they're not going to leave me holding the bag.

    Runs like a top with only two sticks. Doesn't matter which slots I use on each channel... rock solid. As soon as I fill all four DIMM slots, everything goes haywire. Nothing changed except flashing BIOS 1602.

    I didn't mention this earlier in the thread because I was optimistic they were going to take care of my situation. After the suggestion today that I experiment with $500 of my own money to see if buying slower RAM fixes the problem, I'm no longer optimistic they are going to resolve it.
    I think you just had a case of bad luck, no issue with new bios here and using all 4 sticks.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by raider89 View Post
    I think you just had a case of bad luck, no issue with new bios here and using all 4 sticks.
    Bad luck or not there has to be a cause.

    mr fox, do you have another PC or a friend with one that you could install your 4 RAM modules in to prove that they are all okay?

  4. #24
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    Change in memory rules possibly favoring the new CPU lineup. Revert using Flashback to a build that works better "out of the box" with your memory kit.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 08-10-2018 at 01:52 PM.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    What bios were you running prior to 1602 ?
    Also...did you encounter any issue during the flash to 1602 ?
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 08-10-2018 at 04:16 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    Thanks for all of the input guys. See responses below.

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Change in memory rules possibly favoring the new CPU lineup. Revert using Flashback to a build that works better "out of the box" with your memory kit.
    I've already tried using Flashback and it works fine EXCEPT that doing that does not downgrade the ME version. This is why I suspect the ME is the issue. I found 1101 was the best BIOS version for the highest CPU and RAM overclocks and very stable. It no longer is stable and my profiles saved for 1101 are not as stable with the newer Intel ME version.
    Quote Originally Posted by NarfTV View Post
    If its the ME you can fix it yourself by using UBU (at your own risk)
    https://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Too...-quot-UBU.html
    If they do not take care of this for me, I will look into that further. Already considered it, but trying to work with them on it before I take the bull by the horns.
    Quote Originally Posted by raider89 View Post
    I think you just had a case of bad luck, no issue with new bios here and using all 4 sticks.
    What speed? What brand/part #? Fours sticks of DDR4-4000?
    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Bad luck or not there has to be a cause.

    mr fox, do you have another PC or a friend with one that you could install your 4 RAM modules in to prove that they are all okay?
    I do not have any friends or relatives that I could swap RAM with for testing. Corsair replaced it under warranty after ASUS said nothing was wrong with my motherboard and sent it back to me. The replacement RAM has the same problem as the RAM I returned to them. It is on the ASUS QVL list (bought it specifically because it was) and worked perfectly before I applied 1602.
    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    What bios were you running prior to 1602 ?
    Also...did you encounter any issue during the flash to 1602 ?
    I was on 1101. There were no issues flashing 1602. I normally never update BIOS on a system that is working correctly. In this case the only reason was to ready the board for 9900K. Everything worked flawlessly with 1101. (I don't care about the Meltdown and Spectre security update stuff... not important to me.)

    It's not the end of the world. Yes, I am ticked that I have to run only 16GB of DDR4-4000 instead of 32GB. I bought 32GB (4*8GB) because that is what I wanted and it worked flawlessly until now. But, everything works normally with only two sticks. That sucks, but I can think of worse problems to have. It needs to be corrected though. I'm not keen on the idea of leaving it this way. It will be interesting to find out if and when I upgrade to 9900K if the problems go away. Hopefully, ASUS will resolve it before 9900K is released. My primary concern is not knowing if the problem is a hardware issue with the motherboard (which ASUS originally agreed with) or buggy firmware. Based on the sequence of events, it seems like a firmware induced issue.
    Last edited by Mr. Fox; 08-10-2018 at 08:55 PM.
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_fox_rox View Post
    Thanks for all of the input guys. See responses below.

    I've already tried using Flashback and it works fine EXCEPT that doing that does not downgrade the ME version. This is why I suspect the ME is the issue. I found 1101 was the best BIOS version for the highest CPU and RAM overclocks and very stable. It no longer is stable and my profiles saved for 1101 are not as stable with the newer Intel ME version.
    If they do not take care of this for me, I will look into that further. Already considered it, but trying to work with them on it before I take the bull by the horns.
    What speed? What brand/part #? Fours sticks of DDR4-4000?
    I do not have any friends or relatives that I could swap RAM with for testing. Corsair replaced it under warranty after ASUS said nothing was wrong with my motherboard and sent it back to me. The replacement RAM has the same problem as the RAM I returned to them. It is on the ASUS QVL list (bought it specifically because it was) and worked perfectly before I applied 1602.
    I was on 1101. There were no issues flashing 1602. I normally never update BIOS on a system that is working correctly. In this case the only reason was to ready the board for 9900K. Everything worked flawlessly with 1101. (I don't care about the Meltdown and Spectre security update stuff... not important to me.)

    It's not the end of the world. Yes, I am ticked that I have to run only 16GB of DDR4-4000 instead of 32GB. I bought 32GB (4*8GB) because that is what I wanted and it worked flawlessly until now. But, everything works normally with only two sticks. That sucks, but I can think of worse problems to have. It needs to be corrected though. I'm not keen on the idea of leaving it this way. It will be interesting to find out if and when I upgrade to 9900K if the problems go away. Hopefully, ASUS will resolve it before 9900K is released. My primary concern is not knowing if the problem is a hardware issue with the motherboard (which ASUS originally agreed with) or buggy firmware. Based on the sequence of events, it seems like a firmware induced issue.
    Bro....are there some issues with bios 1602?...yes..I would have to agree...to what extent dunno...do know that the new ME Firmware has probably created some issues since 1401 bios release and can't be rolled back...unless through a bios mod....some issues that I have seen...previous memory speeds not being able to perform like they did prior to update...example...4266mhz obtained...now..only 4133mhz obtained same chip/board and ram...ME Spi lock failed to downgrade errors..look at post..8086k Compatibility....bios 1401 was noted " support new 8th gen processor" when released..same time 8086k was released...that has since been edited I believe....Bios 1602 was released and only recently now shows support for 9th gen processor...was not in notes upon release...Asus released 3 bios updates in approx 3 weeks with 8086k launch...1503 bios has disappeared for whatever reason....fortunately with all that being said I'm able to run same quad memory and overclock through it all albeit with some adjustment with each bios update. Currently working to get ram back to 4266mhz overclock ...sooooo close..atm...at one time could get my ram running 4400mhz with the previous 8700k chip...no go with the 8086k though...that I will chalk up to the chip and not the bios update...only so far you can push ....lol
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 08-14-2018 at 12:56 AM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Bro....are there some issues with bios 1602?...yes..I would have to agree...to what extent dunno...do know that the new ME Firmware has probably created some issues since 1401 bios release and can't be rolled back...unless through a bios mod....some issues that I have seen...previous memory speeds not being able to perform like they did prior to update...example...4266mhz obtained...now..only 4133mhz obtained same chip/board and ram...ME Spi lock failed to downgrade errors..look at post..8086k Compatibility....bios 1401 was noted " support new 8th gen processor" when released..same time 8086k was released...that has since been edited I believe....Bios 1602 was released and only recently now shows support for 9th gen processor...was not in notes upon release...Asus released 3 bios updates in approx 3 weeks with 8086k launch...1503 bios has disappeared for whatever reason....fortunately with all that being said I'm able to run same quad memory and overclock through it all albeit with some adjustment with each bios update. Currently working to get ram back to 4266mhz overclock ...sooooo close..atm...at one time could get my ram running 4400mhz with the previous 8700k chip...no go with the 8086k though...that I will chalk up to the chip and not the bios update...only so far you can push ....lol
    Are you having that error as well?

    "(A07) ME FW - Downgrade - Request MeSpiLock Failed" is what I get with all four RAM slots populated with Intel ME FW version 11.8.50.3470. It happens at the end of POST as the BIOS is doing the hand-off to Windows. I never had that with Intel ME FW version 11.8.50.3425 (the previous ME version). More than half the time when that error appears, Windows will fail to boot with STOP errors like 0xc0000225 or errors about Windows Boot Manager being corrupted. Sometimes powering off manually using the PSU switch and waiting a few seconds it will boot normally with no errors. Other times that does not work. When it doesn't work, removing two sticks will immediately restore normal operation.

    It never happens with only two memory modules.
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_fox_rox View Post
    Are you having that error as well?

    "(A07) ME FW - Downgrade - Request MeSpiLock Failed" is what I get with all four RAM slots populated with Intel ME FW version 11.8.50.3470. It happens at the end of POST as the BIOS is doing the hand-off to Windows. I never had that with Intel ME FW version 11.8.50.3425 (the previous ME version). More than half the time when that error appears, Windows will fail to boot with STOP errors like 0xc0000225 or errors about Windows Boot Manager being corrupted. Sometimes powering off manually using the PSU switch and waiting a few seconds it will boot normally with no errors. Other times that does not work. When it doesn't work, removing two sticks will immediately restore normal operation.

    It never happens with only two memory modules.
    Yes...periodically get that error....never happened before in previous bios....all started with bios 1401 with new ME firmware....still get it with bios 1602....may have to get a bios mod with previous firmware....last time I had to flash firmware was on X79 board...so...it's been awhile...no problem with running 4 x8 gb sticks through....currently testing a 4266 mhz overclock for stability..atm
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Prolly a typo. That list I posted is official.
    Nice. Mr.T linked your compatibility list in OCN's z370 thread. Folks are pretty excited with the upgrade-ability.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •