Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: dram voltage

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    598

    dram voltage

    i finally got my Corsair memory running at 3000mz by setting the cmd1 to cmd2 and i set the dram voltage to 1.400 but in hardware monitor it shows 1.417 is this too much voltage
    ok so I went back into the bios lowered the voltage to 1.3800 and now its running stable so far with a couple of passes in techpowerup memtest and the voltage reads 1.395
    Last edited by skellattarr; 09-12-2018 at 12:39 PM.
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Alcolawl PC Specs
    Alcolawl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-346616D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorViotek GN27D
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports ONE
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyFSP Group Hydro G 650W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 7
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300 Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900
    Alcolawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by skellattarr View Post
    i finally got my Corsair memory running at 3000mz by setting the cmd1 to cmd2 and i set the dram voltage to 1.400 but in hardware monitor it shows 1.417 is this too much voltage
    ok so I went back into the bios lowered the voltage to 1.3800 and now its running stable so far with a couple of passes in techpowerup memtest and the voltage reads 1.395
    1.4v isn't too much, I tend to stick below 1.4v for daily use but many Intel users and whatnot report running DDR4 DIMMs at 1.5v without issue.

    In all honesty, though, I'm not sure what speeds you were running your RAM at before you got it to 3000, but if it was something close like 2933, I'd go back to that if it means you can use a Command Rate of 1T. 2T is MUCH slower.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    932

    Software monitoring has inaccuracy. The super IO chip on the Crosshair VI Hero is setup as such that voltage granularity is not that great, leading to further inaccuracy. I wouldn't worry about it skellattarr.

    What you set in UEFI is pretty close to what actual DRAM voltage will be and it doesn't swing wildly when measured with a digital multimeter.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    598

    before I could not get above 2666 on t1 t2 works a lot better and all benchmarks like cinabench and Aida 64 has got way better scores and system much snappier
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Alcolawl PC Specs
    Alcolawl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-346616D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorViotek GN27D
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports ONE
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyFSP Group Hydro G 650W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 7
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300 Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900
    Alcolawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by skellattarr View Post
    before I could not get above 2666 on t1 t2 works a lot better and all benchmarks like cinabench and Aida 64 has got way better scores and system much snappier
    Oh, if you were at 2666 MHz 1T there's definitely going to be both a measurably and noticeably bigger difference when going to 3000 MHz 2T. Try enabling GearDownMode and switching back to 1T. This usually helps memory kits to post at higher speeds. Ryzen benefits from the higher DRAM speeds because the Infinity Fabric between the CCXs in your CPU also run at the same clock speed as your RAM. So memory clock speed has a pretty profound effect on Ryzen's performance up to 3200-3466 MHz or so. Tightening timings is another way to squeeze out some much better performance. If you get your kit to run at 1T with GearDownMode you'll definitely see a difference in games and benchmarks. Then the fun begins with tightening subtimings for even more performance, but that's a discussion for a different thread.

    Basically, Enable GearDownMode with 1T command rate. It can't hurt. And DRAM @ 1.41v is fine.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    598

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcolawl View Post
    Oh, if you were at 2666 MHz 1T there's definitely going to be both a measurably and noticeably bigger difference when going to 3000 MHz 2T. Try enabling GearDownMode and switching back to 1T. This usually helps memory kits to post at higher speeds. Ryzen benefits from the higher DRAM speeds because the Infinity Fabric between the CCXs in your CPU also run at the same clock speed as your RAM. So memory clock speed has a pretty profound effect on Ryzen's performance up to 3200-3466 MHz or so. Tightening timings is another way to squeeze out some much better performance. If you get your kit to run at 1T with GearDownMode you'll definitely see a difference in games and benchmarks. Then the fun begins with tightening subtimings for even more performance, but that's a discussion for a different thread.

    Basically, Enable GearDownMode with 1T command rate. It can't hurt. And DRAM @ 1.41v is fine.
    geardownmode is already enabled the reason why i cant get any better with 1t is my ram is not samung b die it's sk hynix which dous not work very well with ryzen
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    While Samsung chips are generally better I dont think its simply just because of it being Hynix. Often one must search for the best "combo" with BCLK and CPU speeds and dram. Ive more than once actually boosted the others to get the memory up but also backed off a little at other times.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    598

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcolawl View Post
    Oh, if you were at 2666 MHz 1T there's definitely going to be both a measurably and noticeably bigger difference when going to 3000 MHz 2T. Try enabling GearDownMode and switching back to 1T. This usually helps memory kits to post at higher speeds. Ryzen benefits from the higher DRAM speeds because the Infinity Fabric between the CCXs in your CPU also run at the same clock speed as your RAM. So memory clock speed has a pretty profound effect on Ryzen's performance up to 3200-3466 MHz or so. Tightening timings is another way to squeeze out some much better performance. If you get your kit to run at 1T with GearDownMode you'll definitely see a difference in games and benchmarks. Then the fun begins with tightening subtimings for even more performance, but that's a discussion for a different thread.

    Basically, Enable GearDownMode with 1T command rate. It can't hurt. And DRAM @ 1.41v is fine.
    well I tried what you said made sure that geardown was enabled and went back to 1t and i could not get it pass 2666 if i set the speed any higher it would give sevrel beeps and won't post . I went back to 2t and it still would not post entell I set the geardown back to auto I'm happy the way it is. I want to thank all you for your help eny more suggestions will be welcome but i still got a lot to learn about this bios
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    598

    hehe I had a Nvidia driver crash and when it tried to restart there was a memory error so i set the ram to 2933mhz then restarted several times to make sure there was no more problem so far so good
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Alcolawl PC Specs
    Alcolawl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix X470-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-346616D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorViotek GN27D
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO
    Storage #2ADATA SU800
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 34 eSports ONE
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyFSP Group Hydro G 650W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 7
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300 Black
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900
    Alcolawl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by skellattarr View Post
    hehe I had a Nvidia driver crash and when it tried to restart there was a memory error so i set the ram to 2933mhz then restarted several times to make sure there was no more problem so far so good
    Glad things are running well for you. If you're feeling up to it one day in the future, give Ryzen DRAM Calculator a shot. It's not guaranteed to work but it certainly has helped countless others overclock their memory, achieve the kit's advertised speeds, fix stability issues,and help tighten up timings / get better performance. Including me.

    Also, try finding an old flash drive that you no longer need and download Memtest86. It'll write itself to the flash drive, which you can boot from. Boot to that flash drive after making significant memory changes and run a memory test. If there are any errors, and I mean more than 0, that means the RAM is unstable. If it passes, it's usually a good sign that things are working well. This way you don't encounter system crashes (or even worse, corruption) in the future.
    Last edited by Alcolawl; 09-14-2018 at 02:18 PM. Reason: need coffee

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •