Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Question Connect Thunderboltex 3 card without sacrificing speed of other lanes?

    I am in a bit of a pickle here. I got a thunderbolt extension card that came with my x99 Deluxe II motherboard but I cannot seem to figure out an efficient way to connect it. I will try my best to explain the situation:
    I got a GTX 1080 connected to my PCIE-1 slot and since the card is big, it obstructs the PCIE-2 slot so I cannot use that. PCIE-3 slot shares bandwidth with my NVME SSD so I obviously would not want to connect it there. Only 2 slots remain: PCIE-4 and PCIE-5. If I connect the card to PCIE-4, my GPU no longer runs at x16 and is limited to X8. PCIE-5 should save the day, right? Not quite... I cannot select PCIE-5 in my UEFI settings for the thunderbolt. I can only select 1,2,3 or 4 but not 5.

    my CPU is a 28 laner i7 5820k

    any suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

    PS: I know that if my card runs at 8x, it doesn't affect the performance that much but there is still an ever slight difference between x8 and x16 so I'd like to avoid running my GPU at x8 at all costs

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,346

    If you won't move your GPU then use a PCIE extender ribbon to access the slot under it.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    If you won't move your GPU then use a PCIE extender ribbon to access the slot under it.
    That is actually a good idea. Is there any way to figure out if my slot 2 works on at least x4 speeds? (x4 is required for thunderbolt). I also hope that it doesn't share bandwidth with slot 3 or slot 1 cuz that would be useless then
    Last edited by ayylmao78; 10-04-2018 at 10:53 PM.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,346

    A lot of times that is in the manual so I'd check there. It will say how populating different slots changes their bandwidth. If it's not there then I don't know. You might have to get creative with diagnostic tools or test it with benchmarks. Perhaps someone has already posted that online so I'd do some Google searching too.

    The good news is that extender cables aren't overly expensive and it's useful to have one around if you work on your own machines. So even if you use it for a while and put it in a drawer you might want it again in the future.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •