Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ROG Maximus X hero A2 code

    I just finished a build using a new ROG Maximus X Hero WiFi with the following components: - i7 8700 - G skill 32 meg of ram on QVL - ROG Strix GTX 1080ti - Corsaire AIO cooler for GPU - Samsung SSD - Seagate Sata drive *
    I booted up the computer first time and the bios popped up no problem. Configured it all, Then installed windows no problem.
    Took the computer to its final spot in house booted it up no problem then I realized that the seagate drive wasn’t showing so I want to check the bios. Shut off computer then started back up while pressing delete key over and over and got the dreaded A2 error code and black screen. Called Asus and they had me remove all the hard drives and reset CMOS with no luck still had the A2 code and no screen. Then I said let me just try to get back to windows and restarted computer and still got the A2 code.
    They escalated it to higher tech support. I then removed the gpu to access the sata connections which covered them and pluged the two hard drives in different ports and fired the computer back up and it worked, I can see both hard drives and the bios was accessible.
    What I don’t understand, should I wait to see ROG republic of gamers splash then hit the delete key? I notice when trying today if I constant hit the delete key from beginning of start up I get the A2 code. If I wait to see the ROG splash screen where is says hit F2 or delete key I can get into bios.
    Here’s the funky stuff: I shut down the computer and don’t shut down the power supply with switch and leave tv on I can’t get into bios, windows quickly starts up and I don’t see the ROG splash screen allowing me to get into bios. The only way I can get into bios is If the shut down the computer completely and shut off power supply switch and shut down tv. Then turn tv on first wait until I get no signal from tv then power up computer I get the ROG splash screen allowing me to get into bios using the delete key.
    Wacky.
    I heard that the tv being its 4K and so is the gpu is that the tv must be powered up first to accept the “4K hand shake” from the video card. Does this sound right ? I did hear about this in home entertainment equip using 4K stuff.
    Could some of my sata connections on mother board be bad as to cause this first problem with A2 ?
    How do I stop windows from quickly booting up so I can see the ROG splash screen every time, is there a setting in bios to stop windows quick boot up?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kens30 PC Specs
    kens30 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Code
    ProcessorCore i7 8700K 4.7avx 1.210v non-delid
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorSamsung 32inch 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 pro 500gb
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo plus 500gb 850 pro 128gb x2 + WD 8tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i gt
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
    Mouse Logitech G pro
    OS Windows 10 pro 1909
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox One Controller
    kens30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    75

    Sorry to hear you are having problems on your new build i know how frustrating it can be.
    Since some sata ports don't detect your hard drives it would be a good idea to RMA the board.
    In Windows run CMD as admin and type powercfg -h off to stop windows from quickly booting up and in bios disable fast startup.
    EDIT:
    Forgot to mention once you have booted to Windows check your Seagate drive for bad sectors.
    Last edited by kens30; 10-18-2018 at 03:53 AM. Reason: Additional Info

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hi john

    I'd double check your gpu is working since your pc boots with the onboard graphics.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    396

    No great advice except having a MB speaker so you can not only hear trouble beep codes, but a beep when the computer is booting into the BIOS so you know when to hit the delete key.

    Also, doesn't the Hero have a safe boot button to boot directly to the BIOS in safe mode?

    You might have finicky SATA cables. I would try a new cable to the problematic port.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi john

    I'd double check your gpu is working since your pc boots with the onboard graphics.
    I just played some DCS Flight sim and it appears the GPU is working great..it ran the sim in 4K with no problems on my 55” 4K tv. I might chalk it up to a bad Sata port or cable. I really dont want to disassemble the whole computer and RMA it..its working now..just weird how I have to get into bios. It’s the sequence of how i turn it all on so i can get the Republic of Gamers splash screen to get an option to bios..
    CPU run at 40c max and GPU runs at 60c max...i think that’s pretty good ??*

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    No great advice except having a MB speaker so you can not only hear trouble beep codes, but a beep when the computer is booting into the BIOS so you know when to hit the delete key.

    Also, doesn't the Hero have a safe boot button to boot directly to the BIOS in safe mode?

    You might have finicky SATA cables. I would try a new cable to the problematic port.
    I think it was a bad connection or bad Sata cable...runs pretty good now..
    This is my first build and I’m glad i did it vs buying a pre built so i can lean the components *

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Good to hear all is well and congratulations on your first successful build.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •