Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    GTX 1080 Clock fluctuation on idle

    Hello,

    The core and memory clock on my GTX 1080 keeps fluctuating on idle. There are no processes running in the back ground. The fans on the GPU also keeps turning ON and OFF. Has any one faced this issue. I have attached a screen shot of the clock.

    Thanks for your help. If this is not the right place please let me know where to post.
    Sai.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GPU Clock 1.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	194.6 KB 
ID:	76852

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    Hi chekri.sc

    Welcome to the ROG forum !

    First, open the Nvidia Control Panel, manage 3d settings and set Power Management to optimal power, then restart your pc and check to see if your GTX 1080 is throttling down.

    If that didn't help.....

    Try uninstalling your current version of GPU Tweak II and reinstalling the Nvidia driver, run CCleaner after uninstalling GPU Tweak II to clean the registry then install GPU Tweak II version 1.8.3.5.

    Scroll down to the first .zip file in white.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...esting-Program

    Install Nvidia driver 416.81

    https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driv...x/139606/en-us

    After the license agreement, select custom/advanced install, uncheck the 3d vision driver and the HD audio drivers, then check the box that says perform a clean installation.

    How is your GTX 1080 after doing this ?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080 TI
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #24tb HDD X2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i Pro
    CaseCooler Master C700M
    Power SupplyEvga super nova 1300w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum/razer orbweaver chroma
    Mouse Logitech G903/ G502 Lightspeed/Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay/Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Win 10 pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Hi

    I have been having the exact same issue on first boot up, the gpu clocks don't idle the only cure is a restart of the system

    I have uninstalled and cleaned restarted with nvidia drivers and gpu tweak and this hasn't solved it, ive tried different versions of both software still the same issue, always on a cold first time boot, im using the new formula xi if that helps im also using gpu tweak 1.6.7.0 and latest nvidia driver.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    Hi kevin.bradford1

    Have you tried GPU Tweak version 1.8.3.5 as listed above ?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080 TI
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #24tb HDD X2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i Pro
    CaseCooler Master C700M
    Power SupplyEvga super nova 1300w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum/razer orbweaver chroma
    Mouse Logitech G903/ G502 Lightspeed/Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay/Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Win 10 pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Hi Nate

    Yes I tried that previously and still get the same issue I re installed 1.6.7.0 last night

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    All right

    If you have Geforce Experience installed, try uninstalling it and see if this brings the clock speed down at idle.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080 TI
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #24tb HDD X2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i Pro
    CaseCooler Master C700M
    Power SupplyEvga super nova 1300w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum/razer orbweaver chroma
    Mouse Logitech G903/ G502 Lightspeed/Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay/Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Win 10 pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    ok ill give this a try and get back to you,

    As several restarts done as I have switched back to 1.8.3.5 and every restart they down clock its always on that initial first time cold boot up.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080 TI
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #24tb HDD X2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i Pro
    CaseCooler Master C700M
    Power SupplyEvga super nova 1300w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum/razer orbweaver chroma
    Mouse Logitech G903/ G502 Lightspeed/Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay/Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Win 10 pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screenshot2.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	176.9 KB 
ID:	76868

    Did a restart and it happened so I have attached it so you can see what the clocks are doing
    Ill give the GeForce thing a try

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    kevin.bradford1 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900K
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080 TI
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #24tb HDD X2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i Pro
    CaseCooler Master C700M
    Power SupplyEvga super nova 1300w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum/razer orbweaver chroma
    Mouse Logitech G903/ G502 Lightspeed/Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay/Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506
    OS Win 10 pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    38

    Hi Nate

    Uninstalled GeForce experience, shutdown and rebooted clocks stay the same on startup

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,858

    Can you confirm your refresh rate, please.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •