Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    11

    Question PG279Q makes lines when G-sync is enabled

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ozYQeMK.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	151.2 KB 
ID:	76537

    Circled for better clarity
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	E5Lf7CR.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	103.1 KB 
ID:	76538

    (screen grab from )

    would really appreciate if ASUS tell me if this is normal or not

    making a new thread because after 17 days , and no replies unsure if what i typed makes no sense or these forums are dead (and i don't know how to delete the old thread

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    Hi spamophobia3

    Not many people cruising the monitors section maybe...

    Does this happen at any other time except on that game. I mean, my first thought would be some game glitch/driver issue with that game rather than the monitor.

    Have you tried enough combos to say for sure it's the monitor and not settings I guess I'm asking...

    I looked at your other thread and it's hard to say about the brightness issue since a decent camera can exaggerate that so much more than normal viewing...

    Having said that my screen gives me no visual discomfort, ever, so if you are bothered maybe try returning the monitor before the return period runs out...you have to be happy with it at the end of the day and they aren't cheap.
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 10-26-2018 at 07:08 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hi spamophobia3

    Not many people cruising the monitors section maybe...

    Does this happen at any other time except on that game. I mean, my first thought would be some game glitch/driver issue with that game rather than the monitor.

    Have you tried enough combos to say for sure it's the monitor and not settings I guess I'm asking...

    I looked at your other thread and it's hard to say about the brightness issue since a decent camera can exaggerate that so much more than normal viewing...

    Having said that my screen gives me no visual discomfort, ever, so if you are bothered maybe try returning the monitor before the return period runs out...you have to be happy with it at the end of the day and they aren't cheap.

    i bought a 3 year warranty but i got the monitor back in april 2018

    it happens in every game to lesser extents, usually when pausing unpausing this game i was playing is the worst of it though and it appears every 5-10 seconds

    the only thing that seems to work is turning off G-sync but thats kinda what i bought the monitor for...

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    Roger that...G-Sync is what you pay for...

    Any joy if you run 120Hz?

    What GPU are you running...have you tried uninstalling the driver with something like DDU and doing a fresh driver install?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Roger that...G-Sync is what you pay for...

    Any joy if you run 120Hz?

    What GPU are you running...have you tried uninstalling the driver with something like DDU and doing a fresh driver install?

    i have a nvidia 1080Ti and have tried lowering the refresh rate from 144hz to 60 but still get the lines Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BSb3RrJ.png 
Views:	29 
Size:	22.3 KB 
ID:	76564

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    11

    so i talked to an asus rep via live chat

    they told me to try resetting my monitor and the steps on how to do it

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FXsc0oy.png 
Views:	23 
Size:	3.1 KB 
ID:	76766
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	K30oCu8.png 
Views:	23 
Size:	9.8 KB 
ID:	76767



    any way

    as far as i can tell after restting the monitor, my horizontal lines issue seems to be fixed

    but im still gonan be looking for it incase it ocmes back


    (posting my solution so incase say 2025 some one has this issue (or i get the same issue_ and is like was it ever solved where there is an answer)

  7. #7
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    Quote Originally Posted by spamophobia3 View Post
    my horizontal lines issue seems to be fixed


    posting my solution so in case say 2025 some one has this issue (or i get the same issue_ and is like was it ever solved where there is an answer)
    Fingers crossed it's fixed....good on you for posting back solution...it will surely help someone else one day.


  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Fingers crossed it's fixed....good on you for posting back solution...it will surely help someone else one day.



    unfortunately i was wrong, issue isnt solved, just made it happen less :/

    im not even sure if the reset is even tied to the issue at all anymore and i just got lucky (or unlucky rather) that it didn't continue for a bit after doing a reset

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    Have you tried using DDU in safe mode and installing fresh driver?

    Do you have G-Force experience installed? If so maybe try getting rid of it and just using the driver and PhysX from the custom install option?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    11

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Have you tried using DDU in safe mode and installing fresh driver?

    Do you have G-Force experience installed? If so maybe try getting rid of it and just using the driver and PhysX from the custom install option?


    what is ??

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •