Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Nvme & sata ports

    Hi,

    I have an 960 Pro nvme installed with 4 sata ssd and a single Gpu. Can I install a 5th ssd and the 5th sata port will still work?

    On a Maximus X Code with 8700k cpu.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    I don't have such a board, but a simple search for your model and I could find the manual from Asus which states:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.png 
Views:	40 
Size:	51.8 KB 
ID:	75797

    A 5th SSD will not work on SATA if you put the M.2 SSD on M.2_2
    If you put the M.2 SSD on M.2_1, you can have 5 SATA SSDs on SATA 2,3,4,5,6 with SATA 1 empty.
    Last edited by Deepcuts; 09-15-2018 at 04:13 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Likely an nvme isnt working on sata right? Usually pcie? Mine is on m.2_1

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    Quote Originally Posted by kahless View Post
    Likely an nvme isnt working on sata right? Usually pcie? Mine is on m.2_1
    That is correct.
    Nevertheless, there are adapters to connect a M.2 nvme SSD to SATA or USB.
    I dont't think you are looking for that.
    If your M.2 nvme SSD is on M.2_1 and in BIOS you have this port set to x4/PCIe, your SATA port 1 will be disabled and you will have SATA ports 2,3,4,5,6 available for 5 SATA disks or SSDs.
    If you do not set the M.2_1 port to x4/PCIe, your nvme drive will not take advantage of the full its full speed.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    I guess I am confused. I have the nvme set to pcie mode and it's in m.2_1 and I have sata ports 1-4 populated and they work fine. I am about to add a 5th ssd to sata port 5. So its port 5 I am not sure will work or not?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    Quote Originally Posted by kahless View Post
    I guess I am confused. I have the nvme set to pcie mode and it's in m.2_1 and I have sata ports 1-4 populated and they work fine. I am about to add a 5th ssd to sata port 5. So its port 5 I am not sure will work or not?
    Sorry, I had one thing on my mind and I wrote another thing.
    Indeed, If M.2_1 is set to SATA mode, SATA port 1 will be disabled. If you have it set to PCIe, SATA port 1 will NOT be disabled.
    In your setup, you can fill all 6 SATA ports.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Thanks! Confirmed I just installed the 5th Ssd and all 5 work. The owners manual is kind of confusing in this regard

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    208

    Quote Originally Posted by kahless View Post
    Thanks! Confirmed I just installed the 5th Ssd and all 5 work. The owners manual is kind of confusing in this regard
    No, it's not.......you have to understand what it is. If you use M.2_1 slot and set it to AUTO (You must have NVME m.2 Pcie x4 ) then you can use ALL SATA ports) If you have m.2 SATA device and set to AUTO on M.2_1 slot. SATA PORT 1 will not be available.

    Now M.2_2 slot.....If you use this slot in Pcie x4 mode, SATA port 5/6 will not be available. If you use M.2_2 slot in pcie x2 mode you wil have ALL SATA ports available. This is limitations in Pcie_lanes....

    Nothing confusing here.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •