Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    I easily OC'ed my 2x16GB 3200 CL14 set to 3400 CL14 simply by just increasing the DRAM voltage to 1.375v.
    You have a good board and memory chip, so basically the CPU IMC would be your major limitation.
    Do manual settings, do not use XMP and don't mess with the secondary timings.

    Did you try Maximus Tweak mode 1 or even mode 2?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    I easily OC'ed my 2x16GB 3200 CL14 set to 3400 CL14 simply by just increasing the DRAM voltage to 1.375v.
    You have a good board and memory chip, so basically the CPU IMC would be your major limitation.
    Do manual settings, do not use XMP and don't mess with the secondary timings.

    Did you try Maximus Tweak mode 1 or even mode 2?
    Yup, thought mine could do aswell.
    For now, all previous bootable set-ups, unfortunately, were unstable, so I didn't achieved any stable result, exept one I'm testing right now.
    maximus tweak is on 1

    So, I'll mark it up: 3200MHz, CL14, Command rate 2T, 1.4V, vSA+IO 1.20V

    Though, I was unable to force the thing boot with 1T command rate, only in stock 3000MHz. In any other OC case, it just stucks at RAM initialization with bF (6F) code.


    P.S. What's the better option for ram oc test? For such purpose I've always used AIDA, but I can see people utilizing this "testmem" thing....though I don't really like it, looks glitchy. But if it is more effective, why not.
    Last edited by dmt.taran; 08-26-2018 at 06:07 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    366

    According to G.SKILL the maximum rated memory speed with a 16GBx2 kit for the Z370 Maximus X Hero is 3733MHz CAS 17. http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3733c17d-32gtzr. I'm sure this is at the 2T command rate as well.

    These G.SKILL memory kits are tested at XMP for each particular board, not just a general test with a particular chipset like everyone else does. The QVL at G.SKILL appears to be the most accurate one compared to anyone else.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    According to G.SKILL the maximum rated memory speed with a 16GBx2 kit for the Z370 Maximus X Hero is 3733MHz CAS 17. http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3733c17d-32gtzr. I'm sure this is at the 2T command rate as well.

    These G.SKILL memory kits are tested at XMP for each particular board, not just a general test with a particular chipset like everyone else does. The QVL at G.SKILL appears to be the most accurate one compared to anyone else.
    They also have these ones http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-4000c19d-32gtzsw
    I suppose, they use identical chips for all those low latency, high speed kits

    I was able to boot with 1T command rate only at 3000MHz. No luck with any other option

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    hello here is my specs

    8700k @ 5.1 ghz @ 1.296 v -manual
    Asus x hero z-370 wifi - bios 1602-latest
    16gb ( 2 x 8 gb ) g.skill (Trident-z RGB ) 3000 mhz cl-14-14-14-34 1.35v

    i have my ram over clocked to 4000 cl-17-17-17-37 1.4v vccio @ 1.2v / vcssa @1.2v

    100 % stable in asus real bench , prime 95 , mem test 86 , gaming

    i can run 4133 18-19-19-39 , 4133 cl-19-19-19-39 , 4200 cl-19-19-19-39 it starts to **** on me around 4200

    pretty good for a g,skill rgb 3000 cl-14 samsung bdie kit im running 16gb though . yes there samsung bdies typhoon reader says so .

    if u need some help i can help yas ! i wouldnt go past 1.2 ish" vccio / vcssa though over time .
    For that P95 stability - is that an AVX build or non-AVX (26.6) - and if the former, what is your AVX offset, if any?

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array F0x135 PC Specs
    F0x135 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-F
    Processor8700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti
    MonitorAgon AG352UCG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVME 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster ML240R aRGB
    CaseFractal Meshify C
    Power SupplyInWin C900 Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    ....you don't just buy a 3000 rated kit and stick in the 4000 timings and away you go...we all wish that...
    A bit off topic, but funny thing is, i 'downgraded' my T-Force Nighthawk 16GB 3200mhz to a TridentZ RGB 32GB 2400... but i've oc'd it to the XMP specs of the T-Force, and tweaked it so its actually better timings. Tested the hell out of stability, it's rock solid too.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by dmt.taran View Post
    Yup, thought mine could do aswell.
    For now, all previous bootable set-ups, unfortunately, were unstable, so I didn't achieved any stable result, exept one I'm testing right now.
    maximus tweak is on 1

    So, I'll mark it up: 3200MHz, CL14, Command rate 2T, 1.4V, vSA+IO 1.20V

    Though, I was unable to force the thing boot with 1T command rate, only in stock 3000MHz. In any other OC case, it just stucks at RAM initialization with bF (6F) code.


    P.S. What's the better option for ram oc test? For such purpose I've always used AIDA, but I can see people utilizing this "testmem" thing....though I don't really like it, looks glitchy. But if it is more effective, why not.
    Your SA voltage is high. I've tested numerous memory configurations. Best for me has been VCCIO (1.15v) and SA (1.20v).

    Keep the CR at 2T for better overall stability. You only get a marginal hike in performance with 1T anyways.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    I'm giving up!
    I was unable to stabilize my ram. Whatever I did, sooner or later, eventually, it failed AIDA stresstest. And I've only tested system memory - no CPU,FPU or cache stresstest.

    First I tried it with both RAM and CPU overclocked.
    Then I returned the CPU to stock settings, reset everything, leaving only RAM.
    Tried 1.35v, 1.4v, 1.45v, 1.5v respectively, each time I've raised to 1.10v, 1.15V, 1.20v SA/IO
    Then I've set SA and IO to default 0.95 and 1.05v, and tried all over again with vRAM.

    Whatever voltages for SA, IO and vCore I use (aswell as CPU clock), I have it like this:
    1.35v - unstable
    1.4v - unstable
    1.45v - unstable
    1.5v - awfully unstable, crashed in 3 minutes.

    Plus, I've managed to boot with 3466MHz at CL14 with 1.45V vRAM, but still not stable in AIDA.

    Nothing worked out. At all. AIDA always gives out an hardware error.
    Last edited by dmt.taran; 08-26-2018 at 10:54 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    BTW, I've never mentioned exactly what ram do I have.
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3000c14d-32gtzr

    And that fact, that I can't achieve literally anything at all, frutrates me even more.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    I personally have never used AIDA64. Have you tried RealBench?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •