Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Turning off the onboard LEDs

    Is there a way to turn off the onboard lights On the Rampage 4 Extreme? I don't need them on after my overclock, i like my system nice and dark at night, the glaring Start button is driving me crazy.
    Last edited by Extempt; 02-10-2012 at 05:44 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sir Slappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    35

    There should be an option within the BIOS to turn off the onboard LED's. For my mobo (Crosshair V) it is under the "Advanced" tab. There is an option called "LED Control". Hopefully you find it
    Motherboard- Maximus VII GENE
    CPU- Intel i5-4690K 4.5GHz 1.25Vcore
    CPU Cooler- EK Supremacy (Acetal+ Nickel)
    RAM- 16gb G.Skill 2133MHz 9-11-11-31 1.6V
    GPU- EVGA GTX 780
    SSD- OCZ Vertex 4 256GB
    SSD- Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    PSU- EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G2
    Case- CaseLabs SM5
    OS- Windows 8.1 64bit

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    i found that on my crosshair 4 too but i'm being stupid with my rampage 4 or something.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    592

    There's no LED control on the Rampage IV Extreme, you'll just have to live with the various status LED being on... often they're useful, very informative especially when debugging.
    ASUS ROG RVIE Omega | i9-9980xe | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB x2 | WD Black 6TB | Corsair AX1200i | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  5. #5
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    It would seen that the AMD boards have an LED control in the BIOS but the Intel boards do not....How very strange of Asus or could it be Asus is leaning towards the Intel boards as the Main Sellers and wants to show them off more??? Questions Questions? Is this an indicator that there will be only Intel boards that are ROG in the future? When will the next AMD board come out or will it even? Oh Boy you slapped a Hornets Nest of questions!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    592

    Quote Originally Posted by DaemonCantor View Post
    It would seen that the AMD boards have an LED control in the BIOS but the Intel boards do not....How very strange of Asus or could it be Asus is leaning towards the Intel boards as the Main Sellers and wants to show them off more??? Questions Questions? Is this an indicator that there will be only Intel boards that are ROG in the future? When will the next AMD board come out or will it even? Oh Boy you slapped a Hornets Nest of questions!
    I honestly don't understand they some users want their LED's off!! It's not like they're consuming copious amounts of power, depleting resources etc... Mine however is bright enough to illuminate my entire room and cause photography issues... that's probably due to the fact I added back lighting to the board as the stock was too dim!

    Last edited by UltraNEO*; 02-11-2012 at 05:11 PM.
    ASUS ROG RVIE Omega | i9-9980xe | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB x2 | WD Black 6TB | Corsair AX1200i | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by UltraNEO* View Post
    I honestly don't understand they some users want their LED's off!! It's not like they're consuming copious amounts of power, depleting resources etc... Mine however is bright enough to illuminate my entire room and cause photography issues... that's probably due to the fact I added back lighting to the board as the stock was too dim!

    Color scheme mistake

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I read this as 5 instead of 4, and almost told you the page in the user guide for 5 ( Chapter 3 - page 42 ) where it was listed and made myself look like a dumb ass.

    Wait, did I do it anyway, or........

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Xenocrates PC Specs
    Xenocrates PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula VI
    Processori5 4670
    Memory (part number)CML4GX3M2A1600C9 / F3-8500CL7-4GBRL
    Graphics Card #1PNY GTX 770 4096 MB edition
    CPU CoolerCM Evo Hyper 212
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse R.A.T. 5
    Headset Plantronics Gamecom 780
    OS Windows 7 Professional

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I've got a Formula VI, and I've got LED controls in the BIOS. It may just be the older boards don't have the configuration options, or that some of them had it overlooked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •