Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    ROG Centurion 7.1 - 16bit/48khz max? What about 24bit or 32bit?

    I got an ROG Centurion hoping for a really high quality DAC based on seeing ESS9601.

    I installed latest drivers and app, but Windows 10 only offers me these choices from the sound driver:
    16 bit, 44100 hz (CD quality)
    16 bit, 48000 hz (DVD quality)

    Is there any way to get anything better? I was hoping for at least 24 bit, 96000 hz (Studio quality)
    or maybe even 32 bit, 192000hz

    In Windows, my driver says:
    ASUS ROG 7.1
    Driver Provider: A-Volute
    Driver Date: 11/24/2016
    Driver Version: 8.12.15.485
    ( If I search for anything else it always says I have the best driver installed. )

    I have Sonic Studio v1.1.20
    Sound Card FW v1.0.6
    Control Box FW v1.3

    Thanks in advance for any helpful responses here.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    400
    Posts
    17,687

    Hi TEG2TEG

    At the bottom right of your screen click the little arrow beside the speaker and bring up SupremeFX, you should be able to change the bit rate and sample rate in SupremeFX.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Thanks, but I don't appear to have SupremeFX. It doesn't seem to have come with the software/driver bundle I got from the Cenutrion support downloads page.

    Is there another app I should be downloading from somewhere?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Note, I did some searching and saw people saying "Install Sonic Studio 3"... I found that and tried and it said my device is not supported.
    I am NOT using motherboard audio. I have Asus Centrion USB headset, and ASUS PG32UQ monitor. If SupremeFX is just for Asus motherboard audio, I need something different for the Centurion USB device driver, since I have disabled my motherboard Realtek Audio.

    ( FYI, my motherboard is ASUSTeK Prime Z490-P, but I don't think that matters here.)

    I tried putting the ROG Centurion on my Alienware laptop and had the same results with 16bit max.
    Last edited by TEG2TEG; 09-04-2022 at 10:48 PM. Reason: Added more details.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    400
    Posts
    17,687

    My mistake, I thought the ROG Centurion 7.1 used the Realtek audio driver.

    Are you checking here?

    System, Sound, All Audio Devices, Properties

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	usb.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	130.0 KB 
ID:	94914

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    The ASUS ROG Centurion 7.1 USB "base station" identifies as device 0B05:1815 (VID:PID). I think I need a different driver for that device that supports/offers better than 16bit/48Khz.
    Hopefully ASUS didn't put some 16bit interface chip in front of the 32bit DAC.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I seem to have a different view of sound devices in my Windows 10 system properties.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	properties1.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	760.9 KB 
ID:	94917

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I go sound -> (speakers) Device Properties -> Additional device properties -> advanced
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	advanced.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	18.5 KB 
ID:	94918

    This is my working speaker device. I get 7.1 sound out of the headphones. The "Levels" tab gives me access to volume controls for all 7.1 channels.

    The (test) button plays the xylophone jingle in the headset. I am sure I have the right device selected, but it just doesn't offer the bitrates/sample-rates I had expected.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I disabled the AMD HDMI audio in my Radeon card, and disabled my Realtek motherboard audio, so my only audio device is the Centurion USB base station.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	devmgt.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	93.9 KB 
ID:	94919

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I recently flashed the "control box" device with the latest beta driver, but it didn't change the options in the device properties.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	betadriver.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	187.8 KB 
ID:	94920

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •