Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    Compatible Ram for Z390 mobo's?

    Hello all,
    The time has finally come for me to build a new PC! Im thinking about getting one of the Hero XI variants. I've been shopping around and trying to find the best compatible ram for these new z390 mobos and having a hard time tracking down the information.
    I'm a big fan of the Trident Z's. I'd consider trying another brand, possibly Corsair, but i think I'd like to stick with G. Skill if i can. There's soooo many G. Skill kits out there now, its gotten a bit confusing haha��. I've seen ones that that say they're compatible with Z170, 270, 370, but none that specifically say compatible with 390 yet. Although im sure some of them must be.
    Im not looking for anything too crazy. Possibly a 2 stick 32gb kit, somewhere around 3000-3600mhz, depending on price. I have started an RGB build, so i am considering RGB ram. Can anyone make some recommendations based on personal testing , or point me to a list of compatible ram for the Hero xi?

    I found this kit on a great sale on Newegg right now https://m.newegg.com/products/N82E16820232748 and if i purchase it before the weekend is over, i get another 15% off.. Its a CL16 kit. I found a similar 32gb CL14 kit on Amazon but its over $450! What a price hike for those tighter timings! That's outta my budget for ram... I need something around or preferably under $300.
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I was looking at that same kit today. The 15% off thing is maxed at £35 and they send you a eVoucher by the way. Not sure there is a QVL list for all the 390 chipsets yet.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    Yeah, right now with the sale and the promo code, it would knock another $37 off the total. Bringing it down to about $225 for the kit. I did just find the same kit on PCpartpicker and it's listed as compatible with the Hero XI.

    Im torn on what to do. Im not even sure if I need a 32gb kit for future-proofing. I've got 16gb in my Hero Viii Alpha and its been enough ram for most applications I run. I mostly do alot of gaming. Im wondering if i should go for 32 on this new build, or spend a little less and get a 16gb kit with tighter timings...
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bobbagels PC Specs
    bobbagels PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (original)
    Processor5930 K
    Memory (part number)16 G Crucial Ballistix DDR4-2400 (2x8)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro- 500 Gb- W/D Cavier Black1 TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H-240 (push pull)
    CasePhanteks Primo
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova- 1000W 80+ P
    Keyboard G19s
    Mouse G700s
    OS Windows 10
    bobbagels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    190

    Get the 32 man.
    Just close your eyes and do it !!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    I feel silly for not looking up the QVL on the Asus site.... There may not be ram specifically branded for the z390 chipset yet, but it looks like Asus tested many on the Hero XI.
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_QVL/
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    What do they say, when in doubt read the manual. In this case the QVL
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    The C14 kits from GSkill in my experience have considerably more guard-band than the C16 ones. Both 4x8GB 3200 kits (b-die) have been able to achieve CAS 16 4000. The CAS 16 3200 kits tend to fall short of this (3600).

  8. #8
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    gskill and corsair have ram calc's on their websites witch you can use.
    just put in your system (motherboard brand and type) and they will list the rams that will work.
    normal day to day gaming go for the 16gig option, rendering and cad software go for 32gig.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Pulled out some GSkill DDR4 ram that Nick reminded me about. And very pleased I did, worked dual channel out the box. The other set of memory I was using just would not boot with more than one stick fitted.

    Nothing fancy achieved with them as yet, but happy enough to actually have dual channel working ram.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    Thanks for the advice folks! I think I may end up going with a CL14 3200 kit then. There's a couple of them on sale too.
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •