Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array tunc8686 PC Specs
    tunc8686 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus X Hero
    Processor8700K @5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 32GB (4*8Gb) 3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 950Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850Pro 256Gb
    CPU CoolerEKWB Costum Cpu Block
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyEvga Supernova 1000P2
    Keyboard Steelseries 7G
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 700
    Headset Corsair Void Pro
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QMass
    OS Win10
    tunc8686's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    60

    Which one is better XMP Mode ? or Manuel Mod ?

    hey ,
    i have :
    8700K
    Asus Rog Maximus X Hero
    Corsair Dominator 4*8GB 3200Mhz
    am using 5ghz (8700K) , which settings better for memory ( xmp or manuel )

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    313

    Hi,
    If xmp profiles work use them it's the easy route
    Sometimes or really most the time xmp profiles use more juice than really needed on more than just the ram like system agent and vccio cpu voltages..
    Most use manual to get around bugs in xmp to oc further than xmp profile allows higher voltages/ timing tweaking.... it's really a pain to deal with lol

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    my knowledge from the last couple of months

    Quote Originally Posted by tunc8686 View Post
    hey ,
    i have :
    8700K
    Asus Rog Maximus X Hero
    Corsair Dominator 4*8GB 3200Mhz
    am using 5ghz (8700K) , which settings better for memory ( xmp or manuel )
    After couple of months of messing around and tryna research from sources of information like here and my actual mobo book and AIO book etc. I have finally sussed it I think with only having to format/roll back once.
    If you have any other ASUS hardware that comes with its standalone software ie GPUtweak2 you should uninstall it and before you do that delete any custom profile for the clock/fanspeed and set the card back to default (I havent personally done it that way as I rollback to fresh OS but i hope it would work) Then use them latest AIsuite3 and DIP5 downloaded from the ASUS website and use that software to OC it with all your BIOS set to optimal default which is 3700mhz - cpu and 2133-ram if i remember rightly, this way you will still get a decent OC while sitting at around 80-90 degrees opposed to 100+... i hope this helps. I could be wrong as I have only just built this system and am still learning, to begin with I had heaps of software clash issues and was very frustrated with not knowing what was the best way to deal with it ie uninstall what, regedit issues, traces left of old version etc.
    also if you want a lil more info on what I use with I let the DIP5 oc it I can send u what has worked for me best this far.
    piece!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,467

    Manual Mode is better.
    What to do if XMP is 15-17-17-40 2T 2666MHz and speed setting is 15-15-15-36 1T.
    What to do then, to use XMP, no, off course I will change Manual and set timmings I want and free Strap and other settings for easier OC CPU.


  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,218

    Which one is better XMP Mode ? or Manuel Mod ?

    Its the same thing, the only difference with XMP is that someone else set the timings for you

    better would be to overclock the mem kit above the XMP profile manually

    DDR4 is so easy to overclock these days to a comfortable level

    DDR3 could be a bit more tricky back in the days, IC's was very different from brand to brand

    DDR4 IC's today is very uniform in many ways, and many mem auto settings is very well optimized in bios today

    DDR4 = stability = overclock me
    Last edited by Rockford; 10-06-2018 at 11:28 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    Fine tuning memory can be a pain. If that is something you don't want to go through, just set xmp. Verify the voltage for dram is the same as what is showing on your sticks. Some boards don't update the voltage after xmp is set

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •