Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Using the PCIE 16_3 on a single GPU config

    The motherboard recommends using the first slot available but I would like to use the 3rd slot so I can see the ROG logo in all its glory.
    Since they are both 16 slots I would imagine there would not be performance loss, but since the bios says the 1st slot is ideal, I wanted to know.
    Will I lose performance by using the 16_3 slot?*

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexandre_ma View Post
    The motherboard recommends using the first slot available but I would like to use the 3rd slot so I can see the ROG logo in all its glory.
    Since they are both 16 slots I would imagine there would not be performance loss, but since the bios says the 1st slot is ideal, I wanted to know.
    Will I lose performance by using the 16_3 slot?*
    Hi, there won't be any discernable difference between the two slots. Easy enough to test it if on air.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Rob W. PC Specs
    Rob W. PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Asus Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7980x Oc 4.6ghz 24/7
    Memory (part number)64 gb GSkill 3600mhz (8x8) 15,15,15,35
    Graphics Card #1nvidia Titan V + ekwb custom loop
    Graphics Card #2nvidia RTX 2080Ti on air.
    Sound Cardonboard?
    MonitorIAsus PA329Q 4k 32"
    Storage #1samsung SSD 960 EVO 250 GB. M2 nvme
    Storage #2Samsung ssd 970 evo 500gb m2 nvme
    CPU CoolerEKwb custom loop
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i 1200w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 orion spark
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus core
    OS Win 10
    Network Routerbt infinity super fast.
    Accessory #1 Seagate Barracuda 2 TB HDD
    Accessory #2 Aqeuaro 6xt fan controller
    Accessory #3 Intel Optane 280gb

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    475

    I’ve recently been testing different pcie slots benching my Titan v and only found marginal error of difference between them ( test related difference) on the rampage vi extreme.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array Encryption PC Specs
    Encryption PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD ThreadRipper 1950x @4.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C14-32GTZR @ 3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 GTX SC
    Sound CardSony 1080 DAC
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop with Xspc Block
    Encryption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I can confirm this. I have to use 16_3 for my gpu since my case had limited room for the water pump. Didn't see a difference here with a 1080 gtx.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Your good so long as the slot you plug it in is 16x.*
    The recommendation for top slot is because of the shortest traces.*


    *

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •