Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Antary PC Specs
    Antary PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti
    Power Supply720W Cooler Master
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Asus Strix 7.1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Can't use my xmp profile 3466mhz, won't boot.

    Hello.
    My configuration: CPU is i7 8700K.
    Motherboard Maximus Hero X.
    Ram DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK Specs: DDR4 PC4-27700 • 16-18-18 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR4-3466 • 1.35V • 1024Meg x 64
    I updated the bios to the latest version.
    By default, the memory operates at 2133.
    If i go more than 2800Mhz, or load my XMP profile, the system won't boot.
    If I manually set 16 - 18 - 36 and the 2666 system works well.

    If possible please tell me the solution to my problem. Thank You.*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by Antary View Post
    Hello.
    My configuration: CPU is i7 8700K.
    Motherboard Maximus Hero X.
    Ram DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK Specs: DDR4 PC4-27700 • 16-18-18 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR4-3466 • 1.35V • 1024Meg x 64
    I updated the bios to the latest version.
    By default, the memory operates at 2133.
    If i go more than 2800Mhz, or load my XMP profile, the system won't boot.
    If I manually set 16 - 18 - 36 and the 2666 system works well.

    If possible please tell me the solution to my problem. Thank You.*
    Looks like the Ballistix Elite 3466mhz memory is not on the Asus QVL...Ballistix Elite 3000 mhz CL 15 is the highest tested memory to be compatible...you may be at the max with that ram...
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 09-12-2018 at 01:04 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Antary PC Specs
    Antary PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti
    Power Supply720W Cooler Master
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Asus Strix 7.1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Looks like the Ballistix Elite memory is not on the Asus QVL...
    Yes, but on another system with ASUS Prime Z370, this memory works with the stated characteristics of 3466 when you turn on XMP, but only stable with 3333.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    I suggest entering manual base timings, frequency, and DRAM voltage in the bios.

    Have you tried increasing the DRAM voltage? Or played with the VCCIO and SA voltages?

    Also you can try Maximus Tweak mode 1 or 2 under DRAM Timing Control.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Antary PC Specs
    Antary PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti
    Power Supply720W Cooler Master
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Asus Strix 7.1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    I suggest entering manual base timings, frequency, and DRAM voltage in the bios.

    Have you tried increasing the DRAM voltage? Or played with the VCCIO and SA voltages?

    Also you can try Maximus Tweak mode 1 or 2 under DRAM Timing Control.
    Yes, I tried to increase the DRAM voltage. But after installing 1.35 and rebooting the system after entering the Bios, the current value remains 1.088.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by Antary View Post
    Yes, I tried to increase the DRAM voltage. But after installing 1.35 and rebooting the system after entering the Bios, the current value remains 1.088.

    There's the problem. Others have reported the same issue here in the forums.

    I suggest contacting ASUS support and have them initiate an RMA for a replacement board.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Have you tried enabling XMP with just (1) stick ....(Tweak Mode 1 if supported by board) and manually applying dram voltage @ 1.35v with 3466 mhz ? ...Just throwing that out there cuz I've seen some boards that would not post at rated speed if 2 sticks where initially applied with set frequency but would post with 1stick on reboot....and applying 2nd stick afterwards...just something to try.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Antary PC Specs
    Antary PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti
    Power Supply720W Cooler Master
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Asus Strix 7.1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Have you tried enabling XMP with just (1) stick ....(Tweak Mode 1 if supported by board) and manually applying dram voltage @ 1.35v with 3466 mhz ? ...Just throwing that out there cuz I've seen some boards that would not post at rated speed if 2 sticks where initially applied with set frequency but would post with 1stick on reboot....and applying 2nd stick afterwards...just something to try.
    Yes I tried it, in each of the 4 slots.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Antary PC Specs
    Antary PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3466 UDIMM BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti
    Power Supply720W Cooler Master
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Asus Strix 7.1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    There's the problem. Others have reported the same issue here in the forums.

    I suggest contacting ASUS support and have them initiate an RMA for a replacement board.
    I think the problem is that I can't applying dram voltage more than 1.088.
    I have tried to install all of the available Bios versions and clear.
    Now I try to contact the seller to get technical support.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by Antary View Post
    I think the problem is that I can't applying dram voltage more than 1.088.
    I have tried to install all of the available Bios versions and clear.
    Now I try to contact the seller to get technical support.
    When you take the board out for RMA....check the back of the board for any scratches from the standoffs that may of occurred during installation....it's possible that if there is..it could be causing a short in the boards ram slots.....hence the reason why board won't post with ram voltage no higher than 1.088v.
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 09-12-2018 at 11:07 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •