cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus GU501GM high pitch noise

Jlo02
Level 7
Hi guys, I have a question maybe one of you can answer. I've been wanting a gaming laptop for quite a while and I finally bought the Asus GU501GM from bestbuy. I'm a student and I wanted somethin slim but powerful and this really fits the bill. It's a beautiful laptop but I only have one problem with it. The laptop emits a high pitch noise on the top left when ever the fans kick in. it gets a little annoying after a while and im afraid to take it out in the library since it's loud enough that it would bother people. Is this normal? What could be the problem ?
9 REPLIES 9

Korth
Level 14
Coil whine.

https://lifehacker.com/this-video-explains-what-coil-whine-is-and-how-to-avoid-1669522880

Most commonly in the GPU VRMs, sometimes in the motherboard VRMs, sometimes in the PSU or charging circuit. Especially when parts are overclocked or undervolted outside their rated specs. It's a part which is oscillating into audible frequencies - some people are far more sensitive to it (and annoyed by it) than others. There are all sorts of workarounds, and some work perfectly while some do little or nothing - the failure is quirky so the fix is quirky and varies from machine to machine, and the only "true" repair is soldering on replacement part(s) - but most of these DIY fixes involve taking apart the laptop (and voiding ASUS warranty).

I don't have that laptop model so I don't know what's located in the "top left". But if it only occurs when a fan kicks in then it's being caused by a part which fails under electrical load or under thermal stress. It's sometimes caused by what is basically cheap/flawed engineering - and a few defective units do always end up on store shelves - but ASUS isn't generally in the habit of making cheap and shoddy junk and I haven't seen too many complaints about coil whine from G501 owners.