Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 35 of 35
  1. #31
    ROG Member Array JohnJohn222 PC Specs
    JohnJohn222 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG GL553VE
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS X HERO WIFI AC
    ProcessorINTEL 8700K @ 5.1GHZ
    Memory (part number)( 8GBx2 ) DDR4/3200 G.SKILL Trident Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1ZOTAC GTX 1080 FE
    MonitorASUS PG348Q
    CPU CoolerRaystorm PRO RGB/360RAD/Custom Loop
    CaseThermaltake Core P5
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 850
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Galdius II
    OS Window 10 PRO 64

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I was having some issues with 1602 Bios also. Was getting random freezing shortly after the update. I didnt change anything other than the bios flash. I didnt see any codes or anything else. Just freezing while playing a game sometimes, or a video. Sometimes audio would still come through. Every once in a while just the mouse would freeze as well. I went through usual TS steps. Power settings, re seat memory, I only have two sticks so I dont know about any issues if I populated all four. No idea what the problem was but I think I might be cured now. I re-installed some drivers, and increased my v core. Havent had any issues since then. Its been about two days. Standing by for it to hit again. Ive seen a few people having issues with the 1602 Bios. Anyone reading this that hasnt updated yet I would recommend waiting a little bit to do so.

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    What bios version did you upgrade from?..Bios 1602 may be buggy for some versions of boards and may work well with others causing no issues at all...Personally myself I have had to make minor adjustments through each bios update from bios 802 onward...one of those was upping the VCore as well... 0.005 to maintain a stable overclock.....that may be to the small degrading of chip...or the bios itself since that bios is in preparation for 9th gen cpu....dunno yet until I downgrade back to bios 1503 that I still have on usb with saved settings.
    If you have not made any hardware change since the flash....suggest you clear cmos and reapply your same settings....prior to upping your Vcore...if issue still persists...then try upping the Vcore just a small amount....The new ME firmware with that bios 1602 may have had an affect on with how the SPD is being read as well...again...not 100% sure...so...you may need to make small adjustments to the SA /IO voltages.
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 08-18-2018 at 06:19 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    What bios version did you upgrade from?..Bios 1602 may be buggy for some versions of boards and may work well with others causing no issues at all...Personally myself I have had to make minor adjustments through each bios update from bios 802 onward...one of those was upping the VCore as well... 0.005 to maintain a stable overclock.....that may be to the small degrading of chip...or the bios itself since that bios is in preparation for 9th gen cpu....dunno yet until I downgrade back to bios 1503 that I still have on usb with saved settings.
    If you have not made any hardware change since the flash....suggest you clear cmos and reapply your same settings....prior to upping your Vcore...if issue still persists...then try upping the Vcore just a small amount....The new ME firmware with that bios 1602 may have had an affect on with how the SPD is being read as well...again...not 100% sure...so...you may need to make small adjustments to the SA /IO voltages.
    That's really good advice. I had to make minor changes to overclock settings for the CPU as well with each BIOS update. I skipped the BIOS before 1602.

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnJohn222 View Post
    I was having some issues with 1602 Bios also. Was getting random freezing shortly after the update. I didnt change anything other than the bios flash. I didnt see any codes or anything else. Just freezing while playing a game sometimes, or a video. Sometimes audio would still come through. Every once in a while just the mouse would freeze as well. I went through usual TS steps. Power settings, re seat memory, I only have two sticks so I dont know about any issues if I populated all four. No idea what the problem was but I think I might be cured now. I re-installed some drivers, and increased my v core. Havent had any issues since then. Its been about two days. Standing by for it to hit again. Ive seen a few people having issues with the 1602 Bios. Anyone reading this that hasnt updated yet I would recommend waiting a little bit to do so.
    I am one of them. It affected my ability to use all four sticks of my RAM. It runs 100% stable as long as only two are installed, and replacing the RAM under warranty didn't change anything. I am still working with ASUS to get it resolved. I think your suggestion to anyone that hasn't flashed it yet to avoid doing so is good advice.

    Are you running it stock with BIOS defaults? If so, you should not be experiencing those issues. BIOS defaults generally gives the CPU far more voltage than it needs and it should be totally stable running stock with BIOS defaults.

    If you are using custom overclock settings, the previous value might no longer be proper for the new firmware, so I would follow the advice above from Brother @Phillyflyer and bump your voltage a bit and see if it straightens out. The random freeze issues sounds like what one would typically encounter with voltage being too low. It could be quite a few other things not related to the BIOS, but if the only thing that changed is flashing 1602, it's not likely to be a problem unrelated to the BIOS version change.
    Last edited by Mr. Fox; 08-18-2018 at 07:06 PM.
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1302]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB CL17 3600MHz 32GB [4x8]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AGON AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser CX 100 inner ear headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    201

    Try updating your ME firmware there is an update ME Fw to what 1602 provides

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Fox View Post
    Yes, I agree with you. Sorry, I did not realize you were not replying to my post.

    It is possible there is ME corruption. There could also be something about the ME that requires a change for the new 9-series processors that is not understood. Fortunately, my system still works excellent with only two RAM slots filled. It's just a bummer I cannot use all four sticks of my RAM until this gets sorted.
    If you think it might be an ME problem there is a newer version of the ME firmware that you can try to flash your mobo. If you are unfamiliar with flashing the ME it is fairly straightforward and fool proof using the right tools. The latest version of ME firmware is 11.8.55.3510 where as BIOS v 1602 updates the ME to v11.8.50.3470.

    For all the information you need, including the tool [FWUpdLcl64.exe] and firmware file go to win-raid;
    https://www.win-raid.com/t596f39-Int...tem-Tools.html

    The first post to the above thread provides information and the firmware flashing / FW Info etc. tools [use "Intel CSME System Tools v11 r14" ] including the FW file [use "Intel CSME 11.8 Consumer PCH-H Firmware v11.8.55.3510"] for Z370.

    I have updated my ME to v11.8.55.3510 and my Max x Hero works fine, although I do not run 4 sticks of DRAM, so I can not help you there. Good luck.
    Last edited by XYchromosone; 08-28-2018 at 08:39 AM.

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    If you think it might be an ME problem there is a newer version of the ME firmware that you can try to flash your mobo. If you are unfamiliar with flashing the ME it is fairly straightforward and fool proof using the right tools. The latest version of ME firmware is 11.8.55.3510 where as BIOS v 1602 updates the ME to v11.8.50.3470.

    For all the information you need, including the tool [FWUpdLcl64.exe] and firmware file go to win-raid;
    https://www.win-raid.com/t596f39-Int...tem-Tools.html

    The first post to the above thread provides information and the firmware flashing / FW Info etc. tools [use "Intel CSME System Tools v11 r14" ] including the FW file [use "Intel CSME 11.8 Consumer PCH-H Firmware v11.8.55.3510"] for Z370.

    I have updated my ME to v11.8.55.3510 and my Max x Hero works fine, although I do not run 4 sticks of DRAM, so I can not help you there. Good luck.
    XYchromosone......I've been actually debating flashing the ME Firmware myself for a couple of weeks now from same link as you posted....last time I did was on the X79 chipset with a dual bios chip...virtually fool proof...any issues...could copy bios to bios....have tested all bios versions....only 2 that seem stable are 1003 and 1503...currently back to 1003 but with new ME Firmware version V11.8.50.3470..may try and flash V11.8.55.3510 on bios 1003.
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 08-28-2018 at 04:45 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •