Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    After replacing mainboard no Windows genuine

    I had troubles with gaming with my new notebook G51Jx. The MB is G60J. The TSD has replaced the MB and Videocard. After recovery Windows is no longer genuine, because SLIC 2.1 is missing in the bios after the replacement. The pre-activation does not work anymore. For pre-activation is needed Asus's OEM digital certificate, Asus's home premium SLP product key, and SLIC 2.1 the your bios (which should be in the bios already). The Asus TSD said to use the productkey from the sticker on de back of the notebook. I want a bios with SLIC 2.1. What to do?

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,586

    Microsoft has re-activated windows for me over the phone when I changed motherboards.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Activation works ok with the productkey on the back of the notebook, but I want SLIC 2.1 n the bios again.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,586

    Well, you could always flash the BIOS to a different version. There are several images available on the ASUS support site:
    http://support.asus.com/download/dow...Language=en-us
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I assumed that the bios form ASUS contained SLIC 2.1. But they do not. I guess that it must be done another way.

  6. #6
    Brian@ASUS
    Guest
    sorry but what is SLIC and whats the difference between 2.0 and 2.1?

  7. #7
    I left ASUS, please contact cl-scott Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    155

    hi richard. just trying to get more information, so your G50Jx came with SLIC 2.1 for Win7 but TSD changed out your MB to a different model? do you know what model MB orginally was in your G50Jx? if you can call Microsoft to activate your installation, what are the reasons you need SLIC 2.1?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    The model is G51Jx, but the mainboard was G60Jx. The mainboard is replaced by a new G60Jx. SLIC 2.1 is needed to pre-activate Windows 7. The recovery (F9) does not pre-activate, because SLIC 2.1 is not present in the bios. My opinion is that Asus had to add SLIC 2.1 again.
    2.0 is for pre-activate Vista. 2.1 is for pre-activate Windows 7.

  9. #9
    I left ASUS, please contact cl-scott Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    155

    I see. So you can manually activate or activate by phone, but you want to have SLIC 2.1 so the system will automatically activate after performing F9 recovery? Can you use Everest or Aida64 to verify what version of SLIC you have in the bios right now? I'll check with our TSD after the 1st and get back to you.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I can manualy activate. I installed Aida64. SLIC is not shown under ACPI, so there is no SLIC version present in the bios anymore. I think the TSD had to install SLIC 2.1 in the bios. In the downloaded bios 2.08 there is no SLIC present.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My ROG Rig with Windows 7 ROG 64 Bit Edition
    By neuropass in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 01:48 PM
  2. Rog connect and Windows Server 2008 R2
    By makizeka in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2010, 01:00 PM
  3. Windows clean install on new drive?
    By me010698 in forum G Series Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 06:58 AM
  4. Problem with windows 7 64-bit
    By goranthe in forum G Series Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 02:54 PM
  5. ASUS in a windows 7 commercial... FINALLLY!
    By Brian@ASUS in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 01:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •