Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Alcasczar PC Specs
    Alcasczar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus Q series 12gb ram 500gb ssd
    MotherboardMaximus X Code / Hero
    ProcessorINTEL I7 8700K (delided)
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32gb
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1080-GTX-TI
    Sound CardOn board realtek / logitech G933
    MonitorROG PG278QR
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO 960 1TB M.2 PCIEX4 (GAMING DISK)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseCoolermaster C700M
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V1200
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Pro RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset Logitech G933 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair M800 Polaris
    Network RouterAsus AC-3100

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Maximus X Code - qcodes 25-29

    So my new Maximus X code keeps going from qcode 25-29 constantly, I looked up the codes and basically all they say is

    Code:
    20 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    21 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    22 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    23 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    24 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    25 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    26 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    27 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    28 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    29 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    RAM I have is Corsair Vengeance 3000 CMK16GX4M2B3000C15W (2x 8gb) stick, they are in slots A2, B2 but I have not enabled XMP so it's running at stock speed 2133 and did verify this ram appears compatible but I assume these codes mean the board is testing the ram, or the ram or possibly faulty?

    The system boots to Windows 10 just fine and ran all updates. Motherboard is the latest bios (Version 1704 2018/10/02) I am not seeing any other issues yet. Point of my post is what does these qcodes mean actually ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Not sure what it is you are asking - Yeah I get it you want to know what the codes mean but... You say your system boots to windows no problem, and at the same time you say the system cycles through these codes constantly.


    Do try the XMP profiles and see if that brings some resolution to the cycling codes. Are these codes cycling through while you are in OS???


    And specifically no I do not know what each of those codes represent besides the generic that they are part of the memory cycle. Sorry.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Alcasczar PC Specs
    Alcasczar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus Q series 12gb ram 500gb ssd
    MotherboardMaximus X Code / Hero
    ProcessorINTEL I7 8700K (delided)
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32gb
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1080-GTX-TI
    Sound CardOn board realtek / logitech G933
    MonitorROG PG278QR
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO 960 1TB M.2 PCIEX4 (GAMING DISK)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseCoolermaster C700M
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V1200
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Pro RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset Logitech G933 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair M800 Polaris
    Network RouterAsus AC-3100

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Yes these codes are cycling while in Windows, I will try a XMP profile tonight when I get home thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    You should not have to create a XMP profile. Select one of the two that are present on the memory sticks. Access in the bios.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Forum is a bit weird at the minute. I will check back later I am sure we can work out what is going on. The big thing is that your system is working and at the end of the day that is key.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Alcasczar View Post
    So my new Maximus X code keeps going from qcode 25-29 constantly, I looked up the codes and basically all they say is

    Code:
    20 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    21 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    22 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    23 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    24 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    25 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    26 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    27 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    28 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    29 - OEM pre-memory initialization codes
    RAM I have is Corsair Vengeance 3000 CMK16GX4M2B3000C15W (2x 8gb) stick, they are in slots A2, B2 but I have not enabled XMP so it's running at stock speed 2133 and did verify this ram appears compatible but I assume these codes mean the board is testing the ram, or the ram or possibly faulty?

    The system boots to Windows 10 just fine and ran all updates. Motherboard is the latest bios (Version 1704 2018/10/02) I am not seeing any other issues yet. Point of my post is what does these qcodes mean actually ?

    When you're in the OS, it's likely displaying the CPU package temp. There is an option in the UEFI (Advanced>ROG Effects>Q-CODE LED Function).

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Alcasczar PC Specs
    Alcasczar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus Q series 12gb ram 500gb ssd
    MotherboardMaximus X Code / Hero
    ProcessorINTEL I7 8700K (delided)
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32gb
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1080-GTX-TI
    Sound CardOn board realtek / logitech G933
    MonitorROG PG278QR
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO 960 1TB M.2 PCIEX4 (GAMING DISK)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseCoolermaster C700M
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V1200
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Pro RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset Logitech G933 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair M800 Polaris
    Network RouterAsus AC-3100

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    When you're in the OS, it's likely displaying the CPU package temp. There is an option in the UEFI (Advanced>ROG Effects>Q-CODE LED Function).
    Nice, I want to say I enabled that but I am not sure. Brain is a little foggy today. Need more caffeeine :P . I do know I did disable MCE and set AVX offset to 4.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Alcasczar PC Specs
    Alcasczar PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus Q series 12gb ram 500gb ssd
    MotherboardMaximus X Code / Hero
    ProcessorINTEL I7 8700K (delided)
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32gb
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1080-GTX-TI
    Sound CardOn board realtek / logitech G933
    MonitorROG PG278QR
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 500GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG EVO 960 1TB M.2 PCIEX4 (GAMING DISK)
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseCoolermaster C700M
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V1200
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Pro RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset Logitech G933 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair M800 Polaris
    Network RouterAsus AC-3100

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Thanks @Raja, turns out that option in the bios was set to Auto, setting it to post code goes back to just reporting A0 which is what I hoping for.

    Cheers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •