Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array mojoeskimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Angry Low gpu usage and low frames in game! Help!

    Okay computer gurus here we go!
    I have a new rig(specs below) and it has been doing fine for a month, but now all of a sudden I am getting very low frame rates in games(19-30 fps) on any settings....that before were running smooth 120+ fps on high to ultra settings. My GPU utilization hovers around 30-40%. My CPU seems to do fine and has no sign of throttling.
    OS: Win10
    CPU: i7 8700K
    GPU: Asus ROG STRIX 1080ti 11GB
    Mobo: Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E
    RAM: 1x DDR4 16GB
    SSD: Samsung 500gb
    PSU: Corsair CX750M
    Moniter: 32in Acer Predator 1440p @ 165hz

    I have no overclocking settings active and I have all updated drivers and updated bios. I have assured that my power settings are all set to performance. I use gsync (vsync off) and use 'gaming mode' in GPU Tweak II. Its been kinda frustrating and I have been trying to diagnose/fix the problem all day. Like i said, the rig ran fine not long ago on these same settings and was using the GPU fully. Let me know if you guys want some benchmarks and/or screenshots of values. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array mojoeskimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Some screenshots and FYI I have no idea what to look for when it comes to most of these values and what optimal is.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_3363_1536479700.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	238.5 KB 
ID:	75646
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	61.6 KB 
ID:	75647

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hello mojoeskimo

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Yep, there's something definitely wrong with a score that low. First thing I notice is the memory is running at the proper speed of 11,000MHz but the core clock looks to be boosting to only 1278MHz. Superposition is showing 100% gpu utilization.

    Temps aren't a problem at 52c - 56c.

    1 ram stick is probably hindering performance some but I'm not sure it would that much.

    Post us a screenshot of GPU-Z, maybe this will tell us something.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GPU - Z.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	46.3 KB 
ID:	75650

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array mojoeskimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gpuz.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	144.1 KB 
ID:	75655Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gpuz2.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	124.1 KB 
ID:	75656
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	taskmngr.JPG 
Views:	26 
Size:	52.6 KB 
ID:	75657
    All of these were captured under load or while i was in game (Day of Infamy) which should be a breeze for my system, was getting 160-190 fps previously.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array mojoeskimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Unhappy

    just makes me cringe... here is what user benchmark is saying...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bench.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	53.3 KB 
ID:	75662
    I wouldn't suspect my gpu be a bad card beings it worked flawlessly already? I put my gtx960 in this rig and it runs fine. I just don't get it.
    THINGS I HAVE TRIED:
    -enable and disable all OC
    -settings on performance (bios,windows,and nvidia control panel)
    -DDU and reinstall drivers
    -Made sure bios and all mobo related drivers were up to date
    -tried installing previous nvidia drivers
    -completely unplugged gpu and reinstalled fresh
    -fresh install of windows/factory reset
    -tried different refresh rates (60hz,100hz,144z)
    -turned of any resolution scaling
    -made sure applications were selected as priority
    -checked all physical power connections(leds all showing good)
    -ran gpu bare bones with geforce experience and GPU tweak uninstalled)
    No Luck, I have been testing and lately my gpu percentage will randomly shoot up to around 80% for maybe a second or two while tabbed out of a game and then fall back down to like 20%. Why would it fluctuate so bad? and is it normal for my CPU to be utilized at like 7% while in game? seems like it should be higher IMO.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    I see the bus interface is PCIe x16 3.0 @ x16 1.1

    Does it ramp up to 3.0 under load ?

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    Hover over the green on the PerfCap Reason graph, otherwise, it's not telling us anything.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array mojoeskimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I see the bus interface is PCIe x16 3.0 @ x16 1.1

    Does it ramp up to 3.0 under load ?
    *

    I am at work at the moment so I can not re-test untill this evening, but that screenshot was captured while in game, so my suspicion is that it does not ramp to 3.0.*
    *

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    OK, double check the bus interface is ramping up to 3.0. If it's not, try setting the pcie x16 slot to Gen 3.

    Here's my Superpostion score with 4k optimized, I would expect you to be somewhere in the 10,000 point range.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Superposition 399.24.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	677.0 KB 
ID:	75693

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array mojoeskimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Hover over the green on the PerfCap Reason graph, otherwise, it's not telling us anything.
    nothing comes up when I hover my mouse on the green, although the "pwr" reading is what it reads the whole time described by GPUZ as "limited by total power limit"

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •