Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Question Maximus XI Formula CrossChill - do I need water?

    Hi
    Like topic, do I need to use or fill CrossChill water block? I'm going to buy Maximus XI Formula or Extreme.
    I'm not planning use custom water solution. For CPU I alredy bought Corsair H150i AiO and I have ROG Strix 1080 Ti which it doesn't have water block.
    Should I sell H150i and make custom water loop? Or just wait for Maximus XI Extreme?

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    Hi Ingvarr100th

    Nope, you don't need to connect a water loop to the crosschill block, it can be used with air or water.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Thanks.
    And it should be filled with water when there's no custom loop?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    No, it can be left dry.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    No it does not need to be filled with water

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array pmfr01 PC Specs
    pmfr01 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-8700 3.20 GHz
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C16D-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 980 4GD5T OC
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO NVMe M.2 PCIe 1TB
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 750W 80+ Titanium Modular

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Ingvarr100th

    Nope, you don't need to connect a water loop to the crosschill block, it can be used with air or water.
    Hi.
    With air you mean the CPU air cooler?

    PR

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,865

    Quote Originally Posted by pmfr01 View Post
    Hi.
    With air you mean the CPU air cooler?

    PR
    I think he simply means have others have stated, dry or wet (in a loop, do not fill otherwise).

    Either method is fine.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    1,475

    It's little stupid investing in Formula without water cooling when Apex, Code, Hero and Gene are available.

    I special liked Maximus X Apex and Rampage VI Apex. More than XI Apex.
    Rampage VI Apex is even available for me for very nice price, but I can't afford now new i9-9820X when show up.
    Can't wait to see i9-9820X.


  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Ingvarr100th View Post
    Hi
    Like topic, do I need to use or fill CrossChill water block? I'm going to buy Maximus XI Formula or Extreme.
    I'm not planning use custom water solution. For CPU I alredy bought Corsair H150i AiO and I have ROG Strix 1080 Ti which it doesn't have water block.
    Should I sell H150i and make custom water loop? Or just wait for Maximus XI Extreme?
    Do you have the XI Formula? If so, where did you get it? Nobody from ASUS has been able to tell when or if it will be made available... if you do own one, you may be the first person to get one that's not a reviewer/youtuber.

    Edit: didnt read your post close enough, i see you said you plan to buy it. Best of luck, let us know if you can find one. XI Extreme is supposed to be released "in the next couple months" according to ASUS support. XI Formula has already been realeased (officially), but it's more rare than BigFoot

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MRBULL PC Specs
    MRBULL PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula XI
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3400C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Evo 970 1TB m2
    Storage #2Evo 970 500gig m2
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 280
    CaseObsidian 900D Super Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair HX Series™ HX1050
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser pc350 special edition
    OS Windows 10 pro
    MRBULL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    82

    Quote Originally Posted by Vlada011 View Post
    It's little stupid investing in Formula without water cooling when Apex, Code, Hero and Gene are available.

    I special liked Maximus X Apex and Rampage VI Apex. More than XI Apex.
    Rampage VI Apex is even available for me for very nice price, but I can't afford now new i9-9820X when show up.
    Can't wait to see i9-9820X.
    i dont agree at all , i need 5gbit connection and only formula and extreme as it.. my home fiber is going 2gbit soon
    so im waiting for one of them to come in stock

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •