Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Ravenbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Maximus IX Code video glitch..

    I have looked this issue up online and in several places people were saying it was an issue with the motherboard. I just wanted to get an more accurate opinion.
    I am running a i7 7700 with 2 Asus Nvidia 1080s, 32MB of RAM and water cooled. All the drivers are up to date as is the BIOS and it is not overclocked. Now that this out of the way. the problem is that it at times freezes videos and even those in cut scenes in games. The video freezes and the sound continues on after about a minute it is back to normal. It does with every browser I use and every game. In games it is in the cutscences not during game play. IS this the MB or drivers or both. I am new to playing with BIOS settings and have left those alone. Anyone got an idea on this? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time in reading this rather long post.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello Ravenbear

    I'm using a single Titan Xp with the Maximus IX Code and all is working fine.

    Alot of times freezing can be ram related, please list your system specs.

    Have you tried at default settings ?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Ravenbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello Ravenbear

    I'm using a single Titan Xp with the Maximus IX Code and all is working fine.

    Alot of times freezing can be ram related, please list your system specs.

    Have you tried at default settings ?
    Yes I am running at default settings..
    Here are my system specs in a more detailed forum..
    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12973100

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Thank you

    I see your ram is running at 3000MHz which is not at default and you have 32GB at 3000MHz, it doesn't list the timings but I'm betting the freezing is ram instability. Your i7-7700k is also overclocked 100MHz.

    Go in the bios, on the Extreme Tweaker tab set:

    Dram voltage - 1.35v
    CPU VCCIO voltage - 1.20v
    CPU System Agent voltage - 1.20v
    CPU Core/Cache voltage - 1.25v

    At the top of Dram Timing Control try Maximus Tweak Mode 1.

    F10 and Enter to save and exit.

    Maximus Tweak Mode 1 - Helps with compatibility
    Maximus Tweak Mode 2 - Helps with overclocking

    How does it go after this ?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Ravenbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Thank you for helping with this.. I have not changed anything with the BIOS I am using GPU Tweak 2 that might be what set them like that.. I will do what you suggest and get back to you.. Thank you. This is a new thing so I do not know what changed..

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Ravenbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you

    I see your ram is running at 3000MHz which is not at default and you have 32GB at 3000MHz, it doesn't list the timings but I'm betting the freezing is ram instability. Your i7-7700k is also overclocked 100MHz.

    Go in the bios, on the Extreme Tweaker tab set:

    Dram voltage - 1.35v
    CPU VCCIO voltage - 1.20v
    CPU System Agent voltage - 1.20v
    CPU Core/Cache voltage - 1.25v

    At the top of Dram Timing Control try Maximus Tweak Mode 1.

    F10 and Enter to save and exit.

    Maximus Tweak Mode 1 - Helps with compatibility
    Maximus Tweak Mode 2 - Helps with overclocking

    How does it go after this ?

    I changed everything but CPU Core/Cache voltage, It would not allow me to change it. So I left it the way I found it in Adaptive mode. Funny thing is that anytime I change a setting in the BIOS it rearranges my BOOT order. Is this normal?

    Things seem stable i will let you know how it goes..

    Thank You
    Last edited by Ravenbear; 10-23-2018 at 07:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    You're welcome

    In adaptive mode, you change the cpu voltage by entering a value in the "Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage Override". On auto your cpu is likely getting overvolted.

    How are games, still freezing at cut scenes ?

    Changing the settings you're setting shouldn't affect the boot order.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Ravenbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Videos and cut scenes both do it. I will go back in and see about changing the CPU Core/Cache voltage, I will say it is doing it less now.. I will get back to you.. Thank you I do know if this will help but this just started, not hardware or bios changes before hand.
    Last edited by Ravenbear; 10-30-2018 at 04:27 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Ravenbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you

    I see your ram is running at 3000MHz which is not at default and you have 32GB at 3000MHz, it doesn't list the timings but I'm betting the freezing is ram instability. Your i7-7700k is also overclocked 100MHz.

    Go in the bios, on the Extreme Tweaker tab set:

    Dram voltage - 1.35v
    CPU VCCIO voltage - 1.20v
    CPU System Agent voltage - 1.20v
    CPU Core/Cache voltage - 1.25v

    At the top of Dram Timing Control try Maximus Tweak Mode 1.

    F10 and Enter to save and exit.

    Maximus Tweak Mode 1 - Helps with compatibility
    Maximus Tweak Mode 2 - Helps with overclocking

    How does it go after this ?

    Ok I have gotten all the changes in place you suggested. So far so good.... But the weird thing is that anytime I change anything in the BIOS it re-sets my boot order.. Any Ideas?

    Thank you again for the effort you are giving me in this issue..

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Good to hear things are better.

    Please list all drives connected to your pc and what type of drives they are, sata, pcie, M.2, USB and what drive the operating system is installed on.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •