Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array EaglePC PC Specs
    EaglePC PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M4C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 860 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H115i PRO

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    133

    same here dimm2 only reads 1 of them asus sent me a replacement dimm2 card no luck
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7940X / Corsair H115i Pro / CORSAIR Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3000MHz / EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 ELITE GAMING BLACK Edition / 2x Samsung 970 Pro NMVe 1GB / 4x Samsung 850 PRO - 2TB / Asus ROG Swift PG348Q / Corsair AX 1500i / Thermaltake View 71 RGB PC Case /Win 10 PRO x64

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA Z490 Dark K|NGP|N
    Processori9-10900KF @ 5.6GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB Patriot Viper DDR4-4000 @ 4600
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 K|NGP|N
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 970 EVO x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerMO_RA 360 Radiator +1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSC 2019 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    127

    I have both DIMM.2 cards filled on my Rampage VI Apex and all four NVMe drives are detected and usable. I boot Windows 7 from one 960 Pro, Windows 10 from a second 960 Pro. Those are installed in the DIMM.2 slot on the PCH side. (The PCH side is the side of motherboard PCB with the SATA ports.) I have two Samsung 1TB enterprise NVMe drives in the DIMM.2 slot on the CPU side. (The CPU side is DIMM.2 slot closest to the rear I/O panel.)

    The way I got all of them working right is going to the CPU Storage menu in the BIOS and setting all of the options to DISABLED with the SATA option set to AHCI. If you are attempting to use RAID or CPU RAID (Intel RST) options, all bets are off.

    If the NVMe drive that is not detected has never been properly initialized or if it used to be part of a RAID membership, check the Secure Erase option in the BIOS. If you can see both NVMe drives on that menu, run a Secure Erase on it, then reboot. It may be detected after doing that.

    If it does not show up in the BIOS on the Secure Erase menu, go into Windows. Open the Disk Management console. If you do not see it there, open a command prompt with Admin rights. Run Diskpart, list disk. If you see it in the list there, select it by disk number and clean it.
    Last edited by Mr. Fox; 10-22-2018 at 03:14 AM.
    WRAITH // EVGA Z490 Dark K|NGP|N | Core i9-10900KF @ 5.6GHz | Optimus Signature Water Block on Bare Die | EVGA RTX 3090 K|NGP|N | 16GB Patriot Viper 4 Blackout DDR4 @ 4600 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 P2 | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Chiller | MO-RA3 360 Pro Radiator | Dual XSPC Photon 270 | Windows 7 Ultimate > Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 2019 > Windows 10 Enterprise 2004 Cancer Edition > Linux Mint

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    Hello (R6E Board),

    i installed 2x Samsung 970 PRO 1TB on the DIMM.2 bracket - but how can i install the bracket in the Dimm.2 Slot?

    there is a silver plate with letters "Dimm.2" how can i remove this !?

    Thanks for helping!

    Edit: are there any bios options i have to set (a 960 Pro is already installed).

    Edit2: ah ok i did not have to remove the plate ^^
    Last edited by Mappi75; 11-05-2018 at 04:55 PM.

  4. #24
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Do not try to remove the DIMM.2 "clip" from the slot. It is supposed to be there.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    198

    @Raja thanks!

    Another question:

    Which drive is the first drive and the second drive on the DIMM.2 ?
    Is there any speed difference? Want to know on which drive i have to install Win 10.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •