Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Error during boot: "Intel ME FW Downgrade failed"

    Also, my MaxVIII will not Shutdown or Restart, it has at POST 04(or 05). I have to hold POWER button for 4 seconds to actually shutdown.

    When I finally get into BIOS Setup, Intel ME FW version indicated is 0.0.0.0!

    It looks like Asus has backed out their latest BIOS 3802 and now recommends 3801. I want to go to 3801 to see f this clears up my boot, shutdown issues.

    I have 3 Raid 0 Stripes setup in the Intel ICHR Raid controller and want to verify my BIOS settings, mainly PCH Styorage set to Intel RST RAID, during a FW upgrade(downgrade).

    Is this reliable, are current BIOS Settings carried over after a BIOS change?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    257

    ASUS hasn't backed out of version 3802. 3802 is alive and working fine for the Maximus VIII Hero. There is no official 3801 for the Maximus VIII Hero (the board you list in your other post). 3801 is for the Maximus VIIII Hero Alpha.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	82.4 KB 
ID:	75281

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    You're right, I was looking at Hero Alpha, my mistake.

    The 3802 is not working fine for me and at least one other person I saw a post from with same symptoms documented above.

    I am going to reflash 3802, see if it loads the correct ME this time


    Still have question, will settings, specifically PCH Storage, be preserved when BIOS is reflashed or do I have to set them all up again?

    thanks,

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    257

    I believe your problem is rooted in a bad UEFI flash or corruption of your current UEFI or ME firmware. Your best bet to fix it is using the USB Flashback method where you rename the bios file M8H.cap then load it to a USB. Instructions are in your manual. Unfortunately, I don't see any reports of the ME firmware corruption being fixable by just re-flashing.

    Here is a post describing options: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...201#post634314
    Last edited by ondersma80; 08-20-2018 at 12:05 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •