Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array seb0r36 PC Specs
    seb0r36 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K (delidded)
    Memory (part number)16 GB (2x8) G.Skill 3200 MHz CL16 (GVKB)
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 1070 Ti ROG Strix Advanced
    MonitorAcer XB270HU
    Storage #1Crucial MX100 (512GB)
    Storage #2WD Blue (1TB)
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev. B
    CaseFractal Design Arc Midi R2
    Power SupplyBequiet Straight Power E10 (modular) 500W
    Keyboard Corsair STRAFE (cherry mx red)
    Mouse Sharkoon Drakonia Black
    Headset Bose QC35
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Teufel Concept E Digital
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Sorry for triple-posting...

    It seems like I have finally found the issue. It was most likely indeed the ram, but only in tandem. I could run the sticks separately virtually forever, but once I had them in dual channel, they would sometimes make errors in test 6 or 7 - even at 2133 default.*

    I figured they had to be the issue and not the cpu/cpu seating/mb because I got a known good kit from a friend today, which ran the whole day (in dual channel, at 2667, which it actually defaulted to [isn‘t it supposed to be 2133??]) without problems.

    I really hope this fixes the problems and there is no aftermath to this. *

    Cheers*

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Can u please lemme know if switching ram solves your issue ? Cause I am having a VERY similar problem with my system...and I am at loss as of the actual cause, but when I run memtest with no xmp I have noe issues, but when I run it with xmp on I get a bunch of errors in test #6, 41 after just 2 passes.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    533

    Quote Originally Posted by Qutip View Post
    Can u please lemme know if switching ram solves your issue ? Cause I am having a VERY similar problem with my system...and I am at loss as of the actual cause, but when I run memtest with no xmp I have noe issues, but when I run it with xmp on I get a bunch of errors in test #6, 41 after just 2 passes.
    Please post the memory brand..model# and how many sticks.
    Also post current bios being used.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    First things first....Enable the XMP....set VCCIO @ 1.15v..set VCCSA @ 1.20v....for 5.0ghz..set Vcore @ 1.285v....for 5.1ghz..set Vcore @ 1.36v or 1.365v... set LLC @ 6....you can set the AVX to 0 if you wish...run Prime 95 version 26.6 as it has no AVX...and...HCI Memtest...try that..lemme know the outcome
    Hey Philly, sorry to jump in this thread - but on reading this thread I noticed that my Max Hero X has set my VCCIO to around 1.35V and VCCSA to 1.28V. This is using Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3600 (18-19-19-39). The DIMMS get quite warm, into the low 50s when gaming. Do you think it's worth manually adjusting their voltages down to VCCIO: 1.10V and VCCSA: 1.20V as suggested above? Thanks as always!

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    533

    Quote Originally Posted by mrvortep View Post
    Hey Philly, sorry to jump in this thread - but on reading this thread I noticed that my Max Hero X has set my VCCIO to around 1.35V and VCCSA to 1.28V. This is using Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3600 (18-19-19-39). The DIMMS get quite warm, into the low 50s when gaming. Do you think it's worth manually adjusting their voltages down to VCCIO: 1.10V and VCCSA: 1.20V as suggested above? Thanks as always!
    XMP enabled will set SA /IO voltages in the 1.30-1.35v range by default....no need for it to be that high....that being said...all depends on how good the chips memory controller is as well... you can start with IO @ 1.10v and SA @ 1.15v...see if that works...manually adjusting these voltages will take a little time...patience and effort to get the right configuration for stability....too much or too little will create instability....keep within .05v of each.
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 08-22-2018 at 08:02 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    XMP enabled will set SA /IO voltages in the 1.30-1.35v range by default....no need for it to be that high....that being said...all depends on how good the chips memory controller is as well... you can start with IO @ 1.10v and SA @ 1.15v...see if that works...manually adjusting these voltages will take a little time...patience and effort to get the right configuration for stability....too much or too little will create instability....keep within .05v of each.
    Cheers Philly. I've set the memory to IO@1.15v and SA@1.20v and just left it there for now. Seems stable running P95 and a little cooler on the DIMM (I didn't try any lower). I'm just running at 5ghz so not pushing the system really, CPU never hits 70C - I'm happy with the combination of speed/sound as a result. Thanks again!

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array seb0r36 PC Specs
    seb0r36 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K (delidded)
    Memory (part number)16 GB (2x8) G.Skill 3200 MHz CL16 (GVKB)
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 1070 Ti ROG Strix Advanced
    MonitorAcer XB270HU
    Storage #1Crucial MX100 (512GB)
    Storage #2WD Blue (1TB)
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev. B
    CaseFractal Design Arc Midi R2
    Power SupplyBequiet Straight Power E10 (modular) 500W
    Keyboard Corsair STRAFE (cherry mx red)
    Mouse Sharkoon Drakonia Black
    Headset Bose QC35
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Teufel Concept E Digital
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Qutip View Post
    Can u please lemme know if switching ram solves your issue ? Cause I am having a VERY similar problem with my system...and I am at loss as of the actual cause, but when I run memtest with no xmp I have noe issues, but when I run it with xmp on I get a bunch of errors in test #6, 41 after just 2 passes.
    Yes it seems like it did the trick - I did have errors at stock (2133) as well though.

    Full 6 runs of MemTest86 @XMP (3200 16 18 18 38) as well as 12 selective runs of tests 6 and 7 and not a single error. Also, no bluescreens anymore. Mind you I did not have the time to overclock the cpu for now.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •