Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Angry Z390-E and 9700K will not boot with Nvidia GPU installed (2070 or 1070)

    I'm putting together a new build with the Z390-E motherboard running a i7 9700k CPU. Everything was up and running yesterday using the built in graphics. When I installed a RTX 2070 it would no longer boot. Just a hang up with the GPU LED on and no boot into the bios. After testing all 3 other PCI-E slots, I had the same results. I reverted to the built in graphics and updated the MB bios from the default 0224 (8/14/18) to the latest version available 0506 (9/20/18). Still didn't have any luck getting the 2070 to work.

    I took everything apart and returned the MB and 2070 today. I picked up a 2nd Z390-e and a different 2070 card. Rebuilt everything. No issue booting up and updating the bios using the built in Intel graphics. As soon as I installed the new 2070, same exact boot error issue.

    I then picked up a brand new 1070 and installed that to see if the issue with related to the 2070. Nope. Same issue.

    Huge waste of time and I have no idea what could be going on besides an issue with Asus coming to the market too quickly with this series of motherboards.

    I did a quick search and didn't see anyone else reporting issues. Can anyone confirm that they are running the Z390 board with GPU functioning correctly?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Please list all your specs, case, power supply, I would guess either the Vid card is not seated completely or power supply is multi rail and not supplying enough power, you could try it out of the case on the box the motherboard came in to verify it isn't the case preventing seating of your GPU's

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Please list all your specs, case, power supply, I would guess either the Vid card is not seated completely or power supply is multi rail and not supplying enough power, you could try it out of the case on the box the motherboard came in to verify it isn't the case preventing seating of your GPU's
    Build details listed below. The GPU looks seated and it has been removed and reinstalled in all PCI lanes during initial trouble shooting. I would love to avoid the hassle of removing everything from the case considering I already rebuilt this rig twice within the last 24 hours. I wonder if the M.2 drives are causing some type of issue with the primary x16 PCI-e lane I want to use for the GPU?

    Motherboard (two tested with same issue): ROG Strix Z390-E
    i7-9700k

    GPU's tried:
    Asus RTX 2070 OC
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    EVGA 1070 OC
    64GB Gskill DDR 3200

    Using both M.2 slots:
    M.2 500gb Samsung Evo in slot 1 for Windows 10. 512gb Inland M.2 in slot 2 (bottom)

    Case: Antec P100

    PS: EVGA 850 G3 SuperNova
    Cooling: H100i Pro
    Last edited by timelapse; 10-29-2018 at 12:23 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by timelapse View Post
    I'm putting together a new build with the Z390-E motherboard running a i7 9700k CPU. Everything was up and running yesterday using the built in graphics. When I installed a RTX 2070 it would no longer boot. Just a hang up with the GPU LED on and no boot into the bios. After testing all 3 other PCI-E slots, I had the same results. I reverted to the built in graphics and updated the MB bios from the default 0224 (8/14/18) to the latest version available 0506 (9/20/18). Still didn't have any luck getting the 2070 to work.

    I took everything apart and returned the MB and 2070 today. I picked up a 2nd Z390-e and a different 2070 card. Rebuilt everything. No issue booting up and updating the bios using the built in Intel graphics. As soon as I installed the new 2070, same exact boot error issue.

    I then picked up a brand new 1070 and installed that to see if the issue with related to the 2070. Nope. Same issue.

    Huge waste of time and I have no idea what could be going on besides an issue with Asus coming to the market too quickly with this series of motherboards.

    I did a quick search and didn't see anyone else reporting issues. Can anyone confirm that they are running the Z390 board with GPU functioning correctly?

    Thanks in advance.
    2 motherboards and 2 different series cards resulting with the same issue ??....not the motherboard nor cards....
    Could be what Menthol has stated above or...try setting the card as main graphics within the bios and set @ Gen 3...worth trying as the graphics card should disable the onboard graphics automatically once installed.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I should also note that when trouble shooting I have attempted a few ways to power the GPU from the 850 G3. I have used two separate feeds to the GPU and also the standard single feed with splitter. With both approaches, the GPU is powered on and looks healthy. LEDs and fans running as normal on all 3 GPUs.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    2 motherboards and 2 different series cards resulting with the same issue ??....not the motherboard nor cards....
    Could be what Menthol has stated above or...try setting the card as main graphics within the bios and set @ Gen 3...worth trying as the graphics card should disable the onboard graphics automatically once installed.
    With all the variables (two motherboards, etc) and the same issue it could also reveal a bigger issue on the ASUS side since this is a brand new product, no?

    I'll take a look at the bios setting you mention now and report back. Thanks.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Update 1:

    After the first few replies, I continued to tinker with the NVIDIA GPU's. I got the 1070 to work briefly. Pulled it out and installed the 2070. Same issue started occurring again. Eventually, I was able to boot with the 2070 installed but nothing plugged into it. Once in Windows (using the Intel graphics) I noticed the device manager showed an unknown PCI card. Very bizarre. I removed and reinstalled again taking note of exactly how the card was sitting and how it slightly shifts as it is bolted into the case. No luck, boot error again. Did this a handful more times before giving up.

    Update 2:
    Set Secure boot to Windows UEFI mode as suggested by MoKiChU. No luck following that change. I also cannot get the 1070 to boot again either. Something odd is going on here. I have built enough computers to feel confident, but this is starting to be a huge waste of time. *Sigh*
    Last edited by timelapse; 10-28-2018 at 11:37 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    is that a fresh install of windows or an installation ported from a different rig/motherboard, or the earlier ram'd motherboard? If yes - do a fresh install. Othewrwise, I agree with phillyflyer (naturally ) two boards and two cards show the same problem, ot is very unlikely it is either card or the board(s). Ram, CPU, PSU are all common between the rigs...

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Timelapse....I'm wondering if the cards are seating properly in the pcie slot since the 1070 got up and running...
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Take the board out of the chassis, set it up on a non-conductive surface, and then check if the graphics card works correctly.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •