Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Jaybonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    X470-I AVX Offset?

    Please forgive my ignorance. I haven't owned anything AMD since the original Athlon.

    Is there an AVX/AVX2 offset in the bios for this motherboard? I want to transcode DVDs using Handbrake on a 2600X and this thing gets really hot doing that specific task.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    AVX Offset is an Intel thing.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Jaybonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    That's actually unfortunate.

    The heat from transcoding video is too intense for the cooler that it comes with. Did they expect people wouldn't use it for more than browsing or gaming?

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Intel owns the patent, so unless AMD comes up with a way around it, don’t expect it.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    AVX seems to be consistently slower than SSE4 on AMD parts anyhow, outside of very few special-niche code extremes which synthetically maximize AVX advantages. AVX has been very broken and buggy and patchy since at least the Haswell-E era, as it stands it's not really all that it should be or anything at all like what Intel says it should be.

    I think mostly because AVX (especially AVX-512) requires a lot of fine tuning and optimizations to obtain full performance benefits. Fine tuning performance optimizations which, incidentally, Intel claims will be implemented by the non-Intel hardware OEMs and software devs.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    I'd imagine the need is far less great on AMD parts due to the fact vectors are split, not only does this likely have some kind of impact on performance but power draw too.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Jaybonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Could I get some advice from you wonderful people on what my settings should be then?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •