Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    strix raid pro problem

    I hope someone can point me in the right direction. I had a strix raid pro installed and it worked fine until the other night after the windows update. Then serious bsod and I had to reinstall windows and now I cant get the card to work again. It starts the driver install and stops about 30 percent though then says it doesn't need the power plug no matter what I do. Yes I have tried it unplugged and same result. It also isn't showing up either. Is the card bad?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Nobody has any ideas on what else I can check?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by morpwr View Post
    Nobody has any ideas on what else I can check?
    Well after checking everything I can think of im assuming the sound card is bad. After talking with someone about this i remembered this is the second time this has happened with this card after a windows update. The first time wasn't as bad but after the update the card and a couple other things wouldn't work because the driver was gone and I had to reinstall everything for it. This shouldn't happen but it appears sound cards aren't high on asus list of priorities so unfortunately this will be the last asus sound card I buy because of the issues ive had with it and lack of replies from anyone here.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Have you tried different PCIe slots?
    Is your system overclocked?
    You need the power to be connected when installing the software (not disconnected). Sorry for the misleading error message.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Strix - Connect power.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	21.2 KB 
ID:	75449
    Please make sure to connect 12V 6-pin power to the sound card and try again.

    I tried installing and uninstalling several times on the latest Windows build, I'm yet to find a probable cause other than disconnected power.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Have you tried different PCIe slots?
    Is your system overclocked?
    You need the power to be connected when installing the software (not disconnected). Sorry for the misleading error message.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Strix - Connect power.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	21.2 KB 
ID:	75449
    Please make sure to connect 12V 6-pin power to the sound card and try again.

    I tried installing and uninstalling several times on the latest Windows build, I'm yet to find a probable cause other than disconnected power.

    Did that with two different cables and spots on the power supply still did the same thing. Replaced it with sound blaster z that works perfect in the same slot. This is the second time this has happened with a windows update with that sound card.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by morpwr View Post
    Did that with two different cables and spots on the power supply still did the same thing. Replaced it with sound blaster z that works perfect in the same slot. This is the second time this has happened with a windows update with that sound card.
    I knew the card needed the power cable this has been installed for about 2 years prior to all these issues.

  7. #7
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Is the reason why you didn't try different PCIe slots because you have SLI or Crossfire?
    Tried a fresh installation of Windows?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Is the reason why you didn't try different PCIe slots because you have SLI or Crossfire?
    Tried a fresh installation of Windows?
    My first post said I reinstalled windows and id have to remove everything else in my pc to get to a slot.(1080ti takes up a lot of space) I did try something else in the slot and it was recognized fine so its not the slot.

  9. #9
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    If it was working for 2 years previously then maybe something is wrong with the card. Try RMA to see what's going on, the card should be covered for 3 years in the US so do it soon.
    Do you see the card under Device manager?
    Is your system overclocked? Can't see why the software can't complete the install.
    If you're stuck at that error message, either power isn't going to the card or the card is faulty.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array morpwr PC Specs
    morpwr PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus x hero
    Processori8700k
    Memory (part number)corsair dominator 32gb
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx1080ti
    Monitor27 inch/vr
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro ssd
    Storage #2samsung 950 ssd
    CPU Coolerthermaltake flo360
    Casecooler master x71
    Power Supplyevga 850w
    Keyboard corsair k65
    Mouse corsair m65
    OS windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    If it was working for 2 years previously then maybe something is wrong with the card. Try RMA to see what's going on, the card should be covered for 3 years in the US so do it soon.
    Do you see the card under Device manager?
    Is your system overclocked? Can't see why the software can't complete the install.
    If you're stuck at that error message, either power isn't going to the card or the card is faulty.
    Yes but not under the sound cars its in the usb devices.Yes my system is overclocked and has been like that since day one with no issues. Its definitely not a power issue remember I tried 2 cables and two different ports on the power supply. The weird part is the only time this has happened is immediately after a windows update. This happened 2 times. This time was obviously much worse. Looks like a bad card then. Thanks for the help.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •