cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Cannot OC" I7 8700K Problem??

Nickbrt
Level 7
Hey Guys and Girls
Its my first time overclocking on an Intel platform so don't blame me for any rookie mistakes (I used to overclock on the AMD platform)
And now my problem is that I cannot overclock my CPU, after I load the settings on my bios and save them I then reboot only to find that my settings have been saved but my BIOS reads the stock speeds and voltages, my first attempt was to see if I had an outdated Version of the bios after updating and restoring defaults I tried again with the help of my guides but still it would not read them and on windows information it would still read the 3.7 GHz speeds, although my AI suite would read the settings I had applied on the bios none of them would be actually applied. After the settings I applied ot even the turbo mode would turn on leaving me on sthe stock speeds all the time. This had me researching on forums all week with no answers now I reach to you to find me some. Here are some useful information:
Idle temps : 34-37C
3.7GHz stress speeds: 55-59C

For any other info comment below...
6 REPLIES 6

Nate152
Hello Nickbrt

Welcome to the ROG forum !

For a test, try setting the windows power plan to high performance and see if it sticks at your overclock.

Nate152 wrote:
Hello Nickbrt

Welcome to the ROG forum !

For a test, try setting the windows power plan to high performance and see if it sticks at your overclock.

I already had it on the high performance setting but all help will be appreciated

Ma BOIS, I just booted on hackintosh (this stays between us) it detected it right away 4.9 ghz go back to windows it straight up fixed it if someone could explain because i just got mind****ed how this could work??

Nate152
Sometimes a good mind****ing is all you need. 🙂

I'm not sure what happened or what you did but good to see it's now working.