Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    ROG Armoury II - v2.06.05 [Report any issues here]

    Armoury II 2.06.05 is now available through Live Update.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Live Update 2.06.05.JPG 
Views:	108 
Size:	23.5 KB 
ID:	75365

    Release Notes:
    1. Added support for TUF Gaming K5 keyboard.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array GeorgeKps PC Specs
    GeorgeKps PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G. Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix RX580 Top OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorAcer XF270HUA
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2WD, 2TB Green, 1TB Green, 2TB Gold, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseThermaltake Core X71
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Asus Claymore + Keypad
    Mouse Roccat Nyth
    Headset Sennheiser hd 598
    Mouse Pad Razer Sphex V2 Regular
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Probably the most annoying issue is the fact that Asus doesn't pay attention to simple user requests. I'll explain.

    It would be GREAT if you were able to manually set the color values you want just like you can in the Aura software. Or, you could change color effects on unlinked hardware in Aura instead of having "link hardware" as the only option when clicking on it.

    An example. Having the m/board and GPU synced on a set color + effect (like breathing) with unlinked keyboard set to a specific color + static is probably impossible. Armory software doesn't let you specify the RGB values you want so you have to juggle around the "seriously problematic" color circle + triangle color selection panel. So Asus, please, either give us the Aura function to Armory so we're able to manually set the RGB color values or enable unlinked hardware in Aura so we can set RGB values from there.

    Also, Claymore keyboard (yes, this ridiculously expensive keyboard) cannot work with the S5 shortcuts unless you've installed the KeyBot software. Which breaks Armoury....! There are functions on the keyboard which you Asus have advertised as selling points which don't function with the other selling points like RGB effects.

    As for the ability to actually read the Macros from the keys and show them when updating the Armoury software instead of showing the default values DESPITE the fact that the macros are operating, i won't refer to since it seems like a really far-fetched ability.

    It reminds me of the reason i put my D2X sound card to its box because Asus doesn't make drivers for new Windows 10 versions.

    (i'm not going to again kindly request you considered putting a fire effect on the Armoury or Aura like Razer's because i'm 100% certain it'll never happen...)


    Thank you for your time and excuse the wall of text.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array F0x135 PC Specs
    F0x135 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-F
    Processor8700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti
    MonitorAgon AG352UCG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVME 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster ML240R aRGB
    CaseFractal Meshify C
    Power SupplyInWin C900 Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Thanks @MasterC@Asus.

    I held out for this update, as of last week on v2.06.04, my claymore (+TK) started defaulting itself to breathing (red) in profile 1. I usually leave it on either custom or wave.

    I held out for this update in hopes the 2.06.05 will fix it, but this is the 3rd reboot now and it still defaults back to breathing red.

    I just did a clean install of windows 10 3 weeks ago after installing a 970 Evo NVME, so its essentially a clean build.

    Any thoughts? I'm keen to try a clean install of armoury, is there a cleaner for this like Aura has?

  4. #4
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeKps View Post
    Probably the most annoying issue is the fact that Asus doesn't pay attention to simple user requests. I'll explain.

    It would be GREAT if you were able to manually set the color values you want just like you can in the Aura software. Or, you could change color effects on unlinked hardware in Aura instead of having "link hardware" as the only option when clicking on it.

    An example. Having the m/board and GPU synced on a set color + effect (like breathing) with unlinked keyboard set to a specific color + static is probably impossible. Armory software doesn't let you specify the RGB values you want so you have to juggle around the "seriously problematic" color circle + triangle color selection panel. So Asus, please, either give us the Aura function to Armory so we're able to manually set the RGB color values or enable unlinked hardware in Aura so we can set RGB values from there.

    Also, Claymore keyboard (yes, this ridiculously expensive keyboard) cannot work with the S5 shortcuts unless you've installed the KeyBot software. Which breaks Armoury....! There are functions on the keyboard which you Asus have advertised as selling points which don't function with the other selling points like RGB effects.

    As for the ability to actually read the Macros from the keys and show them when updating the Armoury software instead of showing the default values DESPITE the fact that the macros are operating, i won't refer to since it seems like a really far-fetched ability.

    It reminds me of the reason i put my D2X sound card to its box because Asus doesn't make drivers for new Windows 10 versions.

    (i'm not going to again kindly request you considered putting a fire effect on the Armoury or Aura like Razer's because i'm 100% certain it'll never happen...)


    Thank you for your time and excuse the wall of text.
    The software team always has a full schedule months in advance, which accounts for the time required to fix bugs. Any new requests are reviewed. I can give the team recommendations but at the end of the day, they are the ones who need to execute with the tight schedule they have. Quite often, making small and seemingly simple changes is more complex than people think.

    Changing the color values isn't a high priority unfortunately, inserting the same RGB values for two components doesn't mean they will display exactly the same color. The LEDs themselves may not display exactly the same color. The color wheel is a better way for you to match the brightness and saturation.

    Connecting the Claymore to the KeyBot port is great when you are tuning your system, after that, just use another port. KeyBot is ideal for enhancing functionality on a basic keyboard, but you have a Claymore with media controls and customizable keys. It doesn't really benefit you to use KeyBot for general use.
    Last edited by MasterC@ASUS; 08-24-2018 at 08:30 AM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by F0x135 View Post
    Thanks @MasterC@Asus.

    I held out for this update, as of last week on v2.06.04, my claymore (+TK) started defaulting itself to breathing (red) in profile 1. I usually leave it on either custom or wave.

    I held out for this update in hopes the 2.06.05 will fix it, but this is the 3rd reboot now and it still defaults back to breathing red.

    I just did a clean install of windows 10 3 weeks ago after installing a 970 Evo NVME, so its essentially a clean build.

    Any thoughts? I'm keen to try a clean install of armoury, is there a cleaner for this like Aura has?
    Have you tried resetting the Claymore (Hold Fn+Esc for ~20 seconds)?
    I tried on this version and the last but couldn't replicate.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array GeorgeKps PC Specs
    GeorgeKps PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G. Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix RX580 Top OC
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorAcer XF270HUA
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2WD, 2TB Green, 1TB Green, 2TB Gold, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240
    CaseThermaltake Core X71
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Asus Claymore + Keypad
    Mouse Roccat Nyth
    Headset Sennheiser hd 598
    Mouse Pad Razer Sphex V2 Regular
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    The software team always has a full schedule months in advance, which accounts for the time required to fix bugs. Any new requests are reviewed. I can give the team recommendations but at the end of the day, they are the ones who need to execute with the tight schedule they have. Quite often, making small and seemingly simple changes is more complex than people think.

    Changing the color values isn't a high priority unfortunately, inserting the same RGB values for two components doesn't mean they will display exactly the same color. The LEDs themselves may not display exactly the same color. The color wheel is a better way for you to match the brightness and saturation.

    Connecting the Claymore to the KeyBot port is great when you are tuning your system, after that, just use another port. KeyBot is ideal for enhancing functionality on a basic keyboard, but you have a Claymore with media controls and customizable keys. It doesn't really benefit you to use KeyBot for general use.
    WOW, that's a response i would expect to see from Creative, not Asus...

    The color adjustment, personalization and customization is your company's selling point (for the said product) and despite what you're saying about "inserting the same RGB values for two components doesn't mean that they will display exactly the same color", the keyboard's LEDs seem to disagree (as well as my m/board's and GPU's LEDs and the LED strips i have installed). Furthermore, you seem to contradict yourself with how "the circle and the triangle being a better way to match brightness and saturation" when you already said that 2 components may not display the exact same color. Well, maybe you haven't tried to use it to see what a pain it is to fiddle with even when having to set the mouse DPI to the lowest setting so you can have better accuracy. Also, the software team has already achieved this option to a different software so it doesn't seem that difficult to apply the same logic to this one. One could actually expect it to work the same way being made from the same company.

    The Claymore has a really (i mean REALLY) handy function (among others), that is to switch the computer on from it. Again a selling point which you're telling me i should have guessed that it's for a limited time?

    Thank you very much for your reply. You haven't been really helpful but you've made me think twice on what products i'll purchase on my next hardware upgrade.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array F0x135 PC Specs
    F0x135 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-F
    Processor8700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix 1080Ti
    MonitorAgon AG352UCG
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NVME 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster ML240R aRGB
    CaseFractal Meshify C
    Power SupplyInWin C900 Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Have you tried resetting the Claymore (Hold Fn+Esc for ~20 seconds)?
    I tried on this version and the last but couldn't replicate.
    Thanks MasterC. Resetting the claymore wiped the profile so i had to recreate it, but it is now saving it as it should.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeKps View Post
    WOW, that's a response i would expect to see from Creative, not Asus...

    The color adjustment, personalization and customization is your company's selling point (for the said product) and despite what you're saying about "inserting the same RGB values for two components doesn't mean that they will display exactly the same color", the keyboard's LEDs seem to disagree (as well as my m/board's and GPU's LEDs and the LED strips i have installed). Furthermore, you seem to contradict yourself with how "the circle and the triangle being a better way to match brightness and saturation" when you already said that 2 components may not display the exact same color. Well, maybe you haven't tried to use it to see what a pain it is to fiddle with even when having to set the mouse DPI to the lowest setting so you can have better accuracy. Also, the software team has already achieved this option to a different software so it doesn't seem that difficult to apply the same logic to this one. One could actually expect it to work the same way being made from the same company.

    The Claymore has a really (i mean REALLY) handy function (among others), that is to switch the computer on from it. Again a selling point which you're telling me i should have guessed that it's for a limited time?

    Thank you very much for your reply. You haven't been really helpful but you've made me think twice on what products i'll purchase on my next hardware upgrade.
    I understand it can be disappointing, but implementing all or most requests simply isn't possible. Thanks for providing feedback and suggestions. While new ideas may not be implemented immediately, they might be sometime in the future.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,088

    Noticed with this driver and the previous version that my lighting settings are not kept from time to time after reboot. I had a static setting, then noticed a different one after rebooting the computer. It's like a color cycle. ??

    I have to go into the software and save the static setting again.

  10. #10
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Noticed with this driver and the previous version that my lighting settings are not kept from time to time after reboot. I had a static setting, then noticed a different one after rebooting the computer. It's like a color cycle. ??

    I have to go into the software and save the static setting again.
    On which product(s)?
    Next time, can you confirm if it's the lighting effect or profile that got changed?
    Are your peripherals synced?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •