Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Asus Aura 1.06.95 - CPU Usage

    I realized when I was using any of the lighting change modes like "wave" etc, the LightingService process was using a lot of CPU - at least 10% CPU usage at all times. Switching it back to static colors with no effects was the only way I could get it back down. Obviously that CPU usage is way too high for controlling some RGB LEDS.

    Specs:
    i7-7700K
    32GB RAM (g.skill trident rgb)
    Asus Maximus IX Code Motherboard

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -1801
    Processor8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.36v -@manual vcore- delided + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)F4-3000-Cl-14-16GTZR @ 4000 mhz cl 17-19-19-38 vccio =1.215 Vcssa=1.215
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080ti foundeers @ 1911 mhz @ 0.950v curve
    Sound CardMotherboard realtec
    MonitorAsus Pg279q -27 inch 165 hz - 1440p -gysnc
    Storage #1intel 600p -512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU Coolerthermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec g710s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth -large
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 home theater
    OS windows 10-1809 x64
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    211

    yepp same here on windows 10 1607 . if you open it and then use say breathing or static color its fixes the issue . try switching to breathing or static apply . re boot then try color wave again . also roll back to previeous if this doesnt work for u ,

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by rgbsadguy View Post
    I realized when I was using any of the lighting change modes like "wave" etc, the LightingService process was using a lot of CPU - at least 10% CPU usage at all times. Switching it back to static colors with no effects was the only way I could get it back down. Obviously that CPU usage is way too high for controlling some RGB LEDS.

    Specs:
    i7-7700K
    32GB RAM (g.skill trident rgb)
    Asus Maximus IX Code Motherboard
    What version Aura, and BIOS are you currently using?

    Try updating both of them.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I just updated aura and the BIOS before testing this a few days ago so it should be all the latest versions.

    Aura 1.06.95
    Latest bios, I don't recall the version but it was the latest available as of about Oct 5 2018


    CPU Usage stabilizes around 10-12% from LightingService. However on the first 3 lighting effects this isn't happening -- static, breathing, and color cycle result in almost no CPU usage (0.1% or less)

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    I've noticed the same problem. It's ruining my games' performance. This is a serious issue that they need to fix ASAP.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -1801
    Processor8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.36v -@manual vcore- delided + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)F4-3000-Cl-14-16GTZR @ 4000 mhz cl 17-19-19-38 vccio =1.215 Vcssa=1.215
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080ti foundeers @ 1911 mhz @ 0.950v curve
    Sound CardMotherboard realtec
    MonitorAsus Pg279q -27 inch 165 hz - 1440p -gysnc
    Storage #1intel 600p -512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU Coolerthermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec g710s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth -large
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 home theater
    OS windows 10-1809 x64
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    211

    previous version doesnt do it just roll back .

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,

    Use the last 1.07.17 by following the process of updating scrupulously, I tested it and I approved it : https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...WARE-AURA-Sync

    Before this version 1.07.17, I was resigned to version 1.06.17 because versions 1.06.29 and 1.06.95 were catastrophic for me
    I just tried that 1.07.17 and CPU usage is just as bad as 1.06.95, about 6-7% when using smart -> temperature lighting. CPU usage is first about 5% and then starting to go up.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array SirRobin PC Specs
    SirRobin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 1600x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V KIT 16 GB DDR4-3000
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX1060-O6G
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorDell S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 250 GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Green HDD 3 TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S SE-AM4G
    Casebe quiet! Dark Base 700
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus Plus 550W
    Keyboard Logitech G213
    Mouse Logitech G403
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64 Bit
    SirRobin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by kompura View Post
    I just tried that 1.07.17 and CPU usage is just as bad as 1.06.95, about 6-7% when using smart -> temperature lighting. CPU usage is first about 5% and then starting to go up.
    Whats your setting for smart->temperature? Static? In new version the color is changing every second if not changed to static...

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by SirRobin View Post
    Whats your setting for smart->temperature? Static? In new version the color is changing every second if not changed to static...
    Yes. smart-temperature-static. And CPU usage ~7% which is huge.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array bojerka PC Specs
    bojerka PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire V3-531G Black
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorINTEL Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB DDR4 3200MHz 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hydro Copper GAMING
    Monitor32" ASUS ROG STRIX XG32VQ 144Hz
    Storage #1WD Red 10TB
    Storage #21TB 860 Pro SSD / 1TB M.2 NVMe Samsung Pro
    CPU CoolerEKWB + AquaComputer custom loop
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyENERMAX Revolution 85+
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud Gaming Headset Silver
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus 2013 Large Speed
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Tested and all options using 5-15% CPU. Only Static Color don't using CPU - 0% and 6MB RAM.
    Monitor ASUS ROG Strix XG32VQ isn't visible in this software but every color changes (in ASUS AURA) are applied too on this monitor (ASUS Aura Sync is ON).

    Windows 10 Pro 1809 (17763.55)
    Last edited by bojerka; 10-13-2018 at 02:04 PM. Reason: added windows version

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •