Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array annyh1lator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    RTX 2070 for G20 ?

    Hi everyone. I wanna upgrade my g20 to rtx2070. Version asus turbo. Size of this card little more than reference. 1070FE - 26.67 x 11.12 x3.81 Centimeter, RTX 2070 turbo - 26.8 x 11.3 x4 Centimeter. How do you think, there will be no problems?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Sounds like it should be a tight fit... I would be more worried about the blower fan hole lining up with the slot. The 1070FE that came with my G20CB was offset so that half the opening was partially obstructed, resulting in an annoying whine.

    Make sure that the 2080 will run off of the 8pin and 6 pin PCI-E plugs, if not, you'll need to get some male to male adaptors.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    5

    How about the tdp? It has 175w right?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Has anybody tried this, and can confirm it will work.
    I was thinking about upgrading to:
    Asus TURBO RTX 2070 8G

    But not to sure if the requirements will work:

    PCI Express 3.1 x16
    Free slots: 2,5
    Power max: 250 watt
    Powersupply min: 550 watt
    Power Connectors: 1 x 6-pin + 1 x 8-pin

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    MotherboardModded ROG G20Ci
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G20
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    73

    If your G20 comes with 2 power adapter, then it should work. My ROG G20Ci used Asus RTX 2080 Turbo and it works perfectly.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    You mean this power supply as seen on the image?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	top-pic-4.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	76932

    Yes i have two power supply's. So it should work with a Asus G20CB-NL016T?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    MotherboardModded ROG G20Ci
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G20
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by SeiFeRNL View Post
    You mean this power supply as seen on the image?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	top-pic-4.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	76932

    Yes i have two power supply's. So it should work with a Asus G20CB-NL016T?
    Yes that will work

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    27

    I'm running and RTX 2080 in my G20AJ with the 180 and 220 watt power supplies with no problems so the RTX 2070 should run just fine.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    RTX worked?

    Thanks for this info but I need to make sure I understand this. I have a g20aj with both external psu's. I read RTX recommended 500 watts. Yours is working fine? Did you need to do any jumpers, add cables or anything other than a simple plug and play?

    Just want to make sure I understand the process prior to assuming its as simple as it s sounds, thanks.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Cyb0rge PC Specs
    Cyb0rge PC Specs
    Motherboardcrosshair hero 7
    Processorryzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)f4-3200c14-16gtzr
    Graphics Card #1hp rtx 2080
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU Coolercaptain 360 ex
    CaseRog certified Deepcool Genome 2
    Power Supplyraidmax 1200 a.e
    Mouse Rog Spatha
    Headset Rog strix fusion 700
    Headset/Speakers Rog strix fusion 700
    OS windows

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Upgrade path

    Quote Originally Posted by rottnpup View Post
    I'm running and RTX 2080 in my G20AJ with the 180 and 220 watt power supplies with no problems so the RTX 2070 should run just fine.
    it works with rtx enabled?? this is amazing news if so i have a g20aj as well ive upgraded to a 330w+180w psu but even still i was having doubts about if it could handle the 2080

    PLEASE provide updates

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •