Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    R5E mobo wont post no video signal

    Mobo:Rampage V extreme
    CPU: i7 5930k
    MEM: Gskill Ripjaws ddr4 2800mhz 4gb x4
    GPU 2xEVGA GTX 980 ti classy's
    ssd: 960 evo mvne m.2 512gb
    PSU: EVGA supernova 1300w

    So i had problems with my old mobo i sent in for RMA it was giving me VGA leds and no video singnal and wont post, didnt repair the Mobo just bought a new one, im still getting the same errors VGA leds and i have checked everything in a different computer it all works im at a loss here i have worked on this for 5hours today trouble shooting and still cant get a video signal and VGA led is still solid, i tried everytthing looking for some help. also updated bios via ROG connect.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    So I spent all night looking at forums troubleshooting, reseatting everything multiple times, not getting anywhere. I get one qcode after another. About to give up
    Last edited by Shine; 11-05-2018 at 01:50 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Would rolling back bios work maybe? I'd update to the latest bios before installing anything.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,601

    Hi Shine

    When you say you checked everything in another computer...does that include the CPU?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Well that's the one problem I cant test, the most I did was re-seat it a few time, have no other x99 mobo to properly test it in. I figured since asus was charging me 280$ to fix my old mobo it was the mobo for sure, I have no way of testing the cpu.
    Last edited by Shine; 11-05-2018 at 07:32 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,601

    Can you let us know a bit of background. Was this a working system that stopped working?

    Did you try a single GPU in first and third red slots?

    The best BIOS for Haswell E for me on that platform was the last of the 2xxx series bios...2101 I think? Maybe get a copy of that and flash it BIOS flashback method...after a good clear CMOS...battery out and power removed from board.

    Did you try both BIOS chips?

    What Q code displayed when the board stopped with VGA light lit

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Was a working system for 4 years never had a problem, let computer on over night and when I went to use it I had a black screen so I rebooted it, then from there it would not post, I have tried every component except cpu in another PC all working. I got multiple qcode 90, 98, d6 and a few other I cant think of at the moment , I was just going to repair the mobo but it's out of warranty so I bought a new broad and still getting the same codes, I flashed bios 1 with latest version. Bios 2 is wht the board came with so no clue what version it is.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    With that said I did the same procedure for both bios still get the same qcode, now with this new mobo I do not have a VGA light lit up. It flashes on start then goes off. Went it first stopped I got qcode 70 or 76 not sure I would have to look at my manual to remember what one first came up. And I have tried moving ram around to every slot and tried all vga slots, troubleshooter for 10 hours today made no progress.
    Last edited by Shine; 11-05-2018 at 09:24 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Any way you can borrow another CPU to test if that is where the issue may be?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Shine PC Specs
    Shine PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k 4.4ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaw IV DDR4 2800 16gbs
    Graphics Card #1Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980ti Classified 1455/4000
    MonitorAcer Predator 27" X27bhu1 165hz
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512gbs
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU 380I Water Block
    Power SupplyEvga 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    No dont know anyone with the same cpu socket, and cant really buy one to test it. Cpu is also out of warranty so cant rma it.
    Last edited by Shine; 11-05-2018 at 09:41 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •