Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Maximus XI Formula OLED Burn-In

    Hi everyone

    Just a warning to owners of this motherboard or any other ASUS LiveDash product that uses an OLED display, if you leave it on a hardware monitor or any other setting where there is static text, over time it will cause burn-in. I knew this was an issue with larger color OLED displays like TVs for example, but I hadn't realised that really small, basic, black and white OLED displays like this are affected as well.

    I realised today when I finally had a go at uploading my own animated GIF to display on the LiveDash and I can still see the words "CPU Voltage" and the outline of the numbers below as a dark outline on top of the animation. I had been using the CPU voltage readout for around 6 months prior to this. When the system is turned off it runs the standard "FORMULA" animation.

    I find this very annoying and yet another problem with this expensive motherboard. I tried googling the issue and nothing came up specific to ASUS LiveDash displays. So I thought I should post a warning for any owners of LiveDash equipped motherboards and AIOs.

    If anyone form ASUS is reading this it wouldn't hurt to put a warning in either the manual or the LiveDash software stating that static text and images can lead to burn in over time.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array SentineL_VDXi PC Specs
    SentineL_VDXi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Precision M7510
    MotherboardMaximus X Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Domi. Plat. 4x8GB (CMD16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 FTW3 Elite Gaming
    Sound CardSupreme FX S1220a
    MonitorDell S2409W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Storage #22x256GB SSD RAID0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X Mirror Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. Pro X
    Headset Corsair VOID RGB
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor 2
    Headset/Speakers Edifier R451
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 QNAP TS-251+

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    Thanks for the Info! Didn't think about that
    ASUS Products: Maximus X Formula - RT-AC87U/AC88U

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Agreed, My on the Rampage Extreme has the same issue. It is such a shame, Mine has dimed as well, so I just leave it off and use it only for post codes

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Any type of OLED display will have this issue, i don't know why they use them with things that display static images

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by BroPhilip View Post
    Agreed, My on the Rampage Extreme has the same issue. It is such a shame, Mine has dimed as well, so I just leave it off and use it only for post codes
    How do you turn it off and only for POST codes?*

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    101

    IN THE BIOS you can configurate it. "Integrated periphals"

    That said, you can set iut up in Armoury to display as many as 6 values. This way it will change constantly and not bur the OLED

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •