Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    z270e + i7-7700k Windows 10 Clean Install - Strange Issues, plz HELP

    Specs:
    z270e
    i7-7700k
    Crucial Ballistix 16gb DDR4-2400
    Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 512gb
    MSI Aero GTX 1080 OC 8gb

    I've been battling with this setup for about 10 days now. Each and every time I try a clean Win10 Pro install, I have really weird, strange issues such as:
    • Nvidia Driver package errors when extracting, 7 zip crc error
    • Games from Steam download erratically, downloads will dl for 10 seconds, then stop for 20, repeat repeat repeat
    • Random downloads will fail
    • Random software installs will fail
    • Microsoft Onedrive will not install period, the installer fails every time


    I have tried multiple builds of Windows 10, all with the same issue. I have swapped each and every component with the exception of the CPU itself and the SSD and have had the exact same issue. When I take the SSD and put it in my laptop, everything works as expected. Windows surprisingly loads up no problem even though its a totally different machine.

    I'm really at a loss, and this is super annoying and is really wearing on me at this point. I've run the Intel CPU diagnostic and it passes. At this point I'm thinking that it must be some setting within the Bios - because two motherboards have done the same thing.

    Any ideas, anyone?

    I have found absolutely zero on google that matches my issue. The closest I found the guy was able to fix it by increasing the CPU voltage?

    Any help is much appreciated!

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,511

    It could be your chosen memory modules or the memory controller on the CPU itself. You could try Memtest86+ or HCI Memtest. HCI recommends opening one instance per core/thread and dividing the total usable memory between them.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    It could be your chosen memory modules or the memory controller on the CPU itself. You could try Memtest86+ or HCI Memtest. HCI recommends opening one instance per core/thread and dividing the total usable memory between them.
    I swapped out the memory at one point for totally different memory, different speed and all. I ran Memtest86+ once for 10+ hours, it came back with zero errors. Haven't tried HCI Memtest though, I'll give that a go tonight if you think it may be of any benefit. Does it sound like a memory issue to you?

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,511

    I know some people swear HCI can find errors Memtest86 doesn't. It's certainly a bit quicker for the same memory size at least.

    I mention it because memory instability can cause all of this. Memory issues can be unpredictable and varied. Doesn't mean that's your problem though. And given you had the same issues with two different kits I'd say much less likely.

    Did your parts swapping include the power supply? Usually a PSU will just fail but if it's got some funky voltages that could cause instability.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I know some people swear HCI can find errors Memtest86 doesn't. It's certainly a bit quicker for the same memory size at least.

    I mention it because memory instability can cause all of this. Memory issues can be unpredictable and varied. Doesn't mean that's your problem though. And given you had the same issues with two different kits I'd say much less likely.

    Did your parts swapping include the power supply? Usually a PSU will just fail but if it's got some funky voltages that could cause instability.
    Yes, I swapped the power supply.

    What’s the best way to test the memory controller on the cpu itself? Thanks!
    *

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,710

    What bios are u using?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    366

    Have you tried using the Samsung NVMe drivers for 970 Evo instead of the Windows version?

    https://www.samsung.com/semiconducto...nsumer/970pro/

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Itzycharles View Post
    What bios are u using?
    The latest from the Asus website - the version number escapes my memory at the moment, but i'm sure it's the latest.

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    Have you tried using the Samsung NVMe drivers for 970 Evo instead of the Windows version?

    https://www.samsung.com/semiconducto...nsumer/970pro/
    Yep, tried it.


    I think I may have a Kaby Lake locked I7 in a machine at work. I could pull it tomorrow and swap that in and see what happens I suppose.

    The mobo/cpu combo was purchased in June - if it does end up being one or the other, how are the warranties from Asus/Intel?


    I'm really at a loss at this point, I feel like I've tried everything. I've had the HCI memtest going for 3 hours now and so far zero errors.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Make sure to check socket pins while you are swapping CPU's

  10. #10
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,511

    June isn't that far back so you'd still be under warranty as long as there is no physical damage. You'd want to make sure you know which component is faulty though.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •