Page 16 of 36 FirstFirst ... 6 14 15 16 17 18 26 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 354

Thread: Deleted

  1. #151
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Yup! Kinda nuts but raising the dram voltage a hair was all that was needed to run the rated set at 4266! Not the vccio voltage!

    No more your ram was reset at post and being kicked back to the desktop out of nowhere in bf5!

    Strange though that with 4.1v for dram voltage.. under load it jumps to 4.35v :/. Guess I'll have to try 4.050v.

    Happy!

    Now to try for 5.3ghz on my 9900k again.

  2. #152
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by M2k1980 View Post
    maybe my post wasnt clear. i have problems with dram voltage, not with vccio or system management voltage, these both i have lowered to 1.15V and 1.10. it made no difference for the stability, with these voltages i had only enable mrc fast boot, or boot up time is very slow.
    when i build my system and tested with with the voltages of my dram (g.skill 3600mhz cl15), vccio and system management was on auto ( asus set it to 1.4~V) - at this time i tested with games and got crashes of bf5 and bo4. then i set more dram voltage for testing in 0.005 steps. and now i am at 1.365V and games seems to stop crashing.
    the reason why i have tested to rise up the dram voltage was, 1.35V was set but the bios shows only 1.34V.
    and now with 1.365V , XMP1 and mode 2 i can use command rate N1 instead of 2 - so i got a little more boost.

    but the question is now, why need g-skill Ram more dram voltage as saved in their xmp profile - board bad? bios bad? or ram bad?


    @Itzycharles
    as i said its now cooler with 5ghz, is correct, but with latest bios has now same performance with 5ghz compared to bios 0805 with 4.9ghz.
    would you say this is in improvement?
    i think its not. same performance on 4.9ghz and less heat, this would be an improvement, for my opinion

    I've read nothing but people saying the CPU needs more vccio for the internal memory controller for over 4000mhz. 1.31-1.34v. That wasn't helping so I figured my CPU's IMC sucked and could not do above 4000mhz since I'm using 4 dimms.

    It wasn't because of a weak IMC or not enough VCCIO voltage.

    Also the ram was set for its rated 1.4v actually showed 1.414 in the bios.

    Since you mentioned being kicked to desktop in BF5 and raising the dram voltage fixed that I figured that was the same issue I had and rising the dram voltage was the fix. So this board must not supply enough voltage or something to the ram.

    I did not put a probe on the board to test the dram voltage. Next time I open the case up I'll test it.. just a pain needing to remove 2 glass panels.

  3. #153
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Yup.. tried lowering the dram voltage to 1.4050v and it runs at 1.414v and instant freeze on realbench stress test 16gb ram.

    Change it back to 1.41v and it runs 1.432v on load.. all is fine. Hopefully that voltage is fine.

  4. #154
    ROG Member Array M2k1980 PC Specs
    M2k1980 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI (WiFi)
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C15-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1GeForce® GTX 980 Ti AMP! Extreme
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX G6 7.1 HD
    MonitorBenQ GL2760H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design Meshify S2
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Gold 1000W
    Keyboard QPAD MK-90
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Sphex V2
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterUbiquiti Unfi Security Gateway
    M2k1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Itzycharles View Post
    ok did you add the MEupdate? if you not do not do it for the test since i can not be remove
    i did the me update that was listed for my board since 0803, since then there is no newer one.
    are me updates included in bios updates too? do i need to update evertime if i update my bios?
    the support site is just a little confusing, if 0803 comes out they listet this version 12.0.22.1310 and now after the latest bios, there is same version listed again but with newer post date. so is it now the same me update or is there a difference, because version number is the same as before.

    i am actually not sure if i should stay on 0905, because now i am using 5ghz to get the same performance like on 0805 with 4.9ghz

  5. #155
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pennyboy PC Specs
    pennyboy PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb Trident Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA XC Ultra GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Supreme FX Onboard
    MonitorASUS PG278Q Swift 27" GSYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1 tb
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 500 gb
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster 360ML RGB
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200 AXi
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Chroma
    Mouse Pad Razer Scarab - Battlefield 3 theme
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-680
    OS Windows 10 x64 1809
    pennyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    173

    Updated last night, held my breath LOL. Went from the first BIOS release to 0905, so far so good.

  6. #156
    ROG Member Array Selynelar PC Specs
    Selynelar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS XI HERO
    ProcessorI7 8700K
    Memory (part number)HYPERX 2*8GB 2666MHZ
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 TI GAMING X
    MonitorASUS PG258Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 NVME
    Storage #2WDC WD2003FZEX-00SRLA0
    CPU CoolerBE QUIET! DARK ROCK 4
    CaseBE QUIET PURE BASE 600
    Power SupplyBE QUIET STRAIGHT POWER 10 800W
    Keyboard ASUS CERBERUS MKII
    Mouse LOGITECH G502 PROTEUS SPECTRUM
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK EDGE
    OS WINDOWS 10 64BIT(1809 VERSION)
    Network RouterTP-LINK ARCHER C8

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Updated bios today(0905). The temperature of my I7 8700K and Maximus XI hero jumped up like 10 degrees. Rolled back 0602 is everything is just fine. Running now on 35-45 without stressing. With stressing goes up 71-75.

    From my side still 0602 is the most stable bios.

    Just FYI.

    REGARDS,
    SELYNELAR

  7. #157
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    139

    Quote Originally Posted by Selynelar View Post
    Updated bios today(0905). The temperature of my I7 8700K and Maximus XI hero jumped up like 10 degrees. Rolled back 0602 is everything is just fine. Running now on 35-45 without stressing. With stressing goes up 71-75.

    From my side still 0602 is the most stable bios.

    Just FYI.

    REGARDS,
    SELYNELAR
    It does appear that Bios 0602 is more suited to 8700K which has a uCode of 96Ah everything after that version the change in uCode seems to slow everything down, I loose 30fps with 0905 in Cinebench. So unless we upgrade to the 9 series (can't see the point) it looks like we are stuck with 0602.

    Don't forget that all these Bios update are geared for the 9 series, 8's old hat.

  8. #158
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    0905 on Maximus XI Formula all good. Never had any other bios to try as I flashvbacked to 0905 before booting into bios the first time. It is a new build and breadboarded it this past weekend with a coolermaster air cooler itll I get the system in the case and finish the loop. 32 to 35c without stressing. Realbench 70c no issues. First board I have had that I can actually hit xmp and it has no issues with memory. Set memory manually afterwards. Played a few games on it and no issues at all
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  9. #159
    ROG Member Array Selynelar PC Specs
    Selynelar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS XI HERO
    ProcessorI7 8700K
    Memory (part number)HYPERX 2*8GB 2666MHZ
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 TI GAMING X
    MonitorASUS PG258Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 NVME
    Storage #2WDC WD2003FZEX-00SRLA0
    CPU CoolerBE QUIET! DARK ROCK 4
    CaseBE QUIET PURE BASE 600
    Power SupplyBE QUIET STRAIGHT POWER 10 800W
    Keyboard ASUS CERBERUS MKII
    Mouse LOGITECH G502 PROTEUS SPECTRUM
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK EDGE
    OS WINDOWS 10 64BIT(1809 VERSION)
    Network RouterTP-LINK ARCHER C8

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    It does appear that Bios 0602 is more suited to 8700K which has a uCode of 96Ah everything after that version the change in uCode seems to slow everything down, I loose 30fps with 0905 in Cinebench. So unless we upgrade to the 9 series (can't see the point) it looks like we are stuck with 0602.

    Don't forget that all these Bios update are geared for the 9 series, 8's old hat.
    Yes it is true. Looks like from now on for us it is not necessary to update the bios even that the new ones mess up our config. So I stay from now on 0602. Anyway i will follow up this thread if anyone will confirm a newer bios will work for us also properly. But as use to say: "WHAT IS NOT BROKEN DONT FIX IT".

  10. #160
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,757

    Quote Originally Posted by drop4205 View Post
    0905 on Maximus XI Formula all good. Never had any other bios to try as I flashvbacked to 0905 before booting into bios the first time. It is a new build and breadboarded it this past weekend with a coolermaster air cooler itll I get the system in the case and finish the loop. 32 to 35c without stressing. Realbench 70c no issues. First board I have had that I can actually hit xmp and it has no issues with memory. Set memory manually afterwards. Played a few games on it and no issues at all
    same results here. I wish that at the moment i got my code xi, the formula was availble
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

Page 16 of 36 FirstFirst ... 6 14 15 16 17 18 26 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •