Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    4

    Alternative SDK for Aura

    I have found a way to create an SDK that can do just as much as the Aura software. The trick is to communicate directly with the COM object (AsRogAuraServiceLib), which is in charge of controlling the hardware. This allows you to pragmatically set effects or make your own configuration tool. I will be posting a link to a github repository with the code, once I have a working demo.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    4

    First Demo

    This is a demo with a Visual Studio project, For it to run you need Aura installed. It takes as a command line argument, a path to a profile XML file, like the one provided. Tell me what you think, and please post any bugs.
    Github Link: https://github.com/boredom101/Asus-Aura-Alternative

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    What device you tested on? I've tried on notebook's keyboard and it doesn't work.
    In ServiceMediator works only get_QueryAllDeviceCap method and returns info about my keyboard? but GetProfile and SetProfile do nothing.
    I've found a way to controll leds using AuraDevelopement class, but it sets incorrect colors if trying to set per key color and not using one of default effects.

    Code:
    var aura = new AuraDevelopement();
    aura.AURARequireToken();
    var kb = aura.GetAllDevices()[0];
    kb.SetMode(0); // per key color mode
    uint color = 255 << 16; //green
    for (uint i = 0; i < kb.LightCount; i++)
    {
        kb.SetLightColor(i, color);
    }
    kb.Apply();

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by STRIKER_Perm View Post
    What device you tested on? I've tried on notebook's keyboard and it doesn't work.
    In ServiceMediator works only get_QueryAllDeviceCap method and returns info about my keyboard? but GetProfile and SetProfile do nothing.
    I've found a way to controll leds using AuraDevelopement class, but it sets incorrect colors if trying to set per key color and not using one of default effects.

    Code:
    var aura = new AuraDevelopement();
    aura.AURARequireToken();
    var kb = aura.GetAllDevices()[0];
    kb.SetMode(0); // per key color mode
    uint color = 255 << 16; //green
    for (uint i = 0; i < kb.LightCount; i++)
    {
        kb.SetLightColor(i, color);
    }
    kb.Apply();
    They have inversed the blue and red in the uint... use that snippet :
    Code:
    public static class Generic
    {
        public static uint ToUint(this System.Drawing.Color c)
        {
            return (uint)(((c.A << 24) | (c.B << 16) | (c.G << 8) | c.R) & 0xffffffffL);
        }
    }
    
    Use it like this :
    uint color =System.Drawing.Color.Green.ToUint();

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    color bug in per key mode

    Quote Originally Posted by GallantJR2 View Post
    They have inversed the blue and red in the uint... use that snippet :
    Code:
    public static class Generic
    {
        public static uint ToUint(this System.Drawing.Color c)
        {
            return (uint)(((c.A << 24) | (c.B << 16) | (c.G << 8) | c.R) & 0xffffffffL);
        }
    }
    
    Use it like this :
    uint color =System.Drawing.Color.Green.ToUint();
    It works, but only when I use kb.SetMode(1); which makes keyboard have only one color for all keys.
    When I use kb.SetMode(0); to set color for each key separately it works differently. System.Drawing.Color.Green.ToUint(); becomes red and to set green color I should use System.Drawing.Color.Blue.ToUint();, it is not the big problem, I just need another method with another color order, but it is not the biggest problem. The biggest problem, that green is not so green . It have slightly different tone and some keys have some red lighting.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_2018-09-25_08-43-54.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	84.7 KB 
ID:	75975
    It happens only when I set color using my program in official AURA software there is no such problems. Also as you can see the bug appears only for some of the keys.
    Last edited by STRIKER_Perm; 09-25-2018 at 06:48 AM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Nice

    Nice. I got this alternative api to work with bot my mobo and gpu.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Whoa this is big! Do you think it will be possible to implement DRAM and Addressable RGB? Thanks for doing this, I need this!

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by STRIKER_Perm View Post
    It works, but only when I use kb.SetMode(1); which makes keyboard have only one color for all keys.
    When I use kb.SetMode(0); to set color for each key separately it works differently. System.Drawing.Color.Green.ToUint(); becomes red and to set green color I should use System.Drawing.Color.Blue.ToUint();, it is not the big problem, I just need another method with another color order, but it is not the biggest problem. The biggest problem, that green is not so green . It have slightly different tone and some keys have some red lighting.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_2018-09-25_08-43-54.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	84.7 KB 
ID:	75975
    It happens only when I set color using my program in official AURA software there is no such problems. Also as you can see the bug appears only for some of the keys.
    I will look into these two issues:
    • Inaccurate Coloring
    • Requires kb.SetMode(1)

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by CX gamer View Post
    Whoa this is big! Do you think it will be possible to implement DRAM and Addressable RGB? Thanks for doing this, I need this!
    No problem, I'm busy right now, but I'll try to add new features and fix bugs as I can. If anyone is able to help I would be very happy.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array asder98 PC Specs
    asder98 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7900X@4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 4266@4000CL16
    Graphics Card #11080Ti Galax HOF OC Lab Edition
    Storage #1960 Pro 512GB
    CaseBe Quite! Base 900 pro WHITE (#1060)
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Prime Titanium
    OS Windows 10 Edu

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    @CX gamer DRAM works with the existing code...

    ~~@boredom101 do you have a full list on the xml options??~~
    edit: nm I found it
    Last edited by asder98; 01-17-2019 at 03:13 AM.
    I am an electrical engineer to save time let's assume I am always right!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •