Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    B-Die DRAM OC issues

    I've never payed much attention to DRAM OC (XMP or simple clock raise aat 1-2 steps), but now I was itching to hike the system to the max.
    But I've bumped into concrete wall.

    So, the specs are 8700K, x hero, gskill trident 2x16GB B-die dual rank 14-14-14-34 1.35V 3000 mhz ram.

    I've started from available on the market maximum - that is 4000 CL19 2x16 ram. I've checked primary timings, raised vSA/vIO to 1.30V (thus, 1.35 aftre boot), RAM was at 1.45V, that is more than factory 4000 mhz requires. Boot failed.
    Then I've took moderate approach, decreased target frequency to 3600MHz, 17-19-39, vSA/vIO left the same, vRAM - 1.4V. I wasn't able to boot.
    I've checked all things couple more times, raised vRAM to 1.45, kicked CL20 timings, raised vSA/vIO to 1.38V - nothing helped.

    In both situations, boot stucked at RAM initialization with Qcode 6A.

    Tried to push RAM at 3200 MHz withing factory settings - system does boot, but for veeeeery long time + it is not stable at all - numerous errors, application crashes, etc.

    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Factory 4000 kits are binned and priced accordingly....you don't just buy a 3000 rated kit and stick in the 4000 timings and away you go...we all wish that...

    The single greatest limit (assuming the MB is rated to support high frequencies) is the CPU memory controler...as well as the chips on the RAM...

    You are pretty high in the SA/IO volts I reckon too...not sure about that platform but 1.3 is probably a healthier limit

    If your kit is rated 14-14-14-34...I'd try timings that stay with that pattern...try 3600 16-16-16-36 for example...up to 1.5v VDIMM

    Basically there are no guarantees with this stuff
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 08-24-2018 at 06:29 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Factory 4000 kits are binned and priced accordingly....you don't just buy a 3000 rated kit and stick in the 4000 timings and away you go...we all wish that...

    The single greatest limit (assuming the MB is rated to support high frequencies) is the CPU memory controler...as well as the chips on the RAM...

    You are pretty high in the SA/IO volts I reckon too...not sure about that platform but 1.3 is probably a healthier limit

    If your kit is rated 14-14-14-34...I'd try timings that stay with that pattern...try 3600 16-16-16-36 for example...up to 1.5v VDIMM

    Basically there are no guarantees with this stuff
    About “pattern” you’ve mentioned - I’m trying to push ram to 4000 mhz, CL17/18/19, but nothing workes out. I’tried playing with vRAM,vSA/vIO, secondary timings as well. Tips about what can I try else?*

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array F0x135 PC Specs
    F0x135 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-F
    Processor8700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti
    MonitorAgon AG352UCG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVME 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster ML240R aRGB
    CaseFractal Meshify C
    Power SupplyInWin C900 Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    ....you don't just buy a 3000 rated kit and stick in the 4000 timings and away you go...we all wish that...
    A bit off topic, but funny thing is, i 'downgraded' my T-Force Nighthawk 16GB 3200mhz to a TridentZ RGB 32GB 2400... but i've oc'd it to the XMP specs of the T-Force, and tweaked it so its actually better timings. Tested the hell out of stability, it's rock solid too.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Actually, 3000MHz ram with CL14 timings are also binned. Thus, there's no guaraantee that you can hit ~5000mhz with'em, but you have way better chance with that.
    And, with B-die chips, you can easily hit whatever clock you want within range 3000-4000 MHz, with right timings and voltage respectively.

    Plus, these seems like to be CPU's flaw - as far as I understand Qcode.

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    OK, great...good luck with the OCing

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    The problem solved itself...... Goddamn XMP profiles....

    I've restarted the thing with manual mode. typed in timings manually - and it worked flawlessly. Even at factory rated voltage - 1.35V, CL16 3600 MHz. Dunno if it is stable - still, I have hot boot real quick, so I really hope these chips can do well.

    However, any other combination doesn't work, and I dunno why.
    4000 CL18
    4000 CL19
    4000 CL20
    3600 CL16 but 1T
    3200 CL14

    All of these won't work. And I dunno where else to dig. :/
    Last edited by dmt.taran; 08-25-2018 at 09:22 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Not sure what you're trying to achieve by pushing your memory that high.

    Essentially the sweet spot is 3200 CL14. Call it a day if you can do 3400 CL14. Higher than that will require looser timings and basically slower speeds.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Not sure what you're trying to achieve by pushing your memory that high.

    Essentially the sweet spot is 3200 CL14. Call it a day if you can do 3400 CL14. Higher than that will require looser timings and basically slower speeds.
    Actually that's my goal. But! I couldn't run my kit stable at those settings - earlier I've tried just pushing ram from xmp 3000 to 3200mhz. System booted up, but I had numerous crashes and errors.

    Now, with all-manual stuff, I can't make it run 3200 CL14, though kit is factory binned to 3000 CL14 - so it should easy ramp up additional 200 mhz without significant vRAM increase or CAS loose. Maybe I need exact example of secondary timings for 3200 mhz

    P.S. BTW, isn't 3600CL16 ~= 3200CL14? Considering the table here - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAS_latency
    +/- same latency, cycle time is on 3600 mhz ram side.
    And both configurations are far away from 3000MHz CL14 - so, ATM, after I achieved some stability within 3600 16-16-16-36-2N, dunno if I really need that 3200CL14.
    As for 4000 CL18 - you know, it's all about numbers
    Last edited by dmt.taran; 08-26-2018 at 03:18 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2102
    Processori7-8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.34v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 0.975v Curve - Driver 431.36
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerThermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec G510s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    244

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by dmt.taran View Post
    I've never payed much attention to DRAM OC (XMP or simple clock raise aat 1-2 steps), but now I was itching to hike the system to the max.
    But I've bumped into concrete wall.

    So, the specs are 8700K, x hero, gskill trident 2x16GB B-die dual rank 14-14-14-34 1.35V 3000 mhz ram.

    I've started from available on the market maximum - that is 4000 CL19 2x16 ram. I've checked primary timings, raised vSA/vIO to 1.30V (thus, 1.35 aftre boot), RAM was at 1.45V, that is more than factory 4000 mhz requires. Boot failed.
    Then I've took moderate approach, decreased target frequency to 3600MHz, 17-19-39, vSA/vIO left the same, vRAM - 1.4V. I wasn't able to boot.
    I've checked all things couple more times, raised vRAM to 1.45, kicked CL20 timings, raised vSA/vIO to 1.38V - nothing helped.

    In both situations, boot stucked at RAM initialization with Qcode 6A.

    Tried to push RAM at 3200 MHz withing factory settings - system does boot, but for veeeeery long time + it is not stable at all - numerous errors, application crashes, etc.

    What am I doing wrong?

    hello here is my specs

    8700k @ 5.1 ghz @ 1.296 v -manual
    Asus x hero z-370 wifi - bios 1602-latest
    16gb ( 2 x 8 gb ) g.skill (Trident-z RGB ) 3000 mhz cl-14-14-14-34 1.35v

    i have my ram over clocked to 4000 cl-17-17-17-37 1.4v vccio @ 1.2v / vcssa @1.2v

    100 % stable in asus real bench , prime 95 , mem test 86 , gaming

    i can run 4133 18-19-19-39 , 4133 cl-19-19-19-39 , 4200 cl-19-19-19-39 it starts to **** on me around 4200

    pretty good for a g,skill rgb 3000 cl-14 samsung bdie kit im running 16gb though . yes there samsung bdies typhoon reader says so .

    if u need some help i can help yas ! i wouldnt go past 1.2 ish" vccio / vcssa though over time .

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •