Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Maximus X Formula slow boot time

    Hello,

    This post is regarding the system in my signature. To preface my issue, this system has been running solid so far since I built it about 2 months ago. No issues whatsoever knock on wood.

    The one thing that I am curious for someone to explain is the long boot times that I am experiencing. After I press the power button, I watch the OLED display cycle through a series of hexadecimal values in the following order: "CPU" followed by 4 or 5 hex values, then "Memory" followed by about the same number of hex values and then back to "CPU" again with the same series of hex values. Afterwards I see "VGA" show up and then the system shows the ROG splash screen and windows begins to load. (Could this be what is referred to as "memory training" ??)

    I clocked the total amount of time from power button press to Windows 10 login screen to be exactly 26 seconds. Is this a normal boot time for this mobo and system I have? I do have the "Fast Boot" option enabled in UEFI BIOS. If someone can please elaborate I would really appreciate it.

    P.S. by the way, one fact I forgot to mention is that anytime I power on the system after having completely removed AC power from the PSU, the PC absolutely ALWAYS powers on, all lights and fans come on, then immediately shuts off, then powers on and proceeds with the "CPU, MEMORY, CPU" hex code cycle, then boots to windows. I find this pretty strange as this is my 6th gaming PC I've built in my lifetime and have never seen this before.
    Last edited by ExGreyFox; 08-09-2018 at 07:06 PM.

    Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
    G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
    Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
    NZXT Kraken x62 AIO
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
    Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
    Cooler Master HAF X
    HOTAS Warthog | TrackIR 5 | Saitek Pro Combat Pedals
    Heatware


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,462

    That's not slow boot time.
    My Rampage V Edition 10 boot for 30-35 seconds.
    That's normal and yours and mine. I could improve probably on same speed as your optimizing some softwares and shut down some process.
    Are you aware how much is complicated Maximus X Formula than Maximus V Formula example, BIOS, new functions, new OS and priority are performance.
    But now is easier to find culprit if something go wrong with system during boot, and before was much harder.

    Slow boot time is 60-70 seconds.
    That's slow boot time and maybe reason to check what's going on. 20-30-40 seconds is perfectly normal.
    Actually 26 is not bad at all.

    Actually somehow like boards with DDR4 start to boot slower than last chipset and models of DDR3 based motherboards.
    Last edited by Vlada011; 08-09-2018 at 07:28 PM.


  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    On the memory training issue, is your memory set to XMP 3200,1.35v etc. or default 2133?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    On the memory training issue, is your memory set to XMP 3200,1.35v etc. or default 2133?
    I am using the XMP 3200

    Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
    G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
    Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
    NZXT Kraken x62 AIO
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
    Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
    Cooler Master HAF X
    HOTAS Warthog | TrackIR 5 | Saitek Pro Combat Pedals
    Heatware


  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    I might test for memory stability just to be sure it's not the cause of the start up issue 'if there is one'.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    I might test for memory stability just to be sure it's not the cause of the start up issue 'if there is one'.
    Is cycling through CPU and Memory codes at startup an issues however?

    Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
    G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
    Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
    NZXT Kraken x62 AIO
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
    Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
    Cooler Master HAF X
    HOTAS Warthog | TrackIR 5 | Saitek Pro Combat Pedals
    Heatware


  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,787

    Quote Originally Posted by ExGreyFox View Post
    Hello,

    This post is regarding the system in my signature. To preface my issue, this system has been running solid so far since I built it about 2 months ago. No issues whatsoever knock on wood.

    The one thing that I am curious for someone to explain is the long boot times that I am experiencing. After I press the power button, I watch the OLED display cycle through a series of hexadecimal values in the following order: "CPU" followed by 4 or 5 hex values, then "Memory" followed by about the same number of hex values and then back to "CPU" again with the same series of hex values. Afterwards I see "VGA" show up and then the system shows the ROG splash screen and windows begins to load. (Could this be what is referred to as "memory training" ??)

    I clocked the total amount of time from power button press to Windows 10 login screen to be exactly 26 seconds. Is this a normal boot time for this mobo and system I have? I do have the "Fast Boot" option enabled in UEFI BIOS. If someone can please elaborate I would really appreciate it.

    P.S. by the way, one fact I forgot to mention is that anytime I power on the system after having completely removed AC power from the PSU, the PC absolutely ALWAYS powers on, all lights and fans come on, then immediately shuts off, then powers on and proceeds with the "CPU, MEMORY, CPU" hex code cycle, then boots to windows. I find this pretty strange as this is my 6th gaming PC I've built in my lifetime and have never seen this before.
    Completely normal for the mobo to shutdown then startup after power has been removed from the board.

    I'm sitting at around 10 seconds, sometime slightly less on startup. Was about the same with my 6700K build. Not sure why a fair number of people are experiencing slow boot times.

    Did you do an UEFI Windows installation?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Completely normal for the mobo to shutdown then startup after power has been removed from the board.

    I'm sitting at around 10 seconds, sometime slightly less on startup. Was about the same with my 6700K build. Not sure why a fair number of people are experiencing slow boot times.

    Did you do an UEFI Windows installation?
    I believe I installed it the UEFI way. Basically I just popped in a USB drive with Windows 10 on it and booted from it and installed windows.

    Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
    G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
    Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
    NZXT Kraken x62 AIO
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
    SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
    Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
    Cooler Master HAF X
    HOTAS Warthog | TrackIR 5 | Saitek Pro Combat Pedals
    Heatware


  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,787

    Quote Originally Posted by ExGreyFox View Post
    I believe I installed it the UEFI way. Basically I just popped in a USB drive with Windows 10 on it and booted from it and installed windows.
    You would have to boot from the UEFI drive within the bios to do a UEFI installation of Windows.

    You can verify under disk management, the C drive would have one of three partitions called "EFI system partition".

    UEFI installation is probably the best way to reduce Windows boot time.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    Quote Originally Posted by ExGreyFox View Post
    Is cycling through CPU and Memory codes at startup an issues however?
    It's supposed to cycle through the codes but it seems to be going through the process twice for some reason.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •