Page 6 of 18 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 175
  1. #51
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Board depending the fix is the bios update with the microcode injected. Tested and working.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  2. #52
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Intel released microcode which fixes Spectre and breaks overclocks. They've corrected the vulnerability and provided the promised/expected level of security on their "old" products. So they won't lose any money replacing parts or honouring warranty or getting bad press or confronting liability accusations.

    But why would they be interested in correcting overclock issues or extending longevity on their "old" products? It costs them time and money and effort to roll out new code for old stuff, they'd rather work on new code which sells new stuff. The old parts still perform at Intel spec, Intel doesn't need to keep any promises (they never made) about overclocked performance above Intel spec - important since the vast majority of the affected parts are installed in Big Money enterprise platforms which require the security and always run strictly within Intel spec. The obvious win for Intel (and they know they're gonna win) is to basically force those enthusiasts who want overclocks to discard old Intel parts and rush out to buy overclockable new Intel parts.

    The only backfire against Intel's recurring strongarmed lack of ethics/loyalty is some customers abandoning them "forever" for AMD ... it's all happened before, it's all happening again, but a small horde of disgruntled enthusiasts swearing new fealty to Team Red are just not enough to have much impact where Intel really makes its big revenues ... Intel loses a little money (some new Intel-haters join the crowd, meh), while Intel also gains a lot of money (selling piles of new CPUs!) ... they really have no motivation at all to change a methodology which has been lucrative for them so many times in the past.
    Last edited by Korth; 10-28-2018 at 03:38 PM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #53
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I Have a motherboard Asus A II , with a I7 6800K

    for now I use the DLL to overclock my CPU (at 4.1 at 1.4V )
    Do you think I can flash my motherboard with the R5E10.CAP ?
    or is not compatible ???

  4. #54
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by zombii View Post
    I Have a motherboard Asus A II , with a I7 6800K
    Do you think I can flash my motherboard with the R5E10.CAP ?
    or is not compatible ???
    You can only flash BIOS/firmware which is specifically meant for your specific motherboard model. Nothing else will work.
    Your board might reject an incompatible BIOS ... more likely an incompatible BIOS would just brick it ... in extreme cases an incompatible BIOS might even cause electrical/hardware damage to the board and anything else (CPU, RAM, PCIe, etc) plugged into it.

    Only use BIOS/firmware downloaded from your motherboard page. ASUS X99 A-II BIOS is here. ASUS X99 R5E/R5E10 BIOS will not work.
    Last edited by Korth; 10-31-2018 at 07:12 AM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  5. #55
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Well, I just fixed it by updating the microcode for my BIOS version and CPU Model myself.
    This https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-CPU-microcode will help.
    I have a R5E and used Bios 3504 (the best one working for me) and updated the microcode for my 6950x myself - flashed it via USB method and it works perfectly.

    I suggest, anyone who has a dual Bios just do it - not much to lose. If you don´t have dual Bios or you don´t have the means or skill to flash the eeprom yourself afterwards, don´t do it.
    If anyone wants 3504 for 6950x, contact me.

  6. #56
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9-7920X
    Memory (part number)G.skill TridentZ 4x8Gb DDR4 3200MHz cl14
    Graphics Card #1nVIDIA RTX 2080Ti Fe
    Sound CardCreative soundblaster X7 Le
    MonitorPG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 512Gb, Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Inte850pro 1Tbl 750 1.2Tb, 2x850pro 512gb and
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy evo x99
    CaseDiy case
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax860i
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse Logitech G900 chaos Spectrum
    Headset Beyerdynamic T90
    Mouse Pad ROG from china
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4 2.1 And Monitors speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterFritz Box 6490
    Accessory #1 H2O cooling with 3x360 rads, dual ddc pumps,EK blocks, Copper pipes etc.
    Accessory #2 BD-RE
    JuSiZ1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    88

    I got prerelease bios from asus support. Not tested yet and they say please not share it. I think its only updated ucode.

  7. #57
    ROG Member Array ThomasMu PC Specs
    ThomasMu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X99 GAMING
    ProcessorI7 6880K
    Memory (part number)Kingston KHX2133C14D4/8
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX 1080TI 11GB
    MonitorASUS MG28UQ
    Storage #1SanDisk SDSSA120G
    Storage #2Toshiba HDWD120
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseCooler Master CM690III
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Hyper X Cloud
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    OS Microsoft Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I have the same problem. ROG STRIX X99 GAMING with the 1902 beta BIOS and a i7 6800K running Windows 10 1809, overclocking no longer works.
    How likely is it that we will get a fix for this problem since the motherboard is an older model?.

  8. #58
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Intel released microcode which fixes Spectre and breaks overclocks. They've corrected the vulnerability and provided the promised/expected level of security on their "old" products. So they won't lose any money replacing parts or honouring warranty or getting bad press or confronting liability accusations.

    But why would they be interested in correcting overclock issues or extending longevity on their "old" products? It costs them time and money and effort to roll out new code for old stuff, they'd rather work on new code which sells new stuff. The old parts still perform at Intel spec, Intel doesn't need to keep any promises (they never made) about overclocked performance above Intel spec - important since the vast majority of the affected parts are installed in Big Money enterprise platforms which require the security and always run strictly within Intel spec. The obvious win for Intel (and they know they're gonna win) is to basically force those enthusiasts who want overclocks to discard old Intel parts and rush out to buy overclockable new Intel parts.

    The only backfire against Intel's recurring strongarmed lack of ethics/loyalty is some customers abandoning them "forever" for AMD ... it's all happened before, it's all happening again, but a small horde of disgruntled enthusiasts swearing new fealty to Team Red are just not enough to have much impact where Intel really makes its big revenues ... Intel loses a little money (some new Intel-haters join the crowd, meh), while Intel also gains a lot of money (selling piles of new CPUs!) ... they really have no motivation at all to change a methodology which has been lucrative for them so many times in the past.

    Cheese and Rice man!
    I just watched conspiracy theory last night.

    OK this worked for me
    Uninstall KB4100347 it will prompt a restaart, before restart download and install wushowhide and hide this update until they get a BIOS fix.
    Back to where I was with a 4.8GHz OC on a 7900X all 10 cores.




    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oc.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	356.4 KB 
ID:	76745
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 11-01-2018 at 11:43 AM.

  9. #59
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    lol @ Cheese and Rice

    But seriously, I think Intel will only offer three options: old Intel part which can overclock but is vulnerable, old Intel part which can't overclock but is secure, new Intel part which can overclock and is secure. It's all they're strictly obligated to do. We might expect/want more, but what compelling reason is there for Intel to want to spend their money (instead of taking our money) on providing us with more?
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  10. #60
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Techotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    Quote Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX View Post
    Guys I just fixed Windows 1809, and the issue with BW-E on the Rampage V Edition 10 X99 board. The issue stemmed from a uCode incompatibility and has been corrected by loading the latest Intel uCode into the 1902 BIOS. You do not have to modify anything at the Windows OS level (like modifying the DLLs in System32 as some have suggested)

    Setup: 6850k @ 4.4GHz and Windows 10 1809 on R5E10 Board.

    Validation (right click and open image in another window to see the full screenshot, I have an ultrawide):

    I zipped up the CAP and uploaded here: https://www.filehosting.org/file/det...9462/R5E10.zip - changes from 1902 were made via UBU @ Fernando WinRaid. I used the latest uCode for HaswellE/BroadwellE as the uCode from 1902 is the January release and is incompatible with the OS side fixes.

    In addition to microcode the latest 14.8 UEFI option ROM for RST is loaded, and latest network stack modules.

    USE AT YOUR OWN RISK - PLEASE ENSURE YOU UNDERSTAND HOW TO USE BIOS FLASHBACK AND HAVE A WAY TO RECOVER YOUR BIOS IN THE EVENT THIS DOES NOT WORK FOR YOU.
    If you can apply the same BIOS fix for 3902 Beta for the Rampage V Extreme, that would be great.

Page 6 of 18 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •