Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Maximus XI Motherboards Missing TPM Headers?

    What gives with only including a TPM header with the Hero? The top of the Extreme and Formula are missing a TPM header.

    Why is ASUS making users pick between security and performance?

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hi btrach144

    If you're wanting to use bitlocker you can use it without a TPM.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/6229...s-without-tpm/

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi btrach144

    If you're wanting to use bitlocker you can use it without a TPM.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/6229...s-without-tpm/
    Nate152, thank you for the reply but sadly software encryption is not on the same level in terms of hardware backed encryption.

    It’s really sad to see ASUS cut a corner on this. Every manufacturer should be considering security and safety as a paramount feature.

    I likely won’t be able to choose the Maximus XI Extreme as a result. *

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    407

    Intel chipsets now include TPM support. You don't need a separate card. Don't know about AMD.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    Intel chipsets now include TPM support. You don't need a separate card. Don't know about AMD.
    I hate to be that guy but can you please provide a source? Trying to decide if I want to drop $450 or not.

    Also, Z370 boards required a TPM header and nobody has highlighted TPM inclusion as being a benefit of the Z390 boards.
    Last edited by btrach144; 10-08-2018 at 09:21 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Looks like Intel Z370 and Intel Z390 chipsets support Intel PTT. https://communities.intel.com/thread/114417

    However, ASUS cheaped out according to their manual for the Maximus X Formula and mentions nothing about Intel PTT support.

    Does not look promising for the Z390 boards either.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    407

    Quote Originally Posted by btrach144 View Post
    I hate to be that guy but can you please provide a source? Trying to decide if I want to drop $450 or not.

    Also, Z370 boards required a TPM header and nobody has highlighted TPM inclusion as being a benefit of the Z390 boards.
    My Code X Z370 does *not* require a header. As I stated, Intel provides PTT. My Code X has an option in the BIOS to enable it, which I have. It provides the TPM. I can't imagine the Formula doesn't have it, since the Code is a stepped down Formula.

    My manual doesn't mention it either. I guess Asus didn't think t worth mentioning. Can't claim that all Asus Z370 and Z390 support it, but I would expect so, otherwise they would have a header
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Capture.JPG  

    181008230114.jpg  

    181008230031.jpg  

    Last edited by geneo; 10-09-2018 at 04:03 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    My Code X Z370 does *not* require a header. As I stated, Intel provides PTT. My Code X has an option in the BIOS to enable it, which I have. It provides the TPM. I can't imagine the Formula doesn't have it, since the Code is a stepped down Formula.

    My manual doesn't mention it either. I guess Asus didn't think t worth mentioning. Can't claim that all Asus Z370 and Z390 support it, but I would expect so, otherwise they would have a header
    I just want to genuinely thank you. You taught me something new. Before today, I had no idea what Intel PTT was or how it could replace dTPM. *nerd hug*


    I just checked my Hero X and I have the option to pick from dTPM or PTT. No reason to doubt the new boards won't offer the same ability.

    Thank you very much again!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •