Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Heebus PC Specs
    Heebus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL702V
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Trident 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Super Advanced
    MonitorLG 34" ultra gear gaming
    CPU CoolerHyper 212 evo
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    CPU FLuctuating Frequency

    Hi all, abut a month ago I built a new pc, Maximus XI Formula with an I9 9900k, and set it to run @ 4.7, it ran smooth and no issue, but it seemed to fluctuate (on oled screen) from 4.67 to 4.73 ish, but stable. I tend to only use my gaming pc on weekends, booting it Friday nights, well last weekend, it bumped itself to 4.9, and this time it sat directly 4.9, which I thought was weird. I got home early from work today an decided to pop it on for a few hours and play some games, and it bumped itself again, now runnin 5.0. Is there a setting somewhere in bios that I may have to set to lock it, or is this just a weird bug?
    And the wicked shall inherit the earth...

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Detleg PC Specs
    Detleg PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750JM, ROG GL 702VMk
    MotherboardRIVE / M8E, EVGA x299 Dark, Maximus XI E
    Processori7-4930k , i7-6700k, i9-7900x, i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR, CMD6GX3M4A2400C9 / F3-17000CL11Q / F3-12800CL7T-6GBPI / PV432G300C6QKPE000378
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX / EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper, EVGA GTX 1080ti, EVGA RTX 2080 TI XC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX / EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper/ EVGA GTX 1080ti
    Graphics Card #3EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper
    Graphics Card #4EVGA GTX Titan Hydrocopper
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming
    Monitor3x Samsung syncmaster S24B150, LG4k
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO Series - 256GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #21x 500gb Samsung SSD 850 EVO,1x 256gb Samsung 840 Pro, 1x WD 10k mech
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-380I , 2x custom water cooled loop EKWB, TT D5
    CasePhobya WaCoolT Test Bench, TT Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2, 80+ GOLD 1300W, ROG THOR 1200 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse M705
    Headset Logitech G930,
    Mouse Pad EVGA PWNAGE
    Headset/Speakers Audio Engine S8 / D1
    OS Win10x64, Win 8.1, Win 7 Ulti x64
    Network RouterUbee
    Accessory #1 2x 360 big ass radiators push/pull corsair fans
    Accessory #2 OC Panel II
    Accessory #3 A couple of great Noctua pwm fans
    Detleg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    668

    It's not a bug, you can change it in your Bios, my guess is it's the Turbo enabled.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Heebus PC Specs
    Heebus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL702V
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Trident 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Super Advanced
    MonitorLG 34" ultra gear gaming
    CPU CoolerHyper 212 evo
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    ty for post, I will check it when home from work, I assumed it was something in bios. Thought maybe the AI, but I also thought that it would only boost the first time I enabled it, didnt realize it would keep bumping it up
    And the wicked shall inherit the earth...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Did you set it on manual, offset, or adaptive?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,575

    If you are using XMP1 then seleccion YES, is normal. for out boards. Is using asus presets. Also since windows is using AVX some variacion is pressent. that can be disable on bios. Also the vdrop is present. making changes there can prove what i write.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •