cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing from EK Monoblock (Rampage VIE) to Heatkiller VRM block & CPU Block

Abaidor
Level 9
Well it's been some months since I fired-up my new build and was wondering what to do to improve temps and CPU overclocking.

I am using an i9-7940X with an EK Monoblock with 6X Cores @ 4.7Ghz, 2X Cores @ 4.6GHz and the rest @ 4.2Ghz and that is WITHOUT a delid. Voltages for 4.7Ghz are 1.21v.

I have been using the PC like this for 4 months without a single hitch but under a lot of stress CPU Temps RISE up to 85C. If I overclock more it is a no go.

So I was wondering whether I should for a delid and a dedicated CPU block with a Watercool.de VRM block. Yet, I've read "horror" stories about the EK Monoblock not making good contact after delidding.

With that said all this comes at a cost.

Wasted EK Monoblock -
New VRM Block
New CPU Block (that I might keep for future builds)

Is it worth it or should I save the money towards the following:

A) Sel the i9-7940X and upgrade to the newer CPUs that MIGHT be soldered once out
B) Save even more and only upgrade to a new CPU/MB/DDR5 package in the future.

In short how much performance should I expect from overclocking the 79040X even further and is it worth the cost of dumping the EK Monoblock + VRM Block + New CPU Block?
Asus Rampage VI Extreme | i9-7940X | 64GB Trident Z RGB 3600 | Asus Strix 1080Ti OC | Samsung 960 Pro 512GB | WD Gold 10TB | WD Red 4TB X 2 | PSU Corsair AX1500i | Custom Water Loop - RAD MO-RA3 420 Pro | EK Monoblock | Phanteks GPU Block | Heatkiller 200 Tube RES | EK Dual D5 Revo Pumps | 9 X Corsair ML 140 Pro Fans on RAD | | Bitspower Fittings Black Chrome | Cooler Master Cosmos 2 Modded Case | Silent WIngs 3 120mm Intake |
4 REPLIES 4

Silent_Scone
Super Moderator