Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello Guys,

    i got the Maximus Extrem XI and put 2 SSD in the Dimm.2 Slot. I got on my GPU only x8 lanes. I think this Slot is usless if there is no chance to get x16 lanes.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Use the dedicated M.2 Slots that use the PCH ...the PCI-E Slots for GPU's are CPU only.....this is outlined within your manual. If you must use the DIMM Slot for your M.2 you will be limited to x8 on your single GPU or x4/x4 on a SLi set up.
    There is negligible difference in noticeable speeds with GPU's running x8 vs x16.....

    So its hardly "useless".....otherwise upgrade to a HEDT system which will provide you with more PCI-E Lanes at a premium price.

    This was already answered in detail within this Thread in Post #2
    Last edited by rjbarker; 01-10-2019 at 06:49 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
    Use the dedicated M.2 Slots that use the PCH ...the PCI-E Slots for GPU's are CPU only.....this is outlined within your manual. If you must use the DIMM Slot for your M.2 you will be limited to x8 on your single GPU or x4/x4 on a SLi set up.
    There is negligible difference in noticeable speeds with GPU's running x8 vs x16.....

    So its hardly "useless".....otherwise upgrade to a HEDT system which will provide you with more PCI-E Lanes at a premium price.

    This was already answered in detail within this Thread in Post #2
    Hello everyone, I take advantage of this discussion because I have the same "problem". I have a maximus xi extreme with 8700K and 2 M2 Samsung 970Pro 512gb. From what I've read here, if I insert two ssd m2 into the DIMM2 adapter, my speed of the pci express slot will go from 16x to 8x, in the case of sli at 4x + 4x right? If instead I insert the two M2 on the motherboard slots, what speed limitations could I have in general? thank you very much to those who will answer me. Francis

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    157

    When i istall only 1 nmve - where ist the best place to install it?

    (except the DIMM2 card).
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    When i istall only 1 nmve - where ist the best place to install it?
    (except the DIMM2 card).
    Under the PCH, so that the NVME is completely covered by the thermal pad. (M.2_1)

    The installation there but made difficult.

    Image:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20190919_0001.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	101.0 KB 
ID:	81974
    (22)

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    157

    Thanks for helping me!

    M.2_1 is the place where i installed the Samsung 1TB 970pro - and you was right - its a little bit tricky to remove the cover ^^
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    Thanks for helping me!

    M.2_1 is the place where i installed the Samsung 1TB 970pro - and you was right - its a little bit tricky to remove the cover ^^
    I'm about to install a 970 Pro 1Tb - so that spot for the Nvme m.2_1 on the bottom right is the best place to put it, not on the DIMM.2 slot if it's only 1 M.2 SSD?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •