Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array mgmguy1 PC Specs
    mgmguy1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)n/a
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD 1700 x
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    mgmguy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Question ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO Bios Question

    I currently have a ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO with a Bios Version of 1701 and I was going to update it but I see on the Website the current Bios is 6201.

    My question is can I update from 6201 from 1701 or so I have to do them in sequence ?

    Please advise

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme, BIOS 1301
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #3GPU Tweak II 2.0.9.0 works, no GPU volt monitor since Version 2.8.3.0, shows in LN2 mode only
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK Kit L360
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 1909
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ASUS Addressable RGB Controller
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    150

    Can I update from 6201 from 1701?

    Yes, you can and you do not have to do a BIOS update in sequence, but it may have its drawbacks (increased BIOS Boot/Startup time and memory problems) due to BIOS 6201 leaning more for supporting the second Gen Ryzen processors.

    If your system is running fine, there is no requirement to update your BIOS, but you can experiment and report problems to ASUS Support or open another thread.

    Maybe, someone who has this motherboard with a CPU 1700x can shed some light on this for a BIOS update to 6201.

    Or start reading this!

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-update-thread
    Last edited by pndiode; 09-26-2018 at 12:08 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array syldon PC Specs
    syldon PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus crosshair VII
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 F4-4000C18Q-32GTZKW running at 3466 14-14-14-28
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080
    Graphics Card #2MSI 1080
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorAsus PB287Q X 2
    Storage #1480gb M2 samsung m961
    Storage #21tb 850 evo and 2tb 850 evo
    CPU Coolercorsair hydro 110i
    Casegeneric
    Power Supplytitanium 1600w platinum
    Keyboard corsair strafe
    Mouse logitech g700
    Headset logitech g930
    Mouse Pad corsair duo
    OS Windows 10 po
    Network RouterVirgin media super hub 2
    Accessory #1 https://imgur.com/KRQSu70
    syldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    198

    Google the flashback method for the CH6. You can revise to any bios version. The recommendation is that you flash it twice, with a full rest to default before each one. The best way to reset the bios is to remove the battery for a few minutes.

    Some of the very early revisions of this board had some fatal errors built into them. 1501 onwards and you should be fine.

    I don't have a CH6 anymore, so cant offer an opinion on the best bios releases.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    996

    Quote Originally Posted by mgmguy1 View Post
    I currently have a ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO with a Bios Version of 1701 and I was going to update it but I see on the Website the current Bios is 6201.

    My question is can I update from 6201 from 1701 or so I have to do them in sequence ?

    Please advise
    No you do not need to flash UEFI in sequence, each UEFI is not an incremental update in this context.

    Flash to latest beta UEFI 0001, as this fixes an issue where fan headers stop working. UEFI can be found in this post, link.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •