Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array dante`afk PC Specs
    dante`afk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero XI Z390
    Processor9900k @ 5.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB g.skill tridentZ RGB 4266
    Graphics Card #1FE 2080Ti 2160/8000 @ Bitspower block
    Sound Cardasus xonar dx 7.1
    MonitorASUS ROG PG279Q Gsync @ 165hz - 2x Qnix2710 @ 120hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB PCIe NVMe Samsung 960 EVO 512GB PCIe NVMe
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB - WD caviar black 3x 4tb
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller IV, 2x Mo-Ra3 420, 8x NF A20
    CaseLian Li-O11
    Power Supplycorsair ax1200i
    Keyboard Masterkey Pro L
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
    Headset Beyerdynamics DT 990pro
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito
    Headset/Speakers klipsch promedia 2.1
    OS W10 x64pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N56U
    Accessory #1 PS4 Pro, Xbone S, KS8000 65" 4k SUHD
    Accessory #2 HTC Vive, S, maxnomic classic office
    Accessory #3 MBP 2018 Touch, Nikon D3100, OnePlus 6T

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Cannot run G.SKILL TridentZ F4-4266C19D-16GTZR on Asus Maximus Hero XI

    The board is specified for 4400+ OC. I cannot run the ram even on it's own specifications. XMP 1 and XMP 2 do not work. I can run it at 3600 but nothing above, it's stuck in a boot loop - reboots a couple of times and then it boots with safe mode settings DDR4-2066.

    The sticks are in slots A2 and B2. SA/IO pumped up to 1.35 and DRAM voltage up to 1.5v - no difference.

    Any suggestions?
    Last edited by dante`afk; 10-30-2018 at 06:31 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Hello mate would you do me a favour and tell me what BIOS you are running.

    Reset your bios to defaults. F5 and enter.

    Then could you try the following for me.

    Remove one stick of ram. Attempt to set XMP profile with only one stick populating the ram slots. If successful, power down and add the other stick.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by dante`afk View Post
    The board is specified for 4400+ OC. I cannot run the ram even on it's own specifications. XMP 1 and XMP 2 do not work. I can run it at 3600 but nothing above, it's stuck in a boot loop - reboots a couple of times and then it boots with safe mode settings DDR4-2066.

    The sticks are in slots A2 and B2. SA/IO pumped up to 1.35 and DRAM voltage up to 1.5v - no difference.

    Any suggestions?
    Perhaps the RAM speed your after is the upper end of scale? It may need some manual tweaks due to IMC of CPU not being of "best silicon lottery roll"? As may have been used by RAM/Motherboard manufacturer; to determine their marketed equipment does do those speeds.

    All the RAM speeds underlined in red are overclock speeds.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	M11H.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	98.8 KB 
ID:	76706

    Regardless of motherboard/RAM used, the CPU manufacturer are not guaranteeing each and every CPU will reach that RAM MHz.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @ 5.3 GHz 1.38V
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS 88U

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    The issue appears to be that you are using a non approved memory kit with your motherboard. F4-4266C19D-16GTZR is not listed on the Qualified Vendor List (QVL) for the XI Hero.

    Neither ASUS or G.Skill lists each other as being compatible with either product.

    G.Skill only lists the XI Genie as being compatible with the F4-4266C19D-16GTZR kit. https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-4266c19d-16gtzr(look under QVL

    ASUS does not list any two stick memory kit for 4226 MHz speeds (which is interesting because normally 4 sticks is more demanding?). To see their approved memory kits, go here.https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V2_WEB.pdf

    Just because they say the board supports up to 4400MHz does not mean that it supports all memory kits. Only approved memory kits are supported up to that speed. The more demanding the memory, the closer you need to stick to only using QVL memory kits.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    I don't believe it is "QVL" issue. Personally I have found instances where you can say find RAM on mobo manufacturers QVL, but not on RAM manufacturers QVL. So which is right? It also seems after xyz company publishes QVL they rarely do updates.

    Then some manufacturers of RAM can go about changing RAM ICs, sticking to same model/product number and the RAM IC could be one which is not favourable to the "setup".

    Plenty of times also seen people buy items on QVL and not gain what they thought they would. So more so the problem is CPU IMC not being capable. End users expect max frequency to be "plug an play" as they bought x to use with y.

    Best bet is OP find out what RAM IC is on kit, mostly likely is Samsung B die. Which is a favourable IC to have. Spend a bit of time tinkering to eek the best from his HW.
    Last edited by gupsterg; 10-30-2018 at 07:00 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array dante`afk PC Specs
    dante`afk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero XI Z390
    Processor9900k @ 5.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB g.skill tridentZ RGB 4266
    Graphics Card #1FE 2080Ti 2160/8000 @ Bitspower block
    Sound Cardasus xonar dx 7.1
    MonitorASUS ROG PG279Q Gsync @ 165hz - 2x Qnix2710 @ 120hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB PCIe NVMe Samsung 960 EVO 512GB PCIe NVMe
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB - WD caviar black 3x 4tb
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller IV, 2x Mo-Ra3 420, 8x NF A20
    CaseLian Li-O11
    Power Supplycorsair ax1200i
    Keyboard Masterkey Pro L
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
    Headset Beyerdynamics DT 990pro
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito
    Headset/Speakers klipsch promedia 2.1
    OS W10 x64pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N56U
    Accessory #1 PS4 Pro, Xbone S, KS8000 65" 4k SUHD
    Accessory #2 HTC Vive, S, maxnomic classic office
    Accessory #3 MBP 2018 Touch, Nikon D3100, OnePlus 6T

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Thanks for the replies. I'm running bios 0506 and these are samsung B-Dies.

    Indeed this kit is not on the approved QVL list, but as gupsterg said above, I had plenty of board were kits that were not on the list would run.

    @Raja any chance a bios update would fix this?

    I mean I can't even run 3600 as stated above, which is not a high frequency.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by dante`afk View Post
    Thanks for the replies. I'm running bios 0506 and these are samsung B-Dies.

    Indeed this kit is not on the approved QVL list, but as gupsterg said above, I had plenty of board were kits that were not on the list would run.

    @Raja any chance a bios update would fix this?

    I mean I can't even run 3600 as stated above, which is not a high frequency.

    What other forum members are starting has validity....if both the motherboard and memory manufacture have difference as to QVL...safe bet is to purchase memory that is QVL from both as to not encounter any issues....please keep in mind that DDR 4 is not as forgiving as DDR 3 was.
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 10-30-2018 at 10:47 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Dante do you have other sticks of ram that you could test the IMC of your CPU out with please.

    I don't think the QVL makes any real difference at the end of the day. I have used ram for benching on motherboards that were not even produced when the ram was manufactured and it has worked perfectly. QVL merely tells us which sticks have been specifically tested on that motherboard. It is imposible for vendors to test all ram on all motherboards.

    IMC however is something we CAN NOT legislate for sadly.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    367

    Best you can do with that board using a 2x8 kit- GSkill RGB is 4133Mhz latency 17's. https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-4133c17d-16gtzr
    No body ever checks the QVL but's it's right there. GSkill has already done the testing for you.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array dante`afk PC Specs
    dante`afk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero XI Z390
    Processor9900k @ 5.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB g.skill tridentZ RGB 4266
    Graphics Card #1FE 2080Ti 2160/8000 @ Bitspower block
    Sound Cardasus xonar dx 7.1
    MonitorASUS ROG PG279Q Gsync @ 165hz - 2x Qnix2710 @ 120hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB PCIe NVMe Samsung 960 EVO 512GB PCIe NVMe
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB - WD caviar black 3x 4tb
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller IV, 2x Mo-Ra3 420, 8x NF A20
    CaseLian Li-O11
    Power Supplycorsair ax1200i
    Keyboard Masterkey Pro L
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
    Headset Beyerdynamics DT 990pro
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito
    Headset/Speakers klipsch promedia 2.1
    OS W10 x64pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N56U
    Accessory #1 PS4 Pro, Xbone S, KS8000 65" 4k SUHD
    Accessory #2 HTC Vive, S, maxnomic classic office
    Accessory #3 MBP 2018 Touch, Nikon D3100, OnePlus 6T

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    hmpf nope dont' have another kit...need to buy I guess....but could a bios update not address that?
    Last edited by dante`afk; 10-31-2018 at 05:37 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •