Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    There is my old post on similar issue kind of anyway. The NVMe raid option affects every NVMe drive in the system even on PCIe slots. What I found that worked for my issue is to manually install the drives own controller driver, so it doesn't use the AMD NVMe RAID drivers(one of the bottom device) which have "bad performance" on 4kb transfers, then you can remove if from the RAIDExpert(will be offline) if you wan't to, I don't bother anymore (to install raidexpert and the web server it needs) as it doesn't help with smaller performance hit there still is. Not sure if it works same way on the m.2 slots, but they are still PCIe Slots so worth a try, at least I will someday in the future when I get my third m.2 drive.
    Last edited by Wobbler; 11-10-2018 at 04:47 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    How do you know which "bottom device" is the right one? I have 3 listed...

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array GoStepFilmPro PC Specs
    GoStepFilmPro PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme X399
    Processor16-Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X, 3700 MHz (37 x 100)
    Memory (part number)128 GB Corsair CMR64GX4M4C3200C16 8 DIMMS
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON GTX 1080 Ti Platinum
    Sound CardAMD Zen - HD Audio Controller
    Monitor2 x Samsung SyncMaster S27C450, 1 x Samsung SyncMaster T27A550 (Digital)
    Storage #1C drive single NVMe Samsung 960 PRO 2TB ~ 2.5 GByte/s read & ~1.9 GByte/s write
    Storage #2D Drive 2x NVMe Samsung EVO 970 2TB on Asus raiser card in RAID0 ~ 4.3 GByte/s read & ~3.6 GByte/s
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 420
    CaseCORSAIR Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair CP-9020057-EU AX Serie AX1500i ATX/EPS 80 PLUS Titanium 1500Watt
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
    Mouse Evoluent Vertical Mouse 4
    Headset Bose QuietComfort 15
    Headset/Speakers Jabra 150ML
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear 1Gb 8 Ports + IBM Flex System EN6131 40Gb Ethernet Switch - Switch - 32 Ports
    Accessory #1 Wacom Intous Pro Paper Edition L
    Accessory #2 LaCie 5BIG Pro 24TB
    Accessory #3 LaCie 5BIG Network 2 12TB

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    streak1232, any tip how to get NVMe SSD recognized in M.2_1(Slot3)?

    Quote Originally Posted by streak1232 View Post
    That's the problem. I've done exactly that and wanted to add a 3rd nvme drive for fast access to files that I use a lot. In adding the new drive after installation of the OS the Motherboard assumes the new drive is a new array. The only solution I can think of is to take this drive out and initialize it on my second computer tonight. I'll let you know after work.

    If it doesn't work I'm at a loss.
    Hello streak1232,

    I am facing exactly the same issue as you with exactly the same motherboard, CPU. Suddenly it does not recognize the NVMe SSD, if I put that NVM2 SSD on the riser card it works but than I lose the NVMe RAID0 with that riser card. My initial setup what was working was OS on M.2_1(Slot3), see picture, and two additional 970 EVOs on riser card in RAID0, a dream machine, but yet :-(...
    Did you manage to solve your issue? Do you have any tip for me how to get the M.2_1(Slot3) to recognize the NVMe SSD?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	M.2_1(Slot3)NotRecognizingNVMeSSD.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	232.6 KB 
ID:	79925

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •