Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Hero III
    MotherboardASUS Z390 Maximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorI9 9900k @ 4.9 (all core no AVX offset)
    Memory (part number)32 GB Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW (+100 core/+900 mem)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ 27inch 4k HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 pro M.2 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115i
    CaseNZXT Phantom (White) Full ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i 80+ platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series 840 wireless Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen Anvil Areospace 32 inch gaming pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech stereo speakers
    OS Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    Network RouterVerizon Quantum Gateway
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive Pro
    TheOnlyDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    CPU frequency/ voltage drops no matter what I do.

    So here are my specs for starters:
    ASUS z390 Maximus XI Hero ( WiFI)
    i7 8086
    EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    32 GB Corsair vengence DDR4 @ 3200
    Corsair H115i pro RGB
    Samsung 960 pro M.2 2TB
    Corsair AX 1500i PSU
    NZXT Phantom ATX full tower

    Just built this a few days ago, started with this OC tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOXH2YIMi2Y&t=2527s
    I followed this tutorial to the letter in UEFI. The host never turns off speed step or any of the C values. when he tests his OC CPU Z always maintains the voltage and frequency during load.
    I set mine initally to 5 ghz, 1.3core v (manual). After boot and at idle , CPUz shows 5000mhx and 1.3v. However once I load P95 or Realbench within minutes the vcore drops from 1.3 to 1.28, then to 1.25...etc. followed by frequencies dropping from 5000mhz to 4.8 then 4.4 bottoming out around 3.8. (30 minute Realbench). Temps never get beyond 80-85c even for the minute or two the OC remains at set voltage and frequency.
    I've tried adaptive voltage, manual voltage, turning off speed step and all the other ones in that list of 5 or 6. I've tried the predefined OC profiles in Bios........nothing will give me a steady Voltage/Frequency during stress tests.
    Dont know what else to do.
    Last edited by TheOnlyDoor; 10-27-2018 at 10:48 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,406

    Kind of sounds like heat is throttling the OC somewhere...

    Is your cooling working as it should? is one of the pipes from the cooler warm...VRM temps OK?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    Have you maxed out the power limits? What do you have set for LLC?

    Run ThrottleStop and see if the "Reasons" light up red or yellow. Or, use XTU benchmark and see if the Power Limit or Current Limit bar turns yellow in the monitoring area.
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Throttling is happening by the sound of it. What airflow do you have over your VRMs? Place a directional fan at the VRMs and see if that makes a difference. With AIO water cooling there is very little airflow over the other components and heat is not your friend. Stuff is designed to protect your system from real harm. Which is what I am suspecting happened here. But I would need to see your complete BIOS to have a more clear picture.

    What changes did you make to your bios?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Hero III
    MotherboardASUS Z390 Maximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorI9 9900k @ 4.9 (all core no AVX offset)
    Memory (part number)32 GB Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW (+100 core/+900 mem)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ 27inch 4k HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 pro M.2 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115i
    CaseNZXT Phantom (White) Full ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i 80+ platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series 840 wireless Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen Anvil Areospace 32 inch gaming pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech stereo speakers
    OS Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    Network RouterVerizon Quantum Gateway
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive Pro
    TheOnlyDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Throttling is happening by the sound of it. What airflow do you have over your VRMs? Place a directional fan at the VRMs and see if that makes a difference. With AIO water cooling there is very little airflow over the other components and heat is not your friend. Stuff is designed to protect your system from real harm. Which is what I am suspecting happened here. But I would need to see your complete BIOS to have a more clear picture.

    What changes did you make to your bios?
    So.....um......turns out one of the Rad fans was unplugged from the splitter.��
    Temps are stable and the frequency remains set.....I still see my voltage drop from 1.34 to 1.26 during Prime 95load which of course cuases it to spit errors.
    All I set Bios to was all core 50, XMP 2, manual voltage 1.345.
    Everything else in bios is default.
    Bios version is current 0506.
    Isnt manual voltage fixed? P95 hits 100-103c about 1 minute into small fft....but that shouldnt cause a voltage drop right?
    Last edited by TheOnlyDoor; 10-28-2018 at 01:57 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Cheers for the response mate. Trust me when I say it happens to all of us, Hell I have run my system with the cooler fan header off and pulled my hair out trying to figure out why temps had shot up...

    Set LLC to 6 and adjust your power plan in OS to performance.

    VDroop is not a bad thing by the way it is a design feature built into CPU's by Intel and does important work.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    TheOnlyDoor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Strix Hero III
    MotherboardASUS Z390 Maximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorI9 9900k @ 4.9 (all core no AVX offset)
    Memory (part number)32 GB Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW (+100 core/+900 mem)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ 27inch 4k HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 pro M.2 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115i
    CaseNZXT Phantom (White) Full ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i 80+ platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series 840 wireless Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Star Citizen Anvil Areospace 32 inch gaming pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech stereo speakers
    OS Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    Network RouterVerizon Quantum Gateway
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive Pro
    TheOnlyDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Cheers for the response mate. Trust me when I say it happens to all of us, Hell I have run my system with the cooler fan header off and pulled my hair out trying to figure out why temps had shot up...

    Set LLC to 6 and adjust your power plan in OS to performance.

    VDroop is not a bad thing by the way it is a design feature built into CPU's by Intel and does important work.
    Load line is set to 7 by default ( AI optomized). I still dont understand this insane mess. I have the Vcore set to 1.314 Manual ( No adaptive).
    At idle at desktop CPUZ shows Vcore @ 1.314 solid ( just like I set in Bios) ( bios recommends 1.28v for AVX stability @ 5ghz).
    The moment I hit small FFT I get errors before temps even hit 70c and sure enough CPUz shows Vcore not at 1.314 but 1.277. So in order to get 1.314 at load I have to set my Vcore to like 1.36 or 1.38 so Im actually drawing over 1.29 volts....however temps get well into the 100's then.
    How do I get my Vcore to just sit where I tell it to during load???

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Start again mate.

    Wipe that first effort away and start afresh. F5 yes and save.

    Then at defaults boot to Windows and change your power plan to performance. If you have been using any OC software in OS tell me, and or remove it.

    Then start with small steps.

    In BIOS manually set LLC6
    Manually set sync all cores and select your target multi
    Same again with the vcore set to manual at enter what your CPU is happy with.

    Leave it at that for now. F10 to save and exit.

    Run Realbench please and only have one application open at a time that is polling the different sensors of the motherboard and CPU. Lets nail this OC yeah?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •