Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING LGA2066
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 4133MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN Xp Star Wars Jedi Order COLLECTORS EDITION
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i PRO RGB 360mm Radiato
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower iRGB Pluss 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G600

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation I need help :( ROG STRIX X299-e Gaming

    Hey folks.

    Up until last night, i have had absolutely 0 trouble with my rig running on an ASUS ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming motherboard.

    But last night, Mid stream on twitch, my PC suddenly blue-screened for no apparent reason (nothing was overheating, no graphical errors or anything leading up to it). Windows gave me the generic "something went wrong, we are fixing the problem" blue screen, then my PC Rebooted.

    Figuring it may have just been a weird glitch, i started everything back up and started streaming again. Only to be told a few minutes later by my viewers that my microphone was suddenly really low.

    A quick check of SLOBS and sure enough, it was acting as if my microphone could barely hear me.

    A look into Windows Sound settings, and it suddenly had the "triangle" Warning messages under both output sound And input microphone.

    No changes made to either of them in their settings (sound or microphone) would make those warning things go away, or fix my mic problem. Neither would trying to let windows fix it.

    Re-downloading the Realtech drives from the ASUS website, and reinstalled them this morning. Mic still does not work correctly, and now the Main speakers are not being recognized as being plugged in.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    The headset/mich is plugged into the front panel of my PC case (speakers on the headset have sound currently, but mic does not work correctly), and My main 5.1 speakers are plugged into the back of the motherboard (and they are currently not working at all, not even detected by windows as being plugged in.

    I am planning to see if i can just roll-back m computer to a previous day if Windows recovery has a saved day..... But im still at a loss as to what happend, and worried something with the motherboard itself may have messed up

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Sounds like the instability caused some form of driver corruption. You might want to disable XMP or any overclock on the system before rolling back, too. If rolling back doesn't resolve the problem, report back

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING LGA2066
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 4133MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN Xp Star Wars Jedi Order COLLECTORS EDITION
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i PRO RGB 360mm Radiato
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower iRGB Pluss 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G600

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Sounds like the instability caused some form of driver corruption. You might want to disable XMP or any overclock on the system before rolling back, too. If rolling back doesn't resolve the problem, report back
    Haddnt even thought abut the overclock of the ram (i dont OC the CPU, but wanted the ram running at its listed speed )... the only issue i had with that on initial settup was it killing the ethernet channels till i sorted out one of the memory settings.

    would XMP affect onboard sound things?

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by Gwydion_Wolf View Post
    Haddnt even thought abut the overclock of the ram (i dont OC the CPU, but wanted the ram running at its listed speed )... the only issue i had with that on initial settup was it killing the ethernet channels till i sorted out one of the memory settings.

    would XMP affect onboard sound things?
    If the memory is unstable it could have caused the stop code and subsequent driver corruption, yes. Running memory at its rated speed and timings has no guarantees (see here for more info https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-and-using-XMP)

    You're better off taking XMP off and rolling back the system. If the audio problem is resolved, you may want to consider stress testing the memory with XMP enabled. If you do find memory instability, report back and we can cover various ways of dialing this out.

    Ramtest https://www.karhusoftware.com/ramtest/

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING LGA2066
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 4133MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN Xp Star Wars Jedi Order COLLECTORS EDITION
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i PRO RGB 360mm Radiato
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower iRGB Pluss 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G600

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    If the memory is unstable it could have caused the stop code and subsequent driver corruption, yes. Running memory at its rated speed and timings has no guarantees (see here for more info https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-and-using-XMP)

    You're better off taking XMP off and rolling back the system. If the audio problem is resolved, you may want to consider stress testing the memory with XMP enabled. If you do find memory instability, report back and we can cover various ways of dialing this out.

    Ramtest https://www.karhusoftware.com/ramtest/
    Hmm i'll give that a shot when i get home after work today. This was my fist attempt at running a OC on memory and while it occasionally had a issue booting up (usually only after a sudden power outage in the area), its been running great until last night.

    I'll let ya know how things turn out

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    Gwydion_Wolf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING LGA2066
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 4133MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN Xp Star Wars Jedi Order COLLECTORS EDITION
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO Series - 250GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i PRO RGB 360mm Radiato
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower iRGB Pluss 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G600

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Gwydion_Wolf View Post
    Hmm i'll give that a shot when i get home after work today. This was my fist attempt at running a OC on memory and while it occasionally had a issue booting up (usually only after a sudden power outage in the area), its been running great until last night.

    I'll let ya know how things turn out
    System Restore fixed it! Though had to go back 10 days... still though.. it fixed it.

    That was seriously random, aggravating, frustrating, and scary. Scary only in that i had a real fear that the Motherboard had somehow keeled over

    Making another system restore point and going forward and upward!

    Still have no actual idea what caused it though.. was 100% random. I build this current pc earlier this year, like around February... NEVER had a blue-screen like that...

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by Gwydion_Wolf View Post
    System Restore fixed it! Though had to go back 10 days... still though.. it fixed it.

    That was seriously random, aggravating, frustrating, and scary. Scary only in that i had a real fear that the Motherboard had somehow keeled over

    Making another system restore point and going forward and upward!

    Still have no actual idea what caused it though.. was 100% random. I build this current pc earlier this year, like around February... NEVER had a blue-screen like that...
    Glad that sorted the issue for you. Doesn't hurt to test memory stability once in a while, though.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by Gwydion_Wolf View Post
    System Restore fixed it! Though had to go back 10 days... still though.. it fixed it.

    That was seriously random, aggravating, frustrating, and scary. Scary only in that i had a real fear that the Motherboard had somehow keeled over

    Making another system restore point and going forward and upward!

    Still have no actual idea what caused it though.. was 100% random. I build this current pc earlier this year, like around February... NEVER had a blue-screen like that...
    Don't just rely on System restore ; it can be very flaky, especially if used several times. Use only as a last resort. Get yourself a good imaging backup program like Acronis, Paragon etc. It will have you back complete in minutes, from the last good image. Do a clean install too, not going forward from a system restore. Certainly with Win 10 with all its haphazard updates get a good backup solution.
    Other members can probably recommend a good imaging backup program, as well, as their favorite. There are several to chose from.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •