Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Strix Z370-F + 8700k - OS crashes and no POST due - Yellow DRAM LED

    Hello to All,

    I was wondering if you could advice something more than I have already done (except RMA of course, which is the last resort).

    What is the problem:
    - despite of the overclocking level and voltage feed (I tried already almost everything from manual to adaptive in range of 1,23 to 1,3V and quite low turbo multiplier ratio like x45) i am still having games or windows crashes (total freeze or the blue-screen) after which I cannot normally boot up

    - the boot failure has kind of a two types symptoms: it either powers on all the hardware but monitor screen stays black, no beep and the yellow DRAM led stays on, or it is repeatedly powering on a shutting off with the yellow LED on for a second or so.



    Like I mentioned before I lowered my turbo settings and increased voltage with x45 ratio to exclude OC as a cause. I also tried different auto and manuaI VCCIO andd VSSA voltages. I am using only default ram settings (no xmp, with xmp on it was way worse). I tried to loose the cooller pressure a bit (Noctua NH-15) - no luck. I swapped RAM sticks - no luck. Now I am testing with only one stick (RAM is Corsair 2x8 GB, 3000 CL15, model no.: CMK16GX4M2B3000C15, ver. 5.39).
    Unfortunately have no possibility to borrow another pair to make some tests.

    All above is happening even if for a whole day I culd play and use the PC with not even a single crash on settings like x48 ratio, Vcore ca. 1,24V. Then the very next day I am trying to boot up and again the same issue - no POST and yellow LED on. So I am lowering the ratio and increasing the Vcore - again, for some time I can play and use the PC and then ...again the same story.
    Every single ratio/vcore setting was tested with Realbench for at least 30-60 minutes to be no error or freeze giving .
    I also run Memtest (6 instances) for few hours - no errors. I am stuck...
    Last edited by regular_user; 09-09-2018 at 11:20 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Hello regular_user

    I might reset the bios to defaults (F5 key) and see how it goes from there.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hi,
    already done it, no change...

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Instability at default settings is not good.

    Please list your complete system specs.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I know. Thats why I am really dissapointed. First time happened to me after 5 rigs in my life based on Asus motherboards. And the worst part is that I even do not have a clear reason to RMA (no memtest errors, no solid system behaviour).
    My spec:
    Asus Strix Z370F Gaming
    i7 8700k
    2 x 8GB RAM as mentioned in first post
    1 x 512 Samsung Evo SSD
    2 x 1TB 3.5 hard drives
    GeForce 1070
    1 x Dvd drive
    530 Watts Enermax power supply

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Thank you, you have good parts but without any spare ones to test with, sometimes diagnosing the problem can be a guessing game.

    It should work at default settings and minimal components, with random bsod's it could be your psu.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I really doubt on PSU failure. Measured all the lines with a multimeter during load and no signs of irregularities. And this is a well built, relaible design with good filtering.

    But, after some more testing I am confused now - seems the PC won't boot at all with one of the RAM sticks. The other one works on every single slot, even with XMP. Put the first one (as single or in pair) and no boot - yellow LED.
    Now I need to use and bench the system for a while to confirm, but it is already strange to me how it is possible that for few weeks it worked (sort of) and now completely not.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    363

    If it won't boot with one particular stick of memory then I believe you found your problem. The yellow LED confirms this stick is bad.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    That would be good. What I am afraid of is that it has something to do with the particular piece of motherboard and when they test the ram in shop they will not find any problems. But I need to give it a try, not other choice since I do not have an access to another PC with DDR4 support to cross-check it.
    For the moment thanks to you both, Nate and chevel, for your input.

    ps. Just from pure curiosity - do you have any theories on how it is possible that for some time the stick has been able to start with the rest of the hardware and with time kind of a degradation comes in? Have you ever came across this kind of RAM behaviour? Or maybe there is something wrong with the motherboard in the end ?
    Last edited by regular_user; 09-09-2018 at 04:10 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    You asking quite a lots from such a small power supply i would never recommend anything bellow 650 on z370 platform . I would replace this then figure out any other issue. 530w at 80% efficiency give you 424 usable watt,that's quite optimist most likely less. your video card will take 200 watt by herself,count all the rest and its easy to see your issue is originally from the power supply. If your lucky you did not damage your board with ripple in your voltage, if not you might have to rma the board.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •