Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Hero III
    MotherboardASUS Z390 Maximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorI9 9900k @ 4.9 (all core no AVX offset)
    Memory (part number)32 GB Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW (+100 core/+900 mem)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ 27inch 4k HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 pro M.2 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115i
    CaseNZXT Phantom (White) Full ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i 80+ platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series 840 wireless Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen Anvil Areospace 32 inch gaming pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech stereo speakers
    OS Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    Network RouterVerizon Quantum Gateway
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive Pro
    TheOnlyDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Maximus XI hero 390, wifi good but no ethernet.

    So I just finished a new build with the Maximus XI hero and an i7 8086.
    Everything is working good except I can only connect to the internet via the on board wifi. Driver disk installed, ethernet light is on in the back but windows settings only shows Wifi and somthing else about remote access......but no local area connection.
    How do I fix this. Wifi is ok but I prefer wired for gaming.
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Forgive me for asking the obvious question.

    Is your lan cable connected to the router and is the router powered on?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    48

    Maybe it has to do with your LAN drivers not being installed. Have a look at this.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/248827/a...s-installation

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Good find BillBittel thank you.

    I am so used to Win10 simply working with pretty much everything from the get go I did not even think about specific drivers being needed as Windows 10 doesn't support the new Z390 integrated Ethernet controller out of the box.

    Also I have added to your reputation mate valuable contribution you have made.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Good find BillBittel thank you.

    I am so used to Win10 simply working with pretty much everything from the get go I did not even think about specific drivers being needed as Windows 10 doesn't support the new Z390 integrated Ethernet controller out of the box.

    Also I have added to your reputation mate valuable contribution you have made.
    Thanks HiVizMan. I just stumbled across that article yesterday and when I read your post, it kind of jumped out at me. I would not have thought of it either. From your post it sounds like that was the culprit so glad you got it working. Glad to help out.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Hero III
    MotherboardASUS Z390 Maximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorI9 9900k @ 4.9 (all core no AVX offset)
    Memory (part number)32 GB Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW (+100 core/+900 mem)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ 27inch 4k HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 pro M.2 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115i
    CaseNZXT Phantom (White) Full ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i 80+ platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series 840 wireless Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen Anvil Areospace 32 inch gaming pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech stereo speakers
    OS Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    Network RouterVerizon Quantum Gateway
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive Pro
    TheOnlyDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel@Me.com View Post
    Thanks HiVizMan. I just stumbled across that article yesterday and when I read your post, it kind of jumped out at me. I would not have thought of it either. From your post it sounds like that was the culprit so glad you got it working. Glad to help out.
    Dosent the Asus CD it came with install those drivers? I saw the ethernet driver in the liest of install items in the asus software.
    Is there a current fix or must we wait for new drivers?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The driver should be on your CD or simply download via wifi (could not resist)

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...Desk_Download/

    Once installed you should be good to go.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Hero III
    MotherboardASUS Z390 Maximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorI9 9900k @ 4.9 (all core no AVX offset)
    Memory (part number)32 GB Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW (+100 core/+900 mem)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ 27inch 4k HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 pro M.2 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115i
    CaseNZXT Phantom (White) Full ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i 80+ platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series 840 wireless Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen Anvil Areospace 32 inch gaming pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech stereo speakers
    OS Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    Network RouterVerizon Quantum Gateway
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive Pro
    TheOnlyDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    The driver should be on your CD or simply download via wifi (could not resist)

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...Desk_Download/

    Once installed you should be good to go.
    Thank you for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •